We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mavis's Kitchen and Cabins
brisbane qld australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Place”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We have stayed at Mavis's kitchen 3 times now and love it. Peter Charlie and the staff are great
the food is wonderful. If you won't to get away for a weekend or a week it is a great place.
We have stayed in the old diary/ log cabin/and the secret cabin all great.

Room Tip: They are cabin with everything you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christinelarkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MavisesKitchen, Owner at Mavis's Kitchen and Cabins, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review and for choosing to stay (again) at Mavis's Cabins.

As a small business we highly value all positive feedback and the team here at Mavis's is informed of your comments.

Have a great day.

Peter & Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    11
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Snuggled perfectly in the foothills of the towering Mount Warning, Mavis’ Cabins provides a unique and tranquil opportunity of experiencing this beautiful section of the Tweed Valley region.

We stayed at the Farmhouse as part of the special midweek meal package for my 40th birthday and a well-earned brief getaway with our new 6 week old baby.

The Farmhouse is incredibly spacious, modern and very comfortable. Having both a wood fire and a gas heater, we were always kept cosy in the nice clear winter conditions. The bedroom is elegant with strong suggestions of European chic which somehow compliment the Farmhouse’s style. Consistent with the Farmhouse’s layout, the kitchen and internal dining area provide a large space to ensure that the results of your grazing of the amazing diversity of the nearby local produce is thoroughly enjoyed.

Outside, the deck seems as large as half a football field which was perfect for having the rare opportunity to experience the special mix of long sunsets over the surrounding ranges, the effect of twilight on adjacent green fields, lakes and whispering trees, icy beers that merge into crisp whites, the value of meaningful conversations with close ones and time standing still.

Downstairs, there are an additional two very comfortable bedrooms and bathroom which are separately accessed and provided a very convenient facility for overnight visiting family guests.

The Farmhouse is well located in the grounds of Mavis’ Cabins. We were sufficiently secluded to provide enough privacy but a minute’s walk from being able to dine at Mavis’ Kitchen, which is an amazing restaurant facility given its remote location and dedication towards offering a dynamic menu using the fresh ingredients located in the adjacent gardens and nearby farms.

When we were not able to dine at Mavis’ Kitchen during our stay (especially when we needed to “share” time with our newborn), our meal selections were carefully delivered.

The guys at Mavis’ Cabins offered warmth and generosity during our stay which nicely complimented the unique accommodation and dining facility they have created. We were constantly reminded during our walks around their impressive fields that, as staying overnight guests, we were welcome to pick items from the amazing variety in their gardens for using with our meals.

The only regret was not making sure that we kept a couple of extra bush limes for our return to Brisbane so that we could have a reminding taste of our enjoyable time there.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank DeepintotheBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MavisesKitchen, Owner at Mavis's Kitchen and Cabins, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thanks for your review of Mavis's Cabins.

The whole team here at Mavis's fully appreciate and value your positive feedback.

We look forward to have you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Our second Christmas in July weekend staying on site at the fabulous Secret Cabin!!!! Everything about the weekend was perfect. Peter and Charlie have the place humming and their professionalism and passion flows through everyone and everything. Roll on 2014!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WattyandWesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MavisesKitchen, Owner at Mavis's Kitchen and Cabins, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback.

We look forward to seeing you again sometime soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We had our vegan wedding here on July 13 2013 and it was absolutely amazing. Such a beautiful and natural atmosphere. We had our wedding up on the hill near the secret cabin. Peter and Charlie were so accommodating and prepared a fantastic vegan lunch menu for us. We booked out all of the accommodation and it was faultless and beautiful. Would recommend to anyone wanting a nice quiet and natural weekend away.

Room Tip: The Farm house is massive and is so beautiful. The dairy cabin has a beautiful bathroom with a glass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madisonelise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MavisesKitchen, Owner at Mavis's Kitchen and Cabins, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback.

The staff have been informed and were thrilled.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
213 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

Went for the farm house this time and couldn't fault anything. Off season mid week in winter for 3 nights & got a good deal. Farm house lovely but no internal stairs to lower bedrooms so a bit scary for little kids but lots of couches in living areas so all good. Loads of dvd's provided and all mod cons.

Had lunch in the restaurant this time and while it was pricey it was really lovely. (Just note you're supposed to order at a counter.)

Dishwasher & washing machine in farm house. Firewood also provided. Still lovely civilised 11am check out and yummy breakfast ingredients included.

Everything you could need to buy is up the road in Murwillimbah.

Hope to go again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eire-ette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MavisesKitchen, Owner at Mavis's Kitchen and Cabins, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely positive feedback.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Peter & Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We stayed at The Old Dairy Cabin loved the indoor outdoor bathroom the cabin, comforatable queensize bed & comfy lounges the cabin has everthing you need to cook a great breakfast and the produce supplied is all of good quality & fresh and for coffee lovers you even have your own Nespresso machine (Capsules supplied). Unfortunately the weather took a turn for the worst and we were not able to cross the causeway & bridge but Peter & Charlie made sure we had everything we needed. We had a lunch & dinner in the restaurant which was fantastic great choice on the menu and a great wine list.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller100Qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MavisesKitchen, Owner at Mavis's Kitchen and Cabins, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Thank you for your review about Mavis's Kitchen & Cabins @ Mt. Warning.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Your comments have passed on to all the team.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Pete & Charlie :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013 via mobile

It was truly amazing and I really recommend that everyone tries it and plus you can go climb the famous mount warning a few kilometres away. The cabins are fantastic and I must say I love playing with the chickens and collecting their eggs.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MavisesKitchen, Owner at Mavis's Kitchen and Cabins, responded to this review, 3 February 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback which we value highly at Mavis's.

I have passed on your comments to the Accommodation team and they were thrilled!

Look forward to seeing you again soon :)

Kind regards

Peter & Charlie
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murwillumbah
5.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Murwillumbah
Econo Lodge Murwillumbah
#1 of 2 in Murwillumbah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mt Warning Bed and Breakfast Retreat
0.5 mi away
Amazing Wollumbin Palms Retreat at Mt Warning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mt Warning Rainforest Park
Mt Warning Rainforest Park
#5 of 7 in Murwillumbah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hillcrest Mountain View Retreat
5.0 mi away
Poinciana Motel
Poinciana Motel
#2 of 8 in Murwillumbah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mavis's Kitchen and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mavis's Kitchen and Cabins

Property: Mavis's Kitchen and Cabins
Address: 64 Mount Warning Rd | via Murwillumbah, Murwillumbah, New South Wales 2484, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Murwillumbah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Murwillumbah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mavis's Kitchen and Cabins 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If a meal at Mavis's Kitchen is a feast for your senses then a stay in one of our cabins is a salve for your soul. Whether you're sharing with friends or taking time out for some personal pampering, each cabin has its own special character, charm and style to suit your needs. Spend a night, a weekend, or as long as you like and experience the bliss of waking up in paradise. If you have a friendly well-behaved dog, it's welcome too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mavis's Kitchen and Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing