We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Accomodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albacore Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Albacore Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach NSW Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Accomodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Looking for an improvement on our previous years digs in Merimbula, we found the Albacore Apartments filled the bill perfectly. Being a close walk to town and with security undercover parking for our show car, we will not hesitate to stay there again.
Our spotless ground level room was huge, with all that we needed including a very comfortable lounge, an important item that is often missed in many hotel/motels. The hosts Josie and Clint obviously run the place with energy and passion and are an absolute delight to stay with. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ground level rooms can be subject to noise, if other guests passing by, are not considerate. We expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElectrickBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    34
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
70
113
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ellensburg, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

This is a wonderful place: great location, amazing views right out your windows. Accomodations were incredible. A two-bedroom apartment with two bathrooms! Not often you get all that. Hosts were also friendly and helpful. The only thing we found odd--and inconvenient--was that you were expected to wash your own towels (washer & dryer in one of the bathrooms) and purchase necessary toilet paper, soap, etc. We've stayed in similar places to this and never had to supply the basics. Reusing towels and making our own beds for a couple of days during a multi-day stay isn't the problem, but having no room service at all is.

Room Tip: Rooms in the middle of the floor have the best view. Example: rooms 2, 3, 4 have better views than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josie and Clint B, Manager at Albacore Apartments, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear BKJ.
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Albacore Apartments.
It is always nice to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay at Albacore in our spacious apartments. We’re very fortunate that our location enables guests to have lovely water views from all apartments.

It is disappointing to read that you found our type of accommodation (fully self contained) inconvenient. We do mention on all booking sites that we are fully self contained, which is quite different to staying in a motel or serviced apartments.

A starter pack of toiletries and toilet paper is provided in your apartment, and once that is used you then purchase your own.

All linen and towels are also provided, and as apartments are equipped with a full sized laundry our guests often comment that they find it very convenient being able to launder and dry linen in their apartment at any time. Or alternatively replacement linen is available for a fee.

We hope you had a safe journey home and hope to see you again the next time you visit Australia and the Sapphire Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melb
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

Albacore is a fantastic place to stay, close to mainstrip of Merimbula everything at walking distance. Josie and Clint are the best managers I have every come across, there should be more of them, it makes the stay so much better. I stayed on the 3rd floor at the start of March the place is massive, kitchen and bathroom very clean and used the pool with the kids which was well heated, the way it should be! I would recommend this place to anyone, actually better not or I wont get in next year, so please poeple dont book in March.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PBogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

We have been staying on the 5th floor in the same apartment for over 7 years. The apartment is well designed, clean, modern and well furnished making us feel right at home. The views are fantastic even when it rains. The location allows us easy access to all the shops, restaurants, clubs, beaches and of course the fabulous Boardwalk. The staff are friendly and very obliging to your individual needs and the two managers are always available for a friendly chat and local recommendations. We all look forward to this yearly holiday in which we see the same faces staying in the same apartments each year. No need to look anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

We stayed on the fourth floor, which overlooks the lake. Great view to wake up to.
Nice place to locate yourself for all the attractions merimbula has to offer, golf, beach shops etc
The appartments are fully furnished, clean and have everything you need to have a relaxing time.
go fishing on the lake and you can catch some tea,

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robandkaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

We had a wonderful stay here, the position is within walking distance to everything, clubs,shops and the Boardwalk is just about next door. This is a man made track around the lake which takes you to a lovely coffee shop (about 1.7kl) at the end, well worth the easy walk.
The apartments are large with fantastic views from all floors, we stayed on the first floor and then moved to the fourth floor both were great. The inclusions in the apartment are everything you would need to be comfortable.The pool was excellent and the BBQ area was a large usable space.
The managers Josie and Clint are to me what made this stay all the more enjoyable, their friendliness and attention to detail, which included local knowledge, was excellent. Would definately like to recommend these apartments and we will return.

Room Tip: Any room would be great all have the same outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mack1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

Lovely place to stay - our family had a fantastic time in beautiful Merimbula. Great views, properly clean apartments, plenty of space for the kiddies and friendly managers.

Don't think about it, just book it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merimbula hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Merimbula
Comfort Inn Merimbula
#8 of 16 in Merimbula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sails Luxury Apartments
Sails Luxury Apartments
#2 of 59 in Merimbula
5.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
1.2 mi away
NRMA  Merimbula Beach Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Coast Resort Merimbula
Coast Resort Merimbula
#13 of 59 in Merimbula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apollo Luxury Apartments
Apollo Luxury Apartments
#7 of 59 in Merimbula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pelican Motor Inn
Pelican Motor Inn
#4 of 16 in Merimbula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albacore Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albacore Apartments

Property: Albacore Apartments
Address: Market Street, Merimbula, New South Wales 2548, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Merimbula
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 59 Speciality Lodging in Merimbula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Albacore Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Merimbula at its best in our fully self-contained accommodation. Generously proportioned, well designed one and two bedroom apartments, all with magnificent panoramic water views. Large open planned living areas extending to private balconies where you can sit and watch the world go by, with sweeping views across Merimbula Lake.Albacore Apartments has a lift to all levels, and secure undercover car parking, enabling you to go straight from your car, up to your apartment. Enjoy a barbecue in the fully enclosed sun drenched courtyard, take a dip in the heated pool or relax on your private balcony. We also offer a 3.5* ground floor motel style room, suitable for overnight or shorter stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Albacore Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing