We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable with no frills”
Review of The Dormie House

The Dormie House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Dormie House
Ranked #3 of 3 Moss Vale B&B and Inns
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Comfortable with no frills”
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Step back in time and stay a night in this country hotel. There are no frills, you carry your own luggage up the stairs across the creaking floor to your designated room. Mine was large, with a huge spa bath big enough for three. Kinda strange since it's not somewhere I would consider for a romantic escape (I mean it guys). There is no internet, my request for how to access it generated a very puzzled reaction and a simple... "no, we don't have that here".

I slept very well, the bed was comfortable and everything was clean so I felt very relaxed and settled for the night.

Dinner was a combination of a buffet salad and desert bar and menu selection, eat somewhere else if you have the time to drive somewhere if not the food is ok. Other guests complained about there rooms being small but did comment that their meals had been excellent on the previous nights.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the (huge) spa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mancini_BXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    40
    20
    7
    9
See reviews for
4
46
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

The Dormie House is a beautiful hotel in the middle of Moss Vale Golf Course. Residents are allowed to play golf on the course right outside their door. Great buffet and cooked breakfasts served each day. I did not play golf but instead played bridge at nearby Peppers Manor - also an historic and relaxing hotel. Enjoy the peace and quiet of the Moss Vale countryside. Visit historic Berrima. I love the Southern Highlands.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the car park for additional privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wastenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Really enjoyed golf school Robert Kennedy gave us personal instruction on all aspects of the game, including on course practice. We dined each night and played table tennis or pool before retiring, it was full on for the three nights & two days.
In all, very comfortable and enjoyable, staff all willing and friendly.

Room Tip: Check room before unpacking, some ensuites are too small for a large person, house is old with creak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Satisfied078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Eliza
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Both the room and ensuite were small, however the place was clean. Be careful with the showerscreens as they hang free with no tracks on the bottom (Don't lean on them). We didn't try the meals as we had been put off by the surly reception we had when we originally made the booking over the phone and also when we booked in. The creaky floorboards brought back childhood memories, however they weren't a problem as they didn't disturb us during the night when people were moving around..

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MtEtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We had read the reviews and wondered what to expect particularly re: the boarding school comments. The place is great, and if that's boarding bring it on. The food was very good - I'm not sure what the person who wrote about the food being "not gourmet" was talking about either - we had an amazing array of food for the 4 course dinner. The salad bar had leg ham off the bone, fresh waldorf salad, beans, fresh steamed asparagus, and the mains had a choice of chicken, sirloin, salmon, and I had roast pork with applesauce. All was very very good and fresh.
The room had everything you could want, heater, electric blanket and clean. It did look a bit old world charm, but you're probably there for the golf and it just adds to the experience. They were happy to let my husband drink a couple of beers in the lounge to watch the grand final on the big screen, and I had a bottle of red through the game. Staff were not obtrusive but there when you needed them.
Great experience. We plan on going back regularly.

Room Tip: family room is good if you have kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

It is comfortable, clean and cosy. Next door to the Golf Course. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom , whilst dated was pretty big. The food was wholesome and adequate and is, I think, not intended to be gourmet.
If you never went to boarding school them this is quite similar , but you can get a drink and there are no dormitories so you get your own room.
Staff were inflexible being firm but friendly just like boarding school. Wine list needs to be improved.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SophieLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camden NSW
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Biult in 1934 as a guest house, it had character and charm. It was our first visit , for 1 night only, and we chose a standard room. $140. It was the smallest room we have ever stayed in, overlooked the car park and close to the railway. Plainly decorated but spotless ,as was everything we saw. There was a double bed [ we have a king size] with a rock hard mattress [AGONY] 1 chair,1 bedside table and lamp,a single robe, and small tv, plus tea making stuff. The bathroom was equally tiny, and the sliding door... very dodgy as there was no floor track for control.But BLISS!! The radiator had warmed the room on a freezing wet day and stayed on all night! Our evening meal in the classy dining room was very good, excellent service and an adequate menu. Sadly we could not stay to sample the extensive array of desserts as we an appointment to keep. Disapponting really.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a decent size room, and overlook the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moss Vale
1.8 mi away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
684 reviews
6.5 mi away
Peppers Craigieburn
6.7 mi away
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Briars Country Lodge & Inn
5.1 mi away
Links House
Links House
#1 of 9 in Bowral
369 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Robertson Hotel
The Robertson Hotel
#1 of 1 in Robertson
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dormie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dormie House

Property: The Dormie House
Address: Arthur Street | PO Box 205, Moss Vale, New South Wales 2577, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Moss Vale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Moss Vale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dormie House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Dormie House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing