We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hillcrest Mountain View Retreat
Ranked #1 of 8 Murwillumbah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Muswellbrook, Australia
2 reviews
“Amazing Weekend”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed at this accommodation for our first wedding anniversary. What amazing place it is.

We were great by Tracy and Clive as we drove up the driveway with a big smile on their faces. When we were taken to our room there was a small gift and card for us on our bed for our anniversary. We were shown around the accommodation and then left to enjoy the beautiful warm room and the view. The next morning we were made a beautiful three course breakfast by Clive. He then gave us so much knowledge about the area and places to visit. A boy was he right about the places to visit.

We had a beautiful candlelight dinner on a last night. It was just amazing.

We really would visit this B&B time after time after time. The area is beautiful and the hosts are amazing.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannielle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillcrestRetreat, Owner at Hillcrest Mountain View Retreat, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we helped to make your anniversary a special one :) Look forward to welcoming you back in warmer weather so you can enjoy the pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
132
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cudgen NSW
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Arriving on a wet and cold evening we found the fireplace glowing in our little cabin and just as warm was the welcome from Tracy and Clive. The fridge was stocked full of fresh farm eggs and goodies and baskets of wood would appear outside the door for our fireplace. The beauty and peace of the area is such that it finds you sitting on your little veranda enjoying your morning coffee and still there enjoying your glass of wine in the evening. We slept like logs in a super comfy bed and woke each morning to find cows casually feeding around the fence of the cabin. Our hosts ensured we wanted for nothing and we found it to be a place that was truly "food for the soul". Susan D

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillcrestRetreat, Owner at Hillcrest Mountain View Retreat, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us .. hopefully next time we'll be able to order up some sunshine for you :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We only had one night but we left feeling relaxed and happy. Dinner was delicious, port by the fireside was relaxing and having the spa bath filled and ready was awesome. Felt very pampered! The country side was lovely (though very cold!) and breakfast was very tasty and filling.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetaFig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillcrestRetreat, Owner at Hillcrest Mountain View Retreat, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Glad you enjoyed your one nighter away from the kids in our main house Spa Suite. Hope to be able to welcome you back for a longer getaway in the warmer weather so you can enjoy the pool :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Hillcrest B&B. Tracy and Clive were very welcoming and friendly. Clive cooked the most delicious 3 course breakfast every morning with waffles, poached pears, scrambled eggs with salmon, omlette...and the list goes on. He was also very helpful in helping us plan our day and told us about nice places to go and things to see. In the evening, when we returned from our daily adventures, a glass of port waited for us and Tracy had kindly turned the heating on in our room so that it would be warm and cosy. The location of the B&B is beautiful and you can't hear anything except the birds in the morning. The surrounding area is simply beautiful and we would definetly come back (and hopefully have nicer weather to be able to use the pool and actually see the mountains that were covered by clouds most of the time).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillcrestRetreat, Owner at Hillcrest Mountain View Retreat, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your stay in our Blue Room .. looking forward to welcoming you back in "pool weather" :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Tracy and Clive (the Owners of Hillcreast Retreat) went out of their way to make our weekend the best ever. They greeted us with hot bread and a fridge of goodies. Fruit trees were flowing with fruit for guest to have whenever. Our son came to visit us and was welcomed with open arms, hot bread rolls arrived for our lunch. Plenty of fire wood, clean cabin and lovely presented gardens. This is a great spot and plenty of things to see and do close bye. I recommend this retreat.

Room Tip: The cabin away from the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann-Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillcrestRetreat, Owner at Hillcrest Mountain View Retreat, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you guys . it was a pleasure to welcome to our "little piece of paradise" .. hope to see you back one day :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daylesford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Our experience at Hillcrest B+B was a wonderful experience because of the great welcome received from Clive and Tracy---The Spa Room is to die for--opulent and with all mod cons--including a huge spa for 2. The breakfasts and dinner which we greatly enjoyed were created by Clive [chef par excellence] who is also a wonderful guide to the sights and delights of the Tweed Valley area---This was a truly great stay in a top retreat--and and a great credit to the owners.

Room Tip: The Spa room has all the modcons Plus a separate huge 2 person Spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank innishfreeDaylesford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillcrestRetreat, Owner at Hillcrest Mountain View Retreat, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments .... I MAY pass them on to Clive ... wouldn't want him getting big-headed or anything LOL ... look forward to enjoying a bottle of bubbly with you in the gazebo when you finally move "up" to our beautiful valley :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Was the best getaway, its quiet, relaxing. Tracy and Clive are lovely, the way they look after you is fanastic. Being able to just sit back relax and look at the mountains was incredable. My partner and I stayed in the cottage. And we loved it, he cooked on the BBQ every night. The fresh eggs are amazing, home cooked bread. We dont have a bad word to say about Hillcrest. We will deffently be back. It is a great hideaway when your looking at getting away. Thank you Tracy and Clive.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reneemaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillcrestRetreat, Owner at Hillcrest Mountain View Retreat, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Tks guys - so glad you enjoyed your stay with us .. yes we're so lucky to be able to look at these views every single day! Hope to welcome you back to Hillcrest soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murwillumbah
10.0 mi away
ecOasis Resorts
ecOasis Resorts
#1 of 1 in Uki
85 reviews
16.6 mi away
Santai Retreat
Santai Retreat
#1 of 5 in Kingscliff
622 reviews
6.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Murwillumbah
Econo Lodge Murwillumbah
#1 of 2 in Murwillumbah
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
6.2 mi away
Amazing Wollumbin Palms Retreat at Mt Warning
6.6 mi away
Mt Warning Bed and Breakfast Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest Mountain View Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest Mountain View Retreat

Property: Hillcrest Mountain View Retreat
Address: 167 Upper Crystal Creek Rd | Upper Crystal Creek, Murwillumbah, New South Wales 2484, Australia (Formerly Hillcrest Retreat)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Murwillumbah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Murwillumbah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hillcrest Mountain View Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, refresh, rejuvenate in unique and beautiful surroundings close to a range of activities and beauty spots. Enjoy peace, privacy, spectacular views from Mount Warning to the Springbrook rainforests, salt-water swimming pool, luxury double spa baths, split system r/c air-conditioning, fireplaces, massage and gourmet food ~ including poolside candle-lit dinners and home-grown free-range eggs with your breakfast menu. Catering for a maximum of only three couples, multi Tourism Award winning Hillcrest offers a choice of one fully self-contained Honeymoon Spa Cottage in its own fenced rainforest garden or 2 B&B Suites in a private guest wing of the main house.Hillcrest is located in beautiful Crystal Creek, just outside historic Murwillumbah in the Tweed Valley, Tropical Northern NSW. Just 35 minutes drive from Gold Coast airport, 80 minutes from Brisbane, 45 mins from Byron Bay and 12 mins from Murwillumbah. Your hosts have extensive local knowledge and will gladly help you plan the best things to see and do during your stay in the beautiful Tweed Valley. PLEASE NOTE: HILLCREST DOES NOT CATER FOR CHILDREN OF ANY AGE INCLUDING BABIES. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hillcrest Mountain View Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing