We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great simple motor inn” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Dolphin Resort Motel

Black Dolphin Resort Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Black Dolphin Resort Motel
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Merimbula
1 review
“Great simple motor inn”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Was here during our roadtrip from Sydney to Melbourne. Convenient enough for overnight stay. Room was slightly damp, but clean and has beautiful window view. Great open layout, meaning no fences around the premises.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Farry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    18
    16
    10
    11
See reviews for
10
35
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moss Vale, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Clean tidy rooms - can't fault them. We stayed in a deluxe. Serviced daily. Staff were always friendly and ready to help. Yes the property's on the main road but traffic wasn't a bother - we were in one of the closest rooms. Planes weren't that much of a hindrance. Good deal for 2 nights, breakfast included daily. The full cooked breakfast was fine, good choices but the hot food could have been slightly better. Still ok. Would certainly come back, enjoyable stay on a great town.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scoobydoo87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

I would not stay here again unless I had to.

Room wasn't serviced, no a/c, dark inside, expensive for what you get.

Good location, poor service could have been a lot friendlier and personable, felt like it was a get in get out affair.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank qsilverza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Merimbula hotels

Canberra
Level Contributor
134 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We had a "deluxe suite" - first class - spotlessly clean unit with comfortable bed, quality TV and a well lit kitchenette with all basic crockery & cutlery. Excellent (stand-alone) shower - with instant hot water! The floors are an attractive mix of carpet & tiles. Lovely private courtyard outside unit overlooking the gardens and across to the lake. Quiet, out of the busy centre but just a short walk across the bridge to "town". Only fault was the antiquated locks on the doors (a little insecure?). A touch of (older-style) class - thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Aim for a room at the front looking across at the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KandTCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shellha
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Booked weeks in advance ,explained to woman on phone that we were travelling by motorcycle to which she said no problem you'll be able to park virtually outside your door , upon arrival was given room No: and told parking was at other end of resort , now us motorcyclist are a funny bunch we do like to be able to see our bikes for security reasons , where we had to park ours you could not see it due to a caravan being parked nearby . During night strong winds passed through Merimbula and in morning I went to check on bike only to find sheets of roofing metal laid on ground next to bike , now these same sheets could quite as easily have struck some ones car or person . The trailer surely should not be stored on the grounds of the resort particularly full of rubbish , and the caravan should also be removed . The management have a this is our resort and you'll do as your told attitude which can be read about in other reviews , could be a terrific place to stay if only the management did as they say they will do and secondly show that they appreciate you being there , sad really it could be a nice place .

Room Tip: ask if theres A/C and ask how often the planes fly over
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lawrence E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

Just dropped in for the night en route to Sydney,a convenient motel ,reasonably priced and the room allocated excellent!
All very comfortable,no complaints!Away from the noisy centre of Merimbula but still close by though.
Staff very helpful,recommend this motel anytime as a convenient 'hop in ' en route.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
166 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

Stayed only one night in a supposed luxury unit.Clean, comfortable,Could do with a make over.
Comfy bed,resonable size TV.But why do hotel keepers insist when its quiet they put all their guests next door to each other??? Noisy types next door spoilt a good sleep.Breakfast by myself in the resturant next morning,Fresh eggs and bacongreat,.Located on main highway but no noise.airport close by no noise after 9.pm ish.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gazzz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merimbula hotels
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Merimbula
Comfort Inn Merimbula
#8 of 16 in Merimbula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
1.5 mi away
Summerhill Motor Inn
Summerhill Motor Inn
#1 of 16 in Merimbula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
1.6 mi away
South Seas Motel
South Seas Motel
#9 of 16 in Merimbula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Norfolk Pine Motel
Norfolk Pine Motel
#4 of 16 in Merimbula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pelican Motor Inn
Pelican Motor Inn
#3 of 16 in Merimbula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ocean View Motor Inn
Ocean View Motor Inn
#11 of 16 in Merimbula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Dolphin Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Dolphin Resort Motel

Property: Black Dolphin Resort Motel
Address: Arthur Kaine Road, Merimbula, New South Wales 2548, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Merimbula
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Merimbula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Dolphin Resort Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Black Dolphin Resort Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing