We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not at all like the website describes”

Black Dolphin Resort Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Black Dolphin Resort Motel
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Merimbula
Reviewed 16 January 2010

My husband and I were on ou babymoon. The location is fine, only a short walk to the main centre but we were "upgraded" to a deluxe suite. I would hate to have seen the standard rroms. Very basic faclities, little air conditioning, which was incrediably noisy so we couldn't have it on while sleeping. Parking was poor and our4WD had to be squeezed into a small car space with no other option but to leave it on the street otherwise. Only good thing - great shower.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loveTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 74 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2010

I had never been to Merimbula before and booking in the peak Christmas period, I knew we were going to be up for a bit of cash! AS someone who prefers 4 star comfort, we went for the 3 and a half star Black Dolphin Hotel as we could get it at a reasonable price and really all we needed was a bed to sleep in!

It wasn't fancy or posh but it had everything we needed. We booked just a hotel room and it was fine. It was clean, tidy, roomy, a bit dated, but perfect for what we were after. The room had aircon and heating, there was a small but really nice pool on the property, parking outside your room, it was a 2 minute walk to a beautiful beach and a 10 minute walk into the heart of Merimbula. It was quiet, the staff were lovely and I really loved the whole stay at Merimbula.
We went on the dolphin cruise that was really great, except we didn't actually see any dolphins which was a real shame. You did get to see the lovely beaches and views of Merimbula though, just no dolphins!
It was the busiest time of year for the town and we didn't feel too crowded at all. You do have to book in advance if you want to go out for dinner.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cazza1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2009

We stayed for 10 days just after Christmas and will book again if possible for Christmas holidays 2010. My husband and l stayed in the suite not the motel and could not fault the room at all. You can only stay in the suites for a one week period at a time so agreed that we would transfer to the motel for the last three days, however the reception rang us on the last day of our stay to advise that we could have the room for the rest of our stay as the guests that had reserved the room were not arriving til later, which we were very happy about. The room is self contained so you have to make your own bed and keep the room clean which was not a problem. The breakfast in the dining room was excellent and good menu choices.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bevf21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2009

The location of this hotel is perfect with access to Merimbula's main beach only a 5 minute walk.
The room was of a very poor standard with the shower screen broken and unable to close correctly and the carpet was so old that the smell was like old footy socks due to the dankness of it's condition. This was most unpleasant and we did manage to put up with it for 2 nights. We spent most of the day away from the room at the beach or lake with a 14 month old baby. The reception on the television was poor however this gave us more encouragement to get out of the room.
Considering we spent the same amount of money at another motor lodge in Merimbula only one week before, we were very disappointed and we do not recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to spend time in Merimbula as there are a number of alternatives available at a higher standard.
On a positive note we can recommend the local RSL club for dinner. The menu is extensive and cater for all needs including gluten free. A child minding facility is available however the restaurant most competently accommodates children of all ages.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shudjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2008

This place was a dispointment. I saw photos from the site and it looked quite nice. However it was a different story. The room looked like it has never been refurbished. The bathroom was horrible with mould and I was put off having a shower. We paid $130 and i expect more for money.
The only couple good things as there was a tv in the room, the pool was pretty good and the motel is about 250 metre walk to the beach, but so are many other motels. Please checkout these first.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank charlie&rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merimbula hotels
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Merimbula
Comfort Inn Merimbula
#6 of 15 in Merimbula
133 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Merimbula Lakeview Hotel
The Merimbula Lakeview Hotel
#12 of 15 in Merimbula
31 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ocean View Motor Inn
Ocean View Motor Inn
#7 of 15 in Merimbula
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Summerhill Motor Inn
Summerhill Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Merimbula
147 reviews
1.7 mi away
South Seas Motel
South Seas Motel
#10 of 15 in Merimbula
81 reviews
1 mi away
Best Western Fairway Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Dolphin Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Dolphin Resort Motel

Address: Arthur Kaine Road, Merimbula, New South Wales 2548, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Merimbula
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Merimbula
Price Range: £49 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Dolphin Resort Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Black Dolphin Resort Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing