We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our high expectations”
Review of The Pines Pastoral

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moss Vale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Pines Pastoral
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed in Possum Cottage for four nights during a family road trip last October. This place exceeded our high expectations with a quiet, private and attractive rural setting. The cottage was also very clean, comfortable and well appointed. We felt at home straight away. Very handy location only about 10 minutes drive to Moss Vale for shopping and eating out. We used this stay as a base for day trips to Bowral (Bradman Museum), Thirlmere (Trainworks) and Morton National Park. The cottage was reasonably priced and we enjoyed meeting Robyn the owner.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

We just finished a 4 night stay in Possum Cottage. This place met and exceeded our expectations. Private, quiet and such a beautiful setting. The cottage is beautiful, comfortable and very clean. The owner Robyn is fantastic and makes you feel very much at home. We will definitely be back to this beautiful place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WendyA69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

On short notice we spent three nights at Platypus cottage on this magnificent stud property. Staying in a converted dairy sounds risky until you enter a beautiful north-facing dining/lounge room with well appointed kitchen attached. Off the kitchen was a modern bathroom, comfortable bedroom and dry sauna. The quality of the joinery and furnishings is top-rate. This is one of four cabins in proximity, although you would not know it due to excellent layout and design (Sugar Glider and Echidna are further down the road). This property feels like a hundred miles from town, but is less than 10 minutes drive from Moss Vale for provisions. Robyn is a hard-working and very helpful host on this part of paradise.

Room Tip: Sugar Glider and Echidna if you want absolute isolation however all cabins provide great privacy and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MickQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Pines Pastoral over the June Longweekend in the Sugar Glider and it was exactly what we were after. The Sugar Glider and the Echidna are the two cottages that have privacy, are on separate hills away from the other 4 cabins ( I think with the saunas) and they did not disappoint. Most things you could need for a weekend away except for a microwave and we didn't have to leave the property once we bought our food. Went for nice walks around the farm and we were at best 10 - 15 mins away from Bowral. Beds were nice and comfy, fire was roaring and it was the perfect place to relax with some good books, good wine and what more could you ask for. If you rely on internet service you will be a bit disappointed but we went there to get away from phones, emails and tv . Perfect place for a getaway.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theluckytraveller198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

My mum and I travelled down to see my uncle and aunt who live just outside Moss Vale and we found this gorgeous cottage to stay in on line and we were not disappointed. I took the main bedroom which was cosy and warm and mum had the double sofa bed beside the fire place. The area is quiet the only thing that we heard was the bulls it is right in the country but only minutes by car to Moss Vale. The lady who owns the cottages so lovely and friendly. There is a sauna in the cottage but we didn't use it by choice. There is an oven and hot plates and full fridge. No microwave though but that was fine. Be lovely for a couple for a getaway

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlenyssAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

My family and I love staying at the Pines Pastoral. The cottages are in a picturesque and peaceful setting that's only a short drive to either Moss Vale or Bowral. The cottages are a comfortable, well equipped 'home from home' and are good value for money. There are lovely feather doonas, fluffy towels and all the mod cons. We've stayed several times but have yet to jump in the sauna. In winter we toast by the fire and in summer we open up all the doors and enjoy the fabulous views from the wrap-around verandah. We enjoy going for a walk and on our last trip, much to the kids' excitement, got up close to a wallaby and wombat. Owner Robin is fantastically welcoming and hospitable. My only grumble is that it's rather dusty under the beds, but it is a country farmhouse after all. My family and I love the Pines and would recommend it in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkshirePuddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

My partner and I recently stayed for Saturday and Sunday night at the Possums cottage.

The accommodation was excellent and a very reasonable price which included two bedrooms, a kitchen and sauna and lovely fireplace.

Possums is a great cottage being quite and secluded, surrounded by great countryside all of which contributed to a nice and relaxing time away.

Robyn was very nice and kind enough to allow us to check out late on the last day.

We will definitely be back again !

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DidierPeroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moss Vale hotels
2.3 mi away
The Dormie House
The Dormie House
#3 of 3 in Moss Vale
95 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Old Nunnery B&B Moss Vale
2.8 mi away
No photo provided
Heronswood House B & B
#2 of 3 in Moss Vale
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pines Pastoral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines Pastoral

Address: Meryla Rd, Moss Vale, New South Wales 2577, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Moss Vale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Moss Vale
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing