We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serene place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mt Warning Rainforest Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mt Warning Rainforest Park
Elanora, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Serene place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

I took the family for a camping weekend last weekend , we arrived at 5.20 pm , and the office was not attended , so we went and set up in the camping area , the peace and serenity that this place offers is fabulous , we were one of about a dozen groups , the toilets and showers we clean and the showers were hot and good ,although i am trying to wonder how they cope with the grounds full with only 2 for each sex !! the camp kitchen is pretty good for facilities , all in all the only down sides were the price $30 per night for a powered site in a place that is out of the way , i thought was a bit ripe ! , and the only real pain was other campers , kids aged 6 - 10 running around and screaming out at 6.15 am , parents need to tell the children that other people share the area too.John and Gina.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    26
    22
    13
    12
See reviews for
32
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
goldcoast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Went for a drive from the Gold Coast to have a look at the camping grounds in hope of bringing the caravan for a few days. Drove in and I've never seen anything so disgusting full of permanents in horrible vans which should be dumped and place was dirty I didn't even get out of the car (too scared). First Impressions not good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Robyne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Murwillumbah hotels

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Excellent park with very accommodating staff. Nothing was too much trouble for our large group. Gorgeous rambling stream beside the park, huge camp kitchen and very scenic with Mt Warning in the background.

Room Tip: No rooms just very clean cabins and good van sites
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tumut, Australia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed here in our caravan for 4 nights in the Wilderness section which was lovely, however there were only 2 showers & 2 toilets for around 60 camp sites. Luckily for us it was just about empty for our visit. Would absolutely hate to be here in busy season.
The amenities are clean but really in need of an update. Looks like nothing spent on them for 30 years. The showers operate on a 'push button' system to activate the hot water and you really have to be quick to get your shower in. The first shower resulted in me washing my hair and running out of water before I could rinse off. Luckily there was another lady outside to push the button again.
All the bush walks were closed for maintenance which the Park Managers never told us about we heard about it from family just before our trip.
It's a great place to use this as a 'base' and go travelling over to the Tweed etc around 40Kms away.
I wouldn't want to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a Wilderness Site for caravan
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poole
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

stayed here for a week, found the location fantastic but the serious need for a total clean in the cabin, the lack of maintanence and the poor service very disappointing.
Could do with a major overhaul of buildings and management.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmpPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
104 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

This is a magic location! Despite Mt Warning National Park being closed due to flood damage, we had no regrets about staying here and found plenty to do in the local area. The park is set in lush rainforest beside a babbling brook. Kids especially enjoyed roaming free in the outdoors and the compulsory campfire at night. We stayed in a cabin, which unfortunately was quite dated and shabby. The linen seemed old, a few light switches fell off when you touch them. Our cabin smelt of dog despite the No DOGS sign on the front door. However, we weren't there for a 5 star experience! Overall, the cabin was livable and functional. I would recommend staying here for the location and experience, just don't expect too much from the available accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydneysider70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

My partner and I booked an unpowered camp site for one night online for over the easter long weekend and drove down from Brisbane for it. When told we could choose from one of 2 sites we thought it would not be too cramped. Upon arriving at our site we found tents already in both of the sites we had to choose from, and if we had of put our tent up we would have been very close to other tents with no privacy. There were people on top of people. The place did not have a good feel to it and was certainly not the rainforest escape we thought it was going to be, and as perceived on the website. Lots of uncontrolled small children everywhere and on the park road so made it hard to get around. When complained to reception we were simply told 'it's easter.' We turned around and went home. This was clearly a case of an uncontrolled booking system and an overbooking of the campsites.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murwillumbah
6.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Murwillumbah
Econo Lodge Murwillumbah
#1 of 2 in Murwillumbah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mt Warning Bed and Breakfast Retreat
0.5 mi away
Amazing Wollumbin Palms Retreat at Mt Warning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Tweed River Motel
Tweed River Motel
#4 of 9 in Murwillumbah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
5.6 mi away
Poinciana Motel
Poinciana Motel
#3 of 9 in Murwillumbah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
6.4 mi away
Murwillumbah YHA - Riverside Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt Warning Rainforest Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Warning Rainforest Park

Property: Mt Warning Rainforest Park
Address: 153 Mount Warning Rd, Murwillumbah, New South Wales 2484, Australia (Formerly Mt Warning Caravan Park)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Murwillumbah
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Murwillumbah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mt Warning Rainforest Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mt Warning Rainforest Park is just 35 minutes drive south from the Gold Coast Airport. Whether it’s a family holiday you’re looking for a romantic couple’s getaway, group booking or your travelling solo Mt Warning Rainforest Park has a variety of accommodation choices at affordable prices to suite.Mt Warning Rainforest Park is situated at the base of the World Heritage listed Mt Warning on NWS far North Coast, set on sixteen acres and surrounded by natural waterfalls, rock formations, fresh water streams and subtropical rainforest is just minutes away from Murwillumbah city central. Accommodation includes 50 powered Caravan sites, 91 unpowered camping sites with individual campfires allocated throughout. We have a choice of standard cabins, a fully self-contained deluxe cabin and 8 fully self-contained Ensuite cabins that come with complimentary Starter Packs of tea, coffee, soap and towels two bedrooms and sleeps up to six people, and all linen provided. Cabins are also equipped with a large open plan living/kitchen area full cooking facilities, fridge, heater, fan, TV, sofa and dining settings for six people, outdoor setting and BBQ on a private the verandah. The Parks guest facilities include a general store, two shower/toilet amenities a fully equip recreation room with internet facilities and wheal chair access, swimming pool, kids playground, camp kitchen and laundry, tennis court, picnic and BBQ area. Children are welcome to explore the Park on their own scooters and bikes as well; any children under four years of age stay free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Mt Warning Rainforest Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing