We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view but only exceptional thing about it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hillcrest Motor Inn
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Merimbula
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great view but only exceptional thing about it”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

View from room is amazing, but I don't know if it would recommend staying here. Friendly female staff member but male seems rude after a previous comment he has sent on here - I can't see why a business owner should be able to talk to anyone like that. Barely any conditioner supplied and being a female I needed that, A light in the room did not work, A pillow in the room had a blood stain on it before it was even used and the whole place is infested with spiders which is very dangerous for young children especially but everyone, Was given 'free wifi' as advertised but didn't work.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    33
    23
    5
    13
See reviews for
23
49
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We arrived early evening after a long drive the warm welcome set the trend in support of that the cost of accommodation the views day & night cleanness of our room was great, friendly greeting, location and comfort are all the positives as for the negatives there simply ain't any so if your staying in the area consider Hillcrest Motor Inn.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The views from this place are its saving grace - great view from the balcony of room 11. 1970s style room which was to be expected, but on our arrival there was toothpaste all over the bathroom mirror (like, all over.. had to clean it ourselves), carpet not very clean and several lightbulbs missing.

Appreciated that there was cutlery, microwave and toaster provided. Negatives not enough to deter us from staying here again but would probably first explore the many other options in Merimbula.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Backwardblackbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed at Hillcrest Motor Inn over the Easter long weekend and had a wonderful stay. Our room was clean, tidy and had all the cooking facilities we required for our short stay. The views to the ocean were also fantastic. Importantly, the room was quiet and we were able to have our dog inside with us. The owner was very friendly and helpful and was keen to make our stay a comfortable one. Would highly reccomend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed here last week. The owner Brendan was extremely understanding when I had to change my stay dates due to a family illness.

Location is great - fantastic views. The rooms are comfortable and clean with a huge bathroom.

Great value and pet friendly. What more could you want?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesColeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Worst service i have ever come across, when asking about services of a dog friendly accomodation i was mid sentence i was hung up on, i call back and asked why i was hung up on, was told you should find a boarding kennel for your pet, i told the owner that i was speaking to that you cannot take a dog into a resturaunt so our well behaved animal will be left on her own only a very short time, i expressed my concern as to how i was treated rudely and was told "well you take you business somewhere else", well i fuly intend to, i work with customers myself and i would never treat anyone the way i was treated, he was also not interested when i asked about my partner who has a medical disability, so i was shocked when i not only got hung up on the first time but was hung up on again for a second time, i hope everyone out there thinks twice before going to this hotel, it may be nice and a budget hotel but the service is terrible.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan C, Owner at Hillcrest Motor Inn, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
For anyone else who reads this i would like to be clear that our motel is not a pet boarding /minding facility. We have a policy that pets are not to be left unattended in rooms to maintain a standard of comfort for all of our guests. If this does not suit your plans then please stay somewhere else. I do apologise for hanging up on you on your first call as i believed our conversation was over, however your second phone call fueled with vitriol would be dealt with the same way again by myself or any of my staff. The majority of your claims are false. I have owned my own businesses for 15 years and in most cases i agree the customer has a right of preference to quality service however in your particular case we are rather pleased to hear you are taking your business and attitude problem to another establishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Merimbula hotels

Merimbula
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Had a great stay, we enjoyed our stay immensely I would recommend the hotel , the room was clean comfortable and the view from our balcony was wonderful the owners could not have been more helpfull. To sum up great value , we intend to stay again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Rod H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merimbula hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Merimbula
Comfort Inn Merimbula
#8 of 15 in Merimbula
127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Norfolk Pine Motel
Norfolk Pine Motel
#4 of 15 in Merimbula
98 reviews
0.7 mi away
South Seas Motel
South Seas Motel
#10 of 15 in Merimbula
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ocean View Motor Inn
Ocean View Motor Inn
#9 of 15 in Merimbula
47 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sea Spray Motel Merimbula
Sea Spray Motel Merimbula
#2 of 15 in Merimbula
124 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Fairway Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest Motor Inn

Property: Hillcrest Motor Inn
Address: 95 - 97 Merimbula Dr, Merimbula, New South Wales 2548, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Merimbula
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Merimbula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillcrest Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the escarpment overlooking the township of Merimbula the Hillcrest consists of 30 rooms in a double brick contemporary 1970's style building. Surrounded by 1.6 Acres of garden, the motel offers quiet & tranquil enjoyment of this beautiful part of the world. Our rooms range from private balcony 3-3.5 Star motel suites through to large family style - depending on your budget and size of group we can accommodate your needs. We offer discounts for long term stays, loyalty customers, seniors and also rep rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hillcrest Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing