We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Close To The Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beach Cabins Merimbula
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Very Close To The Beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

The cabins are situated on quiet, well kept grounds, at the end of the road just before Short Point Beach - a beautiful beach, suitable for surfing yet next to a peaceful lake, which makes it a perfect setting for a group who would like to surf, yet have calm waters to swim in. The cabins are uniquely shaped and spacious enough for a couple. However, due to its shape the ceiling is quite low at some points and there is a beam stretching across the area for walking, which makes it quite dangerous for tall people. You constantly have to be aware of this beam, which is painted the same colour as the rest of the ceiling, or keep whacking your head against it – we solved this problem by sticking a bright coloured plastic bag to the beam to make us more aware of it. The bathroom is not very well ventilated and due to the set up (the shower area is only protected by a shower curtain and nothing else) the entire bathroom floor tends to gets splashed with water when showering. They provide soap for washing your hands but do not provide any shampoo or showergel so bring your own. If you intend to relax on the bed to watch TV, you might have to move the TV higher as it is located on a platform that is below feet level when lying down, which makes it a bit hard to watch. They provide a portable heater but no airconditioning or even a basic fan so it got pretty unpleasant & stuffy with the doors shut. We decided to leave the front door open – unfortunately, there were smokers sitting outside next door and on a number of occasions, their cigarette smoke filtered into our room, due to the layout of the cabins. We did not use the crockery/cutlery provided as the cupboards needed a good clean. The cabins are provided with a table and 2 chairs outside for guests to relax on. However, there is absolutely no shade outside the cabins, which means you sit there at the mercy of the elements. We tried out this accommodation on an internet deal which promised :-

- a free scrumptious lunch at our choice of restaurant (we were not given a choice at all. Instead, we were given a coupon to the cheaper restaurant, told that was all they had and then given another coupon for 10% off a paid meal at the more expensive restaurant). The “free scrumptious lunch” wasn’t that free after all – when we got to the restaurant, we were told the coupon was only valid for $10 off each of our main courses and we had to pay the difference for the rest of the meal
- 2 for 1 coffee at a particular café (we were given a deal at another café instead)
- late 11am checkout for a lazy morning (we were told that we could not have the late checkout because it was “subject to availability”, even though it was not stated in the deal conditions that late checkout was “subject to availability”)
- free wi-fi (the lady at reception informed us we had to pay for internet use)
- a bottle of wine on arrival (we had to ask for this, before it was reluctantly given to us)

As soon as we checked in at reception, the above mentioned lady immediately started complaining about the deal and how everyone was coming at the last minute to redeem it and how everyone wanted weekends. She then continued to whine about how she would never do this deal again as she wasn’t making much money on it. We were made to feel as uncomfortable as possible for staying there on a discounted deal and she mentioned at least 3 times during our check in that we had to come back again to stay, i.e. on full price. If we ever decide to holiday in beautiful Merimbula again, we would rather stay at the caravan park across the road!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank strawberrychocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaygee1, Owner at Beach Cabins Merimbula, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Hi Strawberrychocs, Sorry that the Cabins were not what you envisaged. Your stay was on a voucher that included 3 nights accommodation, lunch, plus a number of discount vouchers to cafes, restaurant, and attractions for $268 .At the time you purchased the voucher for an extra $50 a Beachfront Studio (fully renovated) was also offered but you chose the cheaper option. We are 3 1/2 star self catering cabins of unique design and we do not appeal to everyone. As you stated we do not supply shampoo but we do provide a soap dispenser. The cabins are not air conditioned but all cabins have a fan. The kitchen cupboards are old but i would argue that they are not clean (see most of the reviews). New kitchens will be installed over the next 2 months in these last few remaining cabins to bring them in line with the rest of the park as we continue to renovate the cabins. As stated to you at reception we will not be doing another voucher offer with Living Social as they obviously "over sell" what we have to offer and what is provided in the voucher. We are having difficulty accommodating people as the vouchers expire in a few weeks and we are not provided with any contact details of voucher holders and many have left it till the last minute and are upset when we cannot accommodate them. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations and that you didnt enjoy the meals you sampled. We hope you enjoyed the bottle of wine you claim was 'reluctantly' provided and otherwise enjoyed the beauty Merimbula has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    20
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
32
42
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

We have just spent 4 days here. The beach is fabulous as a surfing beach definitely not for swimming get cabin 1 or 3b for best view. Nice people but have a few small gripes - there is no soap or shampoo. Not what you want to be running around looking for after you've travelled and want a shower. Also we ran out of toilet paper at 2am and no spares also the beds are not comfortable. I have slept on a lot of awful beds but these really were up with the pretty bad. Hard as rock saggy springs don't make for a good nights sleep. Could do with shade over the pool too. I didn't see air con - lucky we didn't need it. Besides that it was quite pleasant. The TV signal constantly drops out too could be frustrating with little kids. It is probably a ten min drive into the main street.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaygee1, Owner at Beach Cabins Merimbula, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Thanks for your review. Just to clarify a few things, we offer Self Catering Cabin accommodation.We do not supply shampoo however a soap dispenser is provided in all bathrooms as is a spare toilet roll. The cabins are not serviced on a daily basis but extras are available free from reception during opening hours. The beds are Commercial grade and are replaced on a regular basis. Some like soft mattresses some hard, so it is difficult to please all. If you could contact us and advise us which Cabin you stayed in we will certainly follow up and inspect the bed and replace if necessary. The pool area is equipped with a 5m radius adjustable umbrella offering shade to those want it and the property is located 2.2klms from the Post Office - this can be verified on Google. We have had no complaints regarding TV and all cabins have a Digital Flat-screen TV. If you had advised us when you first had an issue we could have addressed it immediately - it could have been something as simple as a loose antenna cable. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you enjoyed your time in Merimbula .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Vic
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013 via mobile

Thanks for such a warm welcome and relaxing stay. Cabins are well equipt so makes it easy for packing! Facilities are clean and well maintained with good play area for the kids.
Great location for surf beach access. Thank you.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LKSN2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Coast, NSW
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

The Ocean View Cabins were good for our family of 4, although the bathroom needs an upgrade (very musty smell & no external ventilation). There isnt an oven - only a microwave - so cooking was limited. It was very windy when we stayed so unfortunately we couldn't enjoy the views from outside without enduring cold blustery winds (in summer!). There wasn't an undercover area outside for us to sit or for our pooch to escape the rain at night - a definite disadvantage. Be aware that you can't leave your dog at the property - not even just to go out for dinner or a quick shopping trip - which is something we weren't told when we booked.
You can't really walk into town - it would take a good half hour or more. You can, however, walk to the beach kiosk at Bar Point - the BEST little outdoor cafe for a relaxed beach-side breakfast (& the BEST muffins and coffee ever!!).
The service at the Cabin Park is very friendly - a definite plus!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulsH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capelle aan den IJssel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

A pleasant park with a lovely cabin that was very clean and spacious. All that you need for a short or a long stay is available. The owners were very friendly and helpful. If we ever return to Australia we will certainly stay here again. We can recommend to anybody to go there.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjolein R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

Have stayed at two different types of cabins here, once the studio and once the two bedroom family cabin, both times we had a beach front cabin. Even though when in a studio room you share a wall with other guests, it still felt very private even when the cabins were at full occupancy for the school holidays. The cabins were fully self contained, which made our trip much cheaper, as we could cook rather than constantly eating out and they are great value, especially in low peak season! I bumped my head once or twice due to the structure of the cabins, but you get used to ducking and I would have preferred a queen bed.

Room Tip: Would recommend paying the extra for beach front accommodation, the studio apartments are more than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

We have been going to the beach cabins for the last 4 years during christmas and new year, and we love it. The beach cabins are in a fantastic location, overlooking the short point beach and are equipped with everything you need for a relaxing stay. I love being able to have a glass of wine overlooking the crashing waves of the ocean, whilst waiting for the BBQ to cook. The owners are friendly and always make you feel welcome. This is a great place to stay if you want some rest & relaxation.

Room Tip: if possible choose one that overlooks the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen3107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merimbula hotels
0.0 mi away
NRMA  Merimbula Beach Holiday Park
1.3 mi away
BIG4 Merimbula Tween Waters Resort
1.5 mi away
Sapphire Valley Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sails Luxury Apartments
Sails Luxury Apartments
#2 of 59 in Merimbula
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.2 mi away
Coast Resort Merimbula
Coast Resort Merimbula
#12 of 59 in Merimbula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
1.3 mi away
Albacore Apartments
Albacore Apartments
#3 of 59 in Merimbula
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Cabins Merimbula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Cabins Merimbula

Property: Beach Cabins Merimbula
Address: 47- 65 Short Point Rd, Merimbula, New South Wales 2548, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Merimbula
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 59 Speciality Lodging in Merimbula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach Cabins Merimbula 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Self Catering Cabins in Merimbula, 150m from Short Point Beach. Variety of cabins: - 2 Bedrooms sleep 5 persons in Queen + 3 Singles - 3 Bedrooms sleep 6 persons in Queen + Queen + 2 singles or Queen + 4 singles. - Studios for couples either Beachfront or Parksetting. Linen and towels are included and all cabins are fully self-catered. Complimentary cots & high chairs available upon request. Pets are welcome - please advise upon booking $20 per stay fee. Check In between 1.30pm & 5.30pm. Please contact the office for a late check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beach Cabins Merimbula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing