We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to visit with little ones”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Potoroo Palace

Potoroo Palace
Ranked #4 of 25 things to do in Merimbula
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect place to visit with little ones”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Potoroo Palace was a hit with my two year old.

It is a lovely place to visit, very laid back and relaxed. They obviously care deeply about animals and the environment - there are vegetarian and vegan options on their cafe menu and reusable cloth hand towels in the bathroom.

My little one especially loved patting and feeding the kangaroos and having the kookaburras brush past us flying around in their enclosure. Oh and the train ride of course.

Recommend bringing along a picnic to enjoy in the grounds.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    50
    18
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It's all about the animals here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

The title is saying it already. It's all about the animals in this sanctuary. It's not a very fancy place, but you can see the animals are taking good care off!
Definitely worth a visit!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank TimHaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Healesville, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Was very disappointed here and thought the staff and volunteers could be a bit more professional It doesn't hurt to say hello or ask how your day is going or if you need some help

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leapinker, General Manager at Potoroo Palace, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Our staff are always keen to be of assistance and to aid visitors. Sometimes however they can be very busy with the many duties caring for our wildlife inhabitants demands, and not able to be on hand to the public at every moment. We do our very best to always assist when able and are always there to answer questions at our Keeper Talks at 11am and 2pm 7 days a week. Our volunteers can sometimes be new and shy and are not always confident in answering the public's questions and happy just to keep their heads down and to get on with their work unless their specific role is actually to interact with the public. We also assist with community care programmes; aiding unemployed people to get back into the workforce and to develop confidence, experience and self esteem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
111 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“See animals up close but slightly overpriced.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

The Sanctuary is quite small but you do get to see the animals close up. A keeper came and fed the Echidna while we were there and he picked him up so my kids could have a pat. Many of the enclosures are quite small however you do get to see a few animals that you don't get to usually see close up such as bats. I thought it was slightly over-priced, and each thing costs additional (such as a 'train' ride that lasted less than 5 minutes). It cost our family of 4 almost $60 including a train ride and food for the animals. It is a not-for-profit sanctuary so at least the money goes towards the upkeep of the sanctuary.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingMummy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leapinker, General Manager at Potoroo Palace, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
We are a small and humble not-for-profit native animal education sanctuary. It is an intimate environment with devoted and committed staff. All our entrance fees and donations are ploughed back into the sanctuary and our staff are on minimal wage. We receive no government funding and without the support of the public and our local community we would not be able to continue the valuable work of educating our visitors and caring for the animals and our environment in as sustainable a way as posssible.
We survive on a shoestring and without our volunteer base we couldn't do it. We value immensely, everyone's generosity and support who are lucky enough to come and enjoy this very special place. We are forever rewarded by the joy that coming here brings to most of our visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traralgon, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Up close and personal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Well worth a visit especially if you have little ones in tow!! Better than many of the larger wildlife sanctuarys we have visited as Potoroo place provides a personal and up close experience

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank cherryred55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Potoroo Palace also viewed

Merimbula, New South Wales
Merimbula, New South Wales
 
Merimbula, New South Wales
Merimbula, New South Wales
 

Been to Potoroo Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing