We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“not again” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Seas Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
South Seas Motel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Merimbula
Certificate of Excellence
Mooroolbark, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“not again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Am sorry would not stay here again.. the Room was old the lining of the cupboard was falling off. It had no windows to open . And we had no air cond, only a fan.....
I will say the location was close to shops .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Robyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    24
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
15
29
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

The location of the motel is great. It has a central location which makes it easy to walk to nearby restaurants. However the rooms are outdated and really clean. There are holes in the wall where old devices have been placed, also the carpet and the shower wasn't clean.

The "air conditioning" is more of a fan as it produces more heat then cold air. It wasn't possible to set a temperature. Because of this the room was very warm and we ended up openingen the front door in the evening to get some cold air in.

In the room there is wifi (300 MB) available.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lavington, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed 2 nights for work. I chose for location and it was great choice.
In the heart of Merimbula.
I found it nice and quiet, and easy walk to banks, liquor stores, clubs and shopping centres. Once there you dont have to drive at all unless you want a beach.
But at night when you want to go for dinner and have a drink you dont want to drive.
Rooms were clean and good size. Bed was comfy, shower was great.
The rooms are not modern but you soon forget that.
Good value for money and also the hosts were very friendly.
so a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Whenever my husband and I can get away for a quick last minute break or spend a long Christmas holiday, SouthSeas are the first we call.
We have been coming here for years!
The managers are always extremely lovely & friendly, they go the extra mile, nothing is too much trouble.
Perfect location in the heart of Merimbula, walk to shops, restaurants, movies, supermarket etc.
Grounds are nicely maintained. Rooms are always clean with a well equipped tidy kitchen.
We have brought friends & family here to stay on some occasions aswell and they all enjoyed their rooms & service.
I'll be ringing up soon to book for our January holiday!
(oTTo pizzeria Wagga Wagga)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlyLacin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

Poor excuse for a hotel. Clean rooms very dated. Continental breakfast was supplied in a plastic bag. First impression on the web are not what you get when you are there. Would only recommend if you were batching for one night.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scubasteve25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently situated on the main street of the town from where one can easily walk around and explore the beautiful town of Merinbula. There are close by restaurants and eating places and ample space just to relax and chill out.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

Stayed one night at this hotel, on our way to Melbourne. When we checked in we asked if there was wifi. The answer was yes. We payed 80 AUS for the night, went to our room and turned on our Ipad, because we had to find a hotel in Melbourne for the following day. There was no wifi in the room, so we went to the reception and there we could get online. When we wanted to talk with the owner about this he turned from nice to going crazy out of nothing. He started to slam his hand in the desk and yelled at us. He said he wanted to throw our Ipad out the window. When I asked him and his wife if he was serious he picked up the phone and threatend to call the police. His wife told us it was better if we left the reception. I asked to talk to the owner because I wanted to complain about his behaviour. He told me he was only the manager and not the owner. He almost slammed the sliding door in my head and lucked the door. We went back to our room, totally choked about their behaviour.
The day after we went to talk with then again about this, hoping he had calmed down and properly appologize for his temper. He wasn't there his wife informed us. We asked for her to call the owner. She wouldn't and after some talking she gave us her card and took my mailadress, and inform that she would have the owner writting us. I have been writting the last 10 days to her, but get no replies.
We found out afterworth, that they are the owners themself. They had only had the hotel for one week. Crazy owners who scream at their guests and lie.
There is nothing wrong with the hotel it self (except the wifi doesn't work in the rooms :o] ), but I would recommend to take one of the other hotels in town. There are quite a few hotels at the same rate just before you get into town. We had seen rooms at some of the other hotels and only picked South Seas Motel, because they had wifi and was in the center of town.
I work as a travelagent an have been at hundreds of hotels but have never been to a hotel where the owner threatens his guests. Pick another hotel!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stockmarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southseas05, Owner at South Seas Motel, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Dear Mr Stockmarr..We regret that your stay was not satisfactory but we did our best to help you and let you stay in the reception to use our internet for free for a length of time as it was raining and the wifi did not have a signal in the room and when we asked you to leave as we were closing the reception you did not want to leave. The wifi is now fixed and we always assure our guests the best of our attention and comfort at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merimbula hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Merimbula
Comfort Inn Merimbula
#8 of 16 in Merimbula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pelican Motor Inn
Pelican Motor Inn
#2 of 16 in Merimbula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sea Spray Motel Merimbula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Summerhill Motor Inn
Summerhill Motor Inn
#1 of 16 in Merimbula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hillcrest Motor Inn
Hillcrest Motor Inn
#12 of 16 in Merimbula
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean View Motor Inn
Ocean View Motor Inn
#10 of 16 in Merimbula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Seas Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Seas Motel

Property: South Seas Motel
Address: 12 Merimbula Dr, Merimbula, New South Wales 2548, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Merimbula
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Merimbula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Seas Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Seas Motel, offers Deluxe, Standard & Budget Motel accommodation as well as fully self-contained 2 & 3 level apartments. Located in the CBD of Merimbula on the 'Sapphire Coast' of Southern New South Wales. We are ideally situated, halfway between Sydney and Melbourne on the Sydney Melbourne Coastal Drive Route. South Seas accommodation is undoubtedly Merimbula's best located Motel located in the CBD easy walking distance to everything from the Shopping Centre, Supermarket, Clubs & Restaurants. With the Lake located just 150 meters from the Motel and Apartments. Stay in and relax in the Garden and Spacious Lawns Area or on the Sundeck beside the large Solar Heated Salt Water Swimming Pool. Perhaps dining outside is more inviting, use the free BBQ facilities and dine in the large secluded outside dining area or use the newly renovated Function Room that seats 70+ people for your next, Wedding, Corporate Event, Convention, Group or Coach Booking. Groups are well catered for with discounted Package Deals available for Fishing, Golf, Bowls, Whale Watching, Coach Tours, Wedding, Corporate Event, Convention, Group or Coach Booking.South Seas offers 20 rooms with something to suit everyone from Travellers or Executives to short breaks, long stays or planning your next extended or family holiday. Deluxe and Executive motel units have individual cooking facilities; most Standard rooms have scenic balcony views. All rooms have Tea and Coffee, Toasters and Microwaves and direct dial Telephones. South Seas also offers a cooked al-a-cart breakfast delivered daily to your room or groups can dine together in the function room if they so desire. Wi-Fi Internet and BBQ are offered free to all guests.South Seas Motel offers clean, comfortable, quality accommodation and in a central location at a fraction of the cost.Interstate coaches stop directly opposite the Motel, while Merimbula Airport is within 2km. Why not enjoy your next visit to Merimbula by staying at the South Seas Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your South Seas Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing