We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic accommodation”
Review of Mittagong Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mittagong Motel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mittagong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I chose to stay here based on the glowing reviews on TripAdvisor but I wonder if the quality of the rooms varies as I found my room to be basic and the bathroom to be dated in the extreme rather than 'retro'. The bed was clean and comfortable and the heater and electric blankets were welcome additions for the Southern Highlands in June.

The staff were friendly and welcoming. The free WiFi was accessible only for 10 minutes of my stay. When I asked about this, I was told that they were experiencing difficulties with connections.

At $79 a weeknight for a single, this is a bargain anywhere but particularly in the Southern Highlands. However, in my experience, it was a case of, 'You get what you pay for!"

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieM14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gill101010, Owner at Mittagong Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Hi Maggie
Thanks for taking the time to share your comments. I'm sure that your viewpoint will be helpful for people considering staying with us.
We are so sorry about your experience with the Wifi. We acknowledge how frustrating it is to be told there is free Wifi, but then find that it doesn't work. We have stopped marketing the free Wifi while we continue to try to sort out the problems we are having.
Mittagong Motel is accredited at a two and a half star rating with Star Ratings Australia, although some of our rooms now meet 3 star standard. We hope to keep improving so that the Motel will eventually be rated overall at 3 stars.
Thanks again
gillian@mittagongmotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here overnight on our recent road trip from Queensland. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Wonderfully helpful and pleasant staff. The rooms were very clean and pleasant. A little dated but it had everything we required. Brilliant price, and continental breakfast was included. We were really happy with our choice and will stay again should we find ourselves in the area. Perfect for a good nights sleep and a comfortable place to relax before hitting the road again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kurt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gill101010, Owner at Mittagong Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

I have passed your very kind feedback on to our staff! Thank you so much.

gillian@mittagongmotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My wife I recently stayed at the Mittagong Motel, we booked this motel as we had read the reviews and thought it would be ideal for our requirements.
The rooms were clean and comfortable, not huge but adequate, the bathroom is small and almost retro - but very clean and adequate, the room also has free Wi-Fi.
In the morning we enjoyed the complimentary continental breakfast which is served in the dining room that has views of the surrounding mountains.
All staff were friendly and helpful.

Kieran & Wendy

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kieran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gill101010, Owner at Mittagong Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Thanks Kieran and Wendy for taking the time to share your comments. We like the view too! The bathrooms in our cheaper rooms are quite small. We do have larger bathrooms in some of our other rooms. They are still the original bathrooms from when the motel was first built, although we are making efforts to improve them over time.
gillian@mittagongmotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Truly firm bed with pillows for resting one's head rather than looking at. Excellent shower, even though bathroom is small. Older style rooms, but a good location at a sensible price with light breakfast included.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Hugh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gill101010, Owner at Mittagong Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Hi Hugh
We really value your feedback, and it is especially good to get some specific feedback about the mattress and pillows. We want to keep ensuring that our beds make for a good nights sleep!!
gillian@mittagongmotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

During winter the weather gets colder, days are shorter and the leaves turn colour and fall off the trees. In some areas, snow covers the ground forcing people to keep warm by wearing heavy coats and lighting fires. Animals migrate to other warmer areas while some remain and are active throughout the season. We stayed at the Mittagong Motel following a round of golf on Saturday 31st May at the Highlands Golf Club in The Southern Highlands. The motel delivered and provided us with the comfort and value we were looking for. The hot water gauge in the shower was a little tricky to get a comfortable temperature. We made it happen eventually.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SternLecturePlumbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gill101010, Owner at Mittagong Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Nothing like being cosy and warm on a cold winter's day - or night!! Thanks for sharing your thoughts on staying with us.
gillian@mittagongmotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Comfy rooms with a free basic breakfast and wifi for under $100 plus free basic breakfast. This place was perfect for us to stay on our long trip to Melbourne. The staff were pleasant and despite being on the highway there was no traffic noise.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarzandJoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gill101010, Owner at Mittagong Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Thanks for your feedback. I am glad that you found us to be good value. We try to prioritise our upgrades so that we can maintain our affordability... its good to know what really matters to our guests.
gillian@mittagongmotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This motel is between Canberra and Sydney. Beautiful location.. Cheap stay breakfast included. Lovely views and close to all necessities! This motel is extremely clean with most friendly staff. It's cosy and quaint not a 5 star resort but worth the value for this beautiful area we really enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Most rooms have same view but all are very clean with basic amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelandAdventure2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gill101010, Owner at Mittagong Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

The Southern Highlands is such a lovely place to visit, and hopefully we are contributing to making it a more affordable place to stay. Thanks for such a lovely review!
gillian@mittagongmotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mittagong
0.2 mi away
Best Western Grand Country Lodge
3.3 mi away
Peppers Craigieburn
6.4 mi away
Briars Country Lodge & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Links House
Links House
#1 of 9 in Bowral
391 reviews
2.8 mi away
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral
0.2 mi away
Poplars Inn Mittagong
Poplars Inn Mittagong
#5 of 5 in Mittagong
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mittagong Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mittagong Motel

Address: 7 - 11 Old Hume Hwy, Mittagong, New South Wales 2575, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Mittagong
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mittagong
Price Range: £61 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mittagong Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mittagong Motel has 26 ground floor units, including twin rooms and family rooms. Our aim is to provide a clean and comfortable motel while maintaining the affordability, friendliness and charm of a family owned and operated business. We endeavour to do everything we can to make your stay with us really enjoyable. Whether you are looking for affordable accommodation for your family, or you are a single traveller simply seeking a cozy room with a double bed and large digital TV, Mittagong Motel has the room to suit your desires and budget. All our rooms have ensuites, air conditioning, flat screen TV's, microwaves and on-site parking as well as tea and coffee making facilities. We have 24 hour a day reception. Mittagong Motel offers a complimentary continental breakfast to all our guests. Mittagong Motel is centrally located in Mittagong, a township in the beautiful Southern Highlands of NSW. The motel is just a short stroll to the centre of Mittagong, and to golf and service clubs. Mittagong is just 10 minutes off the Hume Hwy south of Sydney and is the perfect place for an overnight stopover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Mittagong Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing