We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and excellent fish”

Captain John's Seafood Restaurant
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Very friendly and excellent fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Service excellent and meal excellent. The delicate scallops in particular were delicious - and came with the pink shell intact !

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Madeleine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We travelled from Canberra to go to this restaurant on a recommendation. Was not disappointed. The food and service was great. Would definitely go back again. Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“OK food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We ordered just before they were closing. The fish was freshly cooked but a tad dry, and the batter wasn't crispy. Chips were delicious though, and the potato cake one of the best

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank AustralianOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Good value, good quality and friendly service. Located on the main street.Will definitely return next time we are in the area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jude88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pambula, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“In a nutshell... Brilliant! :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

As a place to go for birthdays, events or just your everyday meal (lunches start at $10 and are wonderful as regulars attest to) this is a must-do restaurant in Merimbula for your seafood fix. My family went for my father's birthday and we all had simply delicious, wonderful food with excellent attentive service. The whole grilled sole was a favourite for my father and sister, and came cooked to perfection, moist and fresh. I enjoyed a fantastic pasta with scallops and prawns, cooked in an oil based sauce that I would order again in a heartbeat. My mother ordered the fish & chips and was also suitably impressed. Can't say enough good things about this place. Definitely a highlight of the restaurants in Merimbula. Don't miss out on the best seafood in this town.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Britt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captain John's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Merimbula, New South Wales
Merimbula, New South Wales
 
Merimbula, New South Wales
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing