We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight comfort”
Review of Mittagong Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mittagong Motel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mittagong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Truly firm bed with pillows for resting one's head rather than looking at. Excellent shower, even though bathroom is small. Older style rooms, but a good location at a sensible price with light breakfast included.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Hugh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gill101010, Owner at Mittagong Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Hi Hugh
We really value your feedback, and it is especially good to get some specific feedback about the mattress and pillows. We want to keep ensuring that our beds make for a good nights sleep!!
gillian@mittagongmotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

During winter the weather gets colder, days are shorter and the leaves turn colour and fall off the trees. In some areas, snow covers the ground forcing people to keep warm by wearing heavy coats and lighting fires. Animals migrate to other warmer areas while some remain and are active throughout the season. We stayed at the Mittagong Motel following a round of golf on Saturday 31st May at the Highlands Golf Club in The Southern Highlands. The motel delivered and provided us with the comfort and value we were looking for. The hot water gauge in the shower was a little tricky to get a comfortable temperature. We made it happen eventually.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SternLecturePlumbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gill101010, Owner at Mittagong Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Nothing like being cosy and warm on a cold winter's day - or night!! Thanks for sharing your thoughts on staying with us.
gillian@mittagongmotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Comfy rooms with a free basic breakfast and wifi for under $100 plus free basic breakfast. This place was perfect for us to stay on our long trip to Melbourne. The staff were pleasant and despite being on the highway there was no traffic noise.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarzandJoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gill101010, Owner at Mittagong Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Thanks for your feedback. I am glad that you found us to be good value. We try to prioritise our upgrades so that we can maintain our affordability... its good to know what really matters to our guests.
gillian@mittagongmotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This motel is between Canberra and Sydney. Beautiful location.. Cheap stay breakfast included. Lovely views and close to all necessities! This motel is extremely clean with most friendly staff. It's cosy and quaint not a 5 star resort but worth the value for this beautiful area we really enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Most rooms have same view but all are very clean with basic amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelandAdventure2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gill101010, Owner at Mittagong Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

The Southern Highlands is such a lovely place to visit, and hopefully we are contributing to making it a more affordable place to stay. Thanks for such a lovely review!
gillian@mittagongmotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We recently stayed at this motel and were very happy with the experience.
The rooms were clean, quite and comfortable.
Sure it wasn't the Ritz but it had all the important requirements along with a reasonable TV properly tuned.
The breakfast was great. Cereal, toast, fruit, juice and tea/coffee.
The breakfast room was clean and well supervised with staff on hand to replace depleted stocks and rectify any problems immediately.
Parking was easily accessible, off street and not cramped.
At the price there really was nothing to complain about.
Staff were friendly and helpful without being in your face.
Even though it is not in the town centre it was within walking distance on formed pathways.
As an overnighter or extended stay you could not go past the Mittagong Motel for value.

Room Tip: All rooms are off the street and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RTVtouring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gill101010, Owner at Mittagong Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Thanks for your review of your stay at Mittagong Motel - also for taking the time to share so much detail about your experience. We are glad you had a great stay!
gillian@mittagongmotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stopped here on our way back to Victoria from northern NSW. For the price, we didn't expect much, but this hotel exceeded our expectations.

We came in late without a booking and were warmly welcomed. Our room, while basic, was warm and comfortable, and very quiet, even with a tour group staying.

The rate included a continental breakfast, which was simple but tasty, and again, we had super friendly service and were made to feel very welcome.

Not far off the Hume, it's a short drive in to town, and as well as breakfast, they have free wi-fi.

A lot of high-end hotels could learn a lesson or two from this stop-over gem!

When you're travelling interstate and need to break the drive, bypass Goulburn and get up or down the road to Mittagong Motel, you'll be glad you did!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gill101010, Owner at Mittagong Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback about your stay!! As you point out, we are a great place for a stopover on a long trip. Also delighted that you found our staff friendly and helpful.
gillian@mittagongmotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Spent 3 nights at this small Motel on the outskirts of Mittagong . The room was really clean and well equipped and the bed very comfortable .There was a wide range of food on offer at Breakfast .
But the most outstanding aspect of this motel was the friendly and very helpful staff .
So if you are looking for affordable and pleasant accommodation give the Mittagong Motel a try

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corsewall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gill101010, Owner at Mittagong Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Thank you for your comments. You have pretty much covered all our goals: - clean, comfortable, affordable, friendly... that's what we are striving to achieve, so glad that we were successful!!
gillian@mittagongmotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mittagong
0.2 mi away
Best Western Grand Country Lodge
3.3 mi away
Peppers Craigieburn
6.4 mi away
Briars Country Lodge & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Links House
Links House
#2 of 9 in Bowral
396 reviews
10.6 mi away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
997 reviews
0.2 mi away
Poplars Inn Mittagong
Poplars Inn Mittagong
#5 of 5 in Mittagong
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mittagong Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mittagong Motel

Address: 7 - 11 Old Hume Hwy, Mittagong, New South Wales 2575, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Mittagong
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mittagong
Price Range: £61 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mittagong Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mittagong Motel has 26 ground floor units, including twin rooms and family rooms. Our aim is to provide a clean and comfortable motel while maintaining the affordability, friendliness and charm of a family owned and operated business. We endeavour to do everything we can to make your stay with us really enjoyable. Whether you are looking for affordable accommodation for your family, or you are a single traveller simply seeking a cozy room with a double bed and large digital TV, Mittagong Motel has the room to suit your desires and budget. All our rooms have ensuites, air conditioning, flat screen TV's, microwaves and on-site parking as well as tea and coffee making facilities. We have 24 hour a day reception. Mittagong Motel offers a complimentary continental breakfast to all our guests. Mittagong Motel is centrally located in Mittagong, a township in the beautiful Southern Highlands of NSW. The motel is just a short stroll to the centre of Mittagong, and to golf and service clubs. Mittagong is just 10 minutes off the Hume Hwy south of Sydney and is the perfect place for an overnight stopover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Mittagong Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing