We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel and CBD located, surrounded by restaurants”
Review of South Seas Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
South Seas Motel
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Merimbula
Reviewed 22 December 2011

South Seas motel is centrally located at Merimbula. Room is up to average standard. Reception staff is friendly. Price is very very attractive.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boblix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2011

I stayed at the South Seas Motel for 1 night while I was in Merimbula for work. It was exactly what you would expect a 3 star motel to be - no more and no less.

It was clean and right in the centre of town, with shops, a few restaurants, a movie theatre, a supermarket and a club all within a 2 minute walk. It was easy to just park the car outside my room and walk everywhere. There was a nice little Italian restaurant just across the road and down an alley way. I only interacted with staff to check in and check out, and they were both pleasant.

My only complaint was that the little shelf over the vanity in the bathroom was small and narrow and not wide enough to securely hold a toiletries bag.

This motel was clean and adequate - nothing special, but nothing wrong with it. From what I could see, Merimbula is full of little motor-inns just like this one. The one thing that sets this one apart is its location.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kd2226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

So stayed here recently in one of the apartments with my parents. The place was perfect for us especially the fact that as I was working during the day my parents were without a car. Everything was within walking distance including the shops, supermarket, movies, clubs and so on. The kitchen in the apartment had everything you needed for self catering but they are dated and I'm assuming things are not repaired such as chipped paint etc as they are due for a renovation (they need it). Also the floor was a little sticky and between the stove not very clean but considering how friendly the manager and staff are, the VERY reasonable price and its location ,location, location I can forgive these things. Oh and only other thing was the parking was a little tight but I got better at it after a few days.

Room Tip: Older rooms are down the back so maybe quieter than the renovated rooms closer to the street?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

stayed here as an overnight stop driving from Sydney to Melbourne, it was very reasonably priced, was comfortable and very clean. the location was very convenient to a supermarket including bottle shop, plenty of nice little eateries (including McDonalds) and a local pub where we had a couple of drinks and a game of keno.we would definately stay here again and would like to maybe have a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oztourist42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Spent 1 night in this lovely little hotel for a Regatta.

After a very long and stressful week, and a pretty ordinary trip down, it was lovely to head straight into my hotel room. Lyndon rang me while I was on the road to let me know my room was ready and he'd leave the light on for me.

I was able to park right out the very front of my room. This little place is very minimalist, however that suited me just fine. The room was clean and had enough creature comforts. Had the best sleep I've had in some time after a lovely shower.

Getting up in the morning was an absolute breeze and Lyndon was able to check me out early. They were extremely friendly and homely. It was an absolute pleasure to stay there and I would definintely recommend staying here for either singles or couples.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_Moose123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2011

Friendly staff, clean comfortable room,delicious breakfast,great location

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunseaWollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2010

We were very disappointed with the service and unfriendly attitude.Stay away! I can see why they need to sell cheap deals to get people to stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fish040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southseas05, Owner at South Seas Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2010

Thank-you for your feedback/review unfortunately we employed a manager that did not work. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and an deeply concerned that your comments are that we are unfriendly and unhelpful. We try to accommodate every guest in every way it is unfortunate that your stay was not an enjoyable experience. Your user name Fisho I find also very disturbing as I am a keen fisherman, vice president of the local fishing club so I would have gone all out to a fellow Fisho to ensure your stay was a successful and enjoyable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merimbula hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Merimbula
Comfort Inn Merimbula
#7 of 15 in Merimbula
131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean View Motor Inn
Ocean View Motor Inn
#8 of 15 in Merimbula
52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Summerhill Motor Inn
Summerhill Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Merimbula
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Norfolk Pine Motel
Norfolk Pine Motel
#2 of 15 in Merimbula
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Spray Motel Merimbula
Sea Spray Motel Merimbula
#10 of 15 in Merimbula
7 reviews
0.2 mi away
Merimbula Gardens Motel
Merimbula Gardens Motel
#11 of 15 in Merimbula
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Seas Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Seas Motel

Address: 12 Merimbula Dr, Merimbula, New South Wales 2548, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Merimbula
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Merimbula
Price Range: £55 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Seas Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Seas Motel, offers Deluxe, Standard & Budget Motel accommodation as well as fully self-contained 2 & 3 level apartments. Located in the CBD of Merimbula on the 'Sapphire Coast' of Southern New South Wales. We are ideally situated, halfway between Sydney and Melbourne on the Sydney Melbourne Coastal Drive Route. South Seas accommodation is undoubtedly Merimbula's best located Motel located in the CBD easy walking distance to everything from the Shopping Centre, Supermarket, Clubs & Restaurants. With the Lake located just 150 meters from the Motel and Apartments. Stay in and relax in the Garden and Spacious Lawns Area or on the Sundeck beside the large Solar Heated Salt Water Swimming Pool. Perhaps dining outside is more inviting, use the free BBQ facilities and dine in the large secluded outside dining area or use the newly renovated Function Room that seats 70+ people for your next, Wedding, Corporate Event, Convention, Group or Coach Booking. Groups are well catered for with discounted Package Deals available for Fishing, Golf, Bowls, Whale Watching, Coach Tours, Wedding, Corporate Event, Convention, Group or Coach Booking.South Seas offers 20 rooms with something to suit everyone from Travellers or Executives to short breaks, long stays or planning your next extended or family holiday. Deluxe and Executive motel units have individual cooking facilities; most Standard rooms have scenic balcony views. All rooms have Tea and Coffee, Toasters and Microwaves and direct dial Telephones. South Seas also offers a cooked al-a-cart breakfast delivered daily to your room or groups can dine together in the function room if they so desire. Wi-Fi Internet and BBQ are offered free to all guests.South Seas Motel offers clean, comfortable, quality accommodation and in a central location at a fraction of the cost.Interstate coaches stop directly opposite the Motel, while Merimbula Airport is within 2km. Why not enjoy your next visit to Merimbula by staying at the South Seas Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your South Seas Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing