We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value Stop Over”
Review of Mittagong Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mittagong Motel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mittagong
Certificate of Excellence
Wodonga, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Value Stop Over”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

This is another good value motel we found on our trip home from Qld. The room is spotlessly clean and the (queen size) bed very comfortable. The shower is a great size - much bigger than the norm these days where you can hardly turn around to rinse off! The management were really nice and very helpful. The continental breakfast was included in the rate. We will stay here again next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaggieL55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    114
    34
    9
    3
See reviews for
76
107
18
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We found this motel, though of an older vintage, to be great value for money where the hosts were polite and went out of their way to make our stay a pleasant experience. They offer a free continental breakfast and the use of the dining room area if you purchase, 'take away' evening meals.

Room Tip: Plenty of options available and all very reasonable priced. Good hot shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laraine1442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I only stayed one night, but I found the accommodation clean and pleasant. It's a personal thing, but I found the pillows were a bit flat for my taste, and one kept slipping down between the mattress and the head-board. I'm sure the management could have done something about it, but I was too tired and too lazy to ask.

My only other nit-pick was the shape of the bathroom meant I had to open the bathroom door wide, and then walk past it before I could close it properly.

There are no evening dining facilities, but with heaps of restaurants, and the local RSL just 3 minutes up the road you have plenty of choice. Breakfast was your basic continental fare, but enough choices for everyone but the pickiest of people.

All in all, I enjoyed my brief stay, and would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkdale, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I have stayed here on several occasions, but this time I must say I was so disappointed, could only get 1 channel on the TV,but the worst of all was ...I'm stayed here in winter!..the heater did not work,it was freezing,we paid $115.00 per night..when I addressed the issue with the Managers..it was...Sorry bla bla with a smirk on their faces

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 246Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gill101010, Owner at Mittagong Motel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hi Anne
I am so terribly sorry that you didn't have a good stay. Thanks for your feedback. We have now put a new TV in the room - sorry we didn't pick up the problem with that TV earlier! Also we have cleaned the filter on the airconditioning and instituted a regular maintenance regime. Most importantly please accept my apologies that we weren't responsive when you alerted us to your concerns.
gillian@mittagongmotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014

For value for money the Mittagong Motel is a great place to stay. Staff were great rooms clean and warm as we were there in July.also pet friendly we will be back with maggie our Labrodor
Ross and Charlotte

Room Tip: Ask for a back room if you take your pooch with you You most probably will get a room by the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotte5564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gill101010, Owner at Mittagong Motel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hello Charlotte
We appreciate your feedback very much. We do have a couple of pet friendly rooms at the front of the motel, which we don't advertise widely, as people can only book a pet friendly room with us over the phone, not online. We do appreciate how difficult it can be for people travelling with their pets!
gillian@mittagongmotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mittagong, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

i have been staying in a lot of motels in my years of travelling as a entertainer..but Mittagong motel is the best by far , the owners and staff make you feel so welcome ..it really feels like home ..i had to stay here for a longer time due to having to look for a rental property ...i'm really sad to leave from here as the owners and staff became like good friends to me ..i recommend this motel to anyone ..so if you're travelling please call in to the Mittagong motel ..you wont regretted...xoxo..maria hemara

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gill101010, Owner at Mittagong Motel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thanks so much for such a lovely review. We are so glad to have you staying with us.
Gillian@mittagongmotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I chose to stay here based on the glowing reviews on TripAdvisor but I wonder if the quality of the rooms varies as I found my room to be basic and the bathroom to be dated in the extreme rather than 'retro'. The bed was clean and comfortable and the heater and electric blankets were welcome additions for the Southern Highlands in June.

The staff were friendly and welcoming. The free WiFi was accessible only for 10 minutes of my stay. When I asked about this, I was told that they were experiencing difficulties with connections.

At $79 a weeknight for a single, this is a bargain anywhere but particularly in the Southern Highlands. However, in my experience, it was a case of, 'You get what you pay for!"

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieM14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gill101010, Owner at Mittagong Motel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hi Maggie
Thanks for taking the time to share your comments. I'm sure that your viewpoint will be helpful for people considering staying with us.
We are so sorry about your experience with the Wifi. We acknowledge how frustrating it is to be told there is free Wifi, but then find that it doesn't work. We have stopped marketing the free Wifi while we continue to try to sort out the problems we are having.
Mittagong Motel is accredited at a two and a half star rating with Star Ratings Australia, although some of our rooms now meet 3 star standard. We hope to keep improving so that the Motel will eventually be rated overall at 3 stars.
Thanks again
gillian@mittagongmotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mittagong
0.2 mi away
Best Western Grand Country Lodge
3.9 mi away
Links House
Links House
#1 of 9 in Bowral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
2.8 mi away
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Peppers Craigieburn
6.4 mi away
Briars Country Lodge & Inn
10.6 mi away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mittagong Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mittagong Motel

Property: Mittagong Motel
Address: 7 - 11 Old Hume Hwy, Mittagong, New South Wales 2575, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Mittagong
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mittagong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mittagong Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mittagong Motel has 26 ground floor units, including twin rooms and family rooms. Our aim is to provide a clean and comfortable motel while maintaining the affordability, friendliness and charm of a family owned and operated business. We endeavour to do everything we can to make your stay with us really enjoyable. Whether you are looking for affordable accommodation for your family, or you are a single traveller simply seeking a cozy room with a double bed and large digital TV, Mittagong Motel has the room to suit your desires and budget. All our rooms have ensuites, air conditioning, flat screen TV's, microwaves and on-site parking as well as tea and coffee making facilities. We have 24 hour a day reception. Mittagong Motel offers a complimentary continental breakfast to all our guests. Mittagong Motel is centrally located in Mittagong, a township in the beautiful Southern Highlands of NSW. The motel is just a short stroll to the centre of Mittagong, and to golf and service clubs. Mittagong is just 10 minutes off the Hume Hwy south of Sydney and is the perfect place for an overnight stopover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Mittagong Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing