We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still booked”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Poplars Inn Mittagong
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Mittagong
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Still booked”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Although we visioned negative reviews of this Hotel, we still booked and were welcomed very friendly. The room was great as well as the location. Too bad is was raining but inspite of that, it was great. Free internet on the spot and they guided us to a good restaurant in town.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    30
    27
    17
    15
See reviews for
32
41
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Stayed here for one night only over a weekend. I usually stay at the Best Western Country Lodge, but have come to the conclusion that it's too expensive for what you get. I was able to negotiate a discounted price over the phone which saved about $30 by comparison to other motels in the area.

Poplars has been around for years and is next door to the former restaurant of the same name, although it is now a B&B.

The rooms are very clean with everything you could need. A comfortable queen size bed, flst screen TV, microwave and ample cutlery., etc if you need it. A nice size bathroom with good shower and complimentary extras.

Although the motel is on the main road, it is set back off the road - which menas that any passing traffic noise is muted and you can get a decent night's sleep.

The husband and wife owners are exceptionally friendly and make you feel at home from the start.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HS300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stayed for two nights in room 1 and it was cleaned and organized layout. It looked like it has recently remodeled with modern kitchenette. Will stay again for valued price. Noise from the highway was not a big concern.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wedgiesone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
818 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 850 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

There are several problems at this place - firstly the rooms need an overhaul. The bathrooms are way back in the 70's and I doubt it would make a two star rating. The male manager needs a lesson in customer service and the location by the highway is very noisy.

When I looked out the front window I saw a plant pot full to the brim of cigarette butts - a most off putting sight.

A disappointing property - give it a miss.

Room Tip: They're all noisy from the passing traffic - take ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canberra_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mittagong hotels

Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2011

I stayed at the Poplars recently with guests from Queensland and Ireland for a special evening. We were rudely greeted by the receptionist who told us to wait whilst she sorted paperwork and then told us that one of our rooms had been given to another guest. She continued to tell us that she had another room with a "pull out" available! After our complaints we were given two rooms that had enough beds. The rooms were clean and well equipped except for the broken glass on a high shelf, no ice in the fridge which needed defrosting, and the shower head that fell off with first use. 8am the proprietor pounded on the door waking us all with a start, demanding to know why we hadn't put the 'do not disturb' sign on the outside of the door and would we be checking out soon. He also wanted to know why the car was not parked outside the room (we had one car and two rooms). He became obnoxious when told to leave the room. This fellow was another Basil Fawlty! Whilst we had a laugh at his antics it wasn't really funny and we would not recommend this motel to anyone wanting to stay in the southern highlands. It made it even more disappointing given that it was my mother's 70th birthday and I had sisters come to Sydney from Ireland and Queensland to celebrate the occasion. Having said all this the Prince Albert B&B next door was wonderful. The staff were lovely and very obliging, the food was awesome and plenty of it and the prices were quiet reasonable. Had we known that they had rooms available to sleep we would have stayed there instead of the Poplars.

Room Tip: Go next door to the Prince Albert
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy2567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown Vic Australia
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed on Saturday and Sunday nights. In the early hours of Monday morning we had a lot of noise from traffic on the highway that we didn't hear the previous evening. Lots of trucks in particular and this was a shame because it's a pleasant please to stay. The rooms are starting to look a little old however they are kept spotlessly and the bed was very comfortable. Good TV, kitchenette and ironing facilities are all there and great parking at the door. Despite the noise we would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lionel41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We have just returned from a quick overnight stay at Poplars and were impressed with the service of Ken and Nola and the comfort of the room, complete with fridge and microwave.
We highly recommend for a quick overnight stay or relaxing escape and would definately stay again

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussiefamilySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mittagong
0.4 mi away
Best Western Grand Country Lodge
3.5 mi away
Peppers Craigieburn
6.6 mi away
Briars Country Lodge & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral
4.0 mi away
Links House
Links House
#1 of 9 in Bowral
377 reviews
10.7 mi away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poplars Inn Mittagong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poplars Inn Mittagong

Property: Poplars Inn Mittagong
Address: 97-99 Old Hume Highway, Mittagong, New South Wales NSW 2575, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Mittagong
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Mittagong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Poplars Inn Mittagong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poplars Inn, the gateway to the picturesque and historic Southern Highlands, is only an hour south-west of Sydney. Enjoy your stay with our friendly service and well presented rooms, open spaces with wide and high ranges, beautifully landscaped gardens with a range of room types suitable for couples and families. During your stay, visit the Iconic destinations of villages such as Mittagong, Bowral, Berrima, Robertson, Kangaroo Valley, Bundanoon, Moss Vale and Sutton Forest. Enjoy the Fitzroy Falls, Southern Highland wineries and Wombeyan caves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Poplars Inn Mittagong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing