We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent quiet YHA in Merimbula”
Review of Wandarrah Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wandarrah Lodge
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We stayed here 4 nights and loved it.
It is exceptionally quiet, a bit of a walk (10 mins) from the small town centre, but very very close to a beautiful beach and wonderful selection of walks. We walked along the beach on a walk recommended by the owner and saw kangaroos, and a huge sting ray.
There is a nice kitchen, a small tv lounge, and a table tennis table upstairs.
Excellent value for money (we had a double room)
There was never more than 5 or 6 people staying when we were there. I did not have a car and the walk in to town was not too far for me, though if you have very heavy bags it might be difficult. The only downside was that the hostel makes you check out and leave the building at 10 am. Other hostels either let you hang around the kitchen for free for a few hours (if you have an afternoon bus) or let you pay a certain amount to do so. This place offered neither option, which would be annoying if you have an early afternoon bus.Otherwise very nice if you are looking for a quiet relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KunmingPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2011

Stayed for 1 night on the way west towards Melbourne. The hostel is fairly big but we actually were the only guests at the hostel that night. We stayed in a 6 bed dorm but had it to ourselves. Everything was clean and ok.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidaytravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

Stop over in Merimbula at Wandarrah Lodge. We are hostel fans and stopped here few couple of nights just as a break. Location is everything here, right between river and ocean. Short walk to both. Main shopping just a walk across river. Accommodation is better than most hostels and the very friendly hosts are very obliging and helpful with any question or activity. If water, swimming or surf,sightseeing and trekking are your activities, this little piece of heaven is a must. Booked for 2 nights - stayed 5. Loved it.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cookster56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chun H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAKEJANI8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merimbula hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Merimbula
Comfort Inn Merimbula
#8 of 15 in Merimbula
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Surfside Holiday Apartments
Surfside Holiday Apartments
#9 of 59 in Merimbula
56 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Peninsular Merimbula
The Peninsular Merimbula
#25 of 59 in Merimbula
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Merimbula Gardens Motel
Merimbula Gardens Motel
#11 of 15 in Merimbula
47 reviews
1.0 mi away
Norfolk Pine Motel
Norfolk Pine Motel
#5 of 15 in Merimbula
104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nautilus Apartments
Nautilus Apartments
#7 of 59 in Merimbula
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wandarrah Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wandarrah Lodge

Address: 8 Marine Pde, Merimbula, New South Wales 2548, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Merimbula
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 59 Speciality Lodging in Merimbula
Price Range: £19 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wandarrah Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW FREE WI-FI IN ALL ROOMS Wandarrah Lodge - Merimbula is situated midway between Sydney & Melbourne and only 150 metres from the beach making us an ideal location to break your journey on the pristine Sapphire Coast. We specialize in budget accommodation for singles & couples as well as group accommodation for schools, sporting clubs, family reunions & touring motorcyclists. Please note we are NOT a motel so no TVs or spas in the rooms. Our main points of difference to a motel being the ability to cook your own meals in our large communal kitchen as well as interact with other guests in our large Dining / Common / TV room. Our budget accommodation includes single, twin , double & multishare rooms with shared bathroom facilities. Family en suite rooms including disabled access are also available. Guests do make up their own beds with our freshly laundered linen which is included in the room rate.Catering for all meals for groups of 10 or more. A self catering kitchen is available which sets us apart from a motel allowing guests to prepare a meal should they wish. Other facilities include NEW FREE WI-FI IN ALL ROOMS, free off-street parking, bbq, outdoor area, pool table, table tennis and guest laundry. If your preference is 4 or 5 star accommodation Wandarrah Lodge may not be a good fit so please research before booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wandarrah Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing