We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly the most terrible accommodation I have ever experienced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surfbeach Holiday Park
Reviewed 15 April 2014

1) very hard to contact - unanswered telephones or if you actually got through to an answering machine, calls we're never returned.

2) the ''paradise" cabin - (at a rate of $145 per night) - on entering the cabin it reeked of urine mixed with mould/mildew. The carpets were literally brown and sticky with filth. The netting curtains were all torn. The wardrobe was so musty that even after leaving the doors open for a couple of hours, were unusable due to the smell.

I gave the feedback to the receptionist who commented "yeah they are really really old". I then emailed to pass on the feedback and, like the phone calls, never got a response.

The only positive thing was the views/location ... As long as you were far away from the smelly cabins.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank 356Stevensk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
There are newer reviews for Surfbeach Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

Firstly I'd like to say that the last few reviews are utter rubbish, it's crystal clear those people haven't travelled so have little caravaning experience & just like to moan & groan, they should've stayed home or go to Melbourne for their next holiday. That said... This park is in a great location, is very neat & tidy & all sites have a good view. I assume that if there are vacant sites then they're most likely booked, like the beach side sites, unfortunately "walk ins" need to be realistic about this! We only met the lady manager, who was very accommodating & friendly, it felt like we could've chatted longer. As our caravan has all facilities except laundry we only used the laundry, which was $3 a machine, this is cheap, it was clean, as so looked the amenities & camp kitchen . Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank terri t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I have been finding it very frustrating trying to get any contact from Surfbeach Holiday Park. I am now on day 3 of trying to get a response. I have spoken with two other couples who are having the same trouble. I cannot remark on anything else yet as I have not even been able to make a booking (though I have been told it is a very lovely location).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank LindaWillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

When we got here, we had to ring the bell 3 times before someone showed up to "greet" us, then when he finally noticed us standing there, we got brushed aside and put in a spot far away from the beach when there was no one occupying the beach front spots. We bought fresh meat and food assuming there was a fridge but there wasn't so we had to pretty much throw it out. Then we did the laundry and our clothes came out dirtier than when we put them in... And we paid $6 for it.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lschuijff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

stayed on a caravan site which was sloping. mens toilets were continually over flowing with excrement. camp kitchen ran out of gas at 8.30pm at night. yes views are amazing and very short walk to beach.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sprogy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My husband and I want to get away from the city and city people....but you drive within 3 hours of the city and you will find every beach crawling with city people still.... make the drive 5 hours and you get Narooma, and no one around. Am I letting the secret out by writing this review? Perhaps.

A long weekend and most venues demand that you book 3 nights. We only needed 2 nights and this place was the only venue that accepted our 2 night booking within echo. My only complaint about this faultless stay was that at night the waves crashed very loudly! The double spa bath, the king size bed, the two flat screens, the self contained apartment with it's own bbq turned this camping trip into a "glam-ping" trip!

We also took a charted snorkle with the seals and island tour with Lighthouse Charters. WORTH THE MONEY! A seal and I said hello as I was swam over and around within an arm's length. The water is turquoise, the sand is white, the air is clean and beach it is quiet. The only thing this place is crawling with, is sea birds, penguins, sting rays, fish and peace and tranquility free from city people. WORTH THE DRIVE.

Room Tip: The Honeymoon Cabin
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beagletrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

We had never visited Narooma before and were delighted by our choice of holiday destination.
We spent 5 nights at the park, which is located between the golf course and the surf beach. It is the closest accommodation to the surf beach.
Our accommodation (family cabin) overlooking the patrolled surf beach. The sea breeze was a wonderful advantage in the warm weather we encountered, so never had to turn on the air conditioner (split system in kitchen/lounge area) - only the ceiling fans on one night.
The kitchen facilities were great, with upright electric stove/oven and pots and pans provided. Luckily we took our own knives for food prep and chopping board. A kitchen table setting for 6 was ideal inside as well as a table on the outside deck overlooking the beach a favoured place for breakfast and lunch. BBQs and laundry were conveniently located just a few steps away from our cabin.
A lovely beachfront cafe, nestled next to the park, was open for breakfast and lunch, offering a great menu at reasonable prices.
We walked up to the main shopping area each morning for the newspaper and other supplies which only took 10 minutes each way.
The dining in Narooma is OK but nothing to rave about. The local RSL provides well priced fare and drinks at bar prices. We also played bar foot bowls there one afternoon which was a lot of fun. Fish and chips from the main street were good which we ate down at the inlet whilst watching a seal frolicking.
The beaches are fantastic, offering both surf and flat swimming areas which is perfect for families. The water temperature hovered around 19 to 22° and was beautiful and clear. The sand was so clean it Squeaked.
Overall a great holiday - we would definitely visit Narooma again and recommend it to others.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Anita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Narooma hotels
0.7 mi away
BIG4 Narooma Easts Holiday Park
1.8 mi away
Island View Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Amooran Oceanside Apartments and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Beachfront Apartments
Beachfront Apartments
#6 of 12 in Narooma
46 reviews
0.3 mi away
Top Of The Town Motel
Top Of The Town Motel
#2 of 8 in Narooma
105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Whale Motor Inn
Whale Motor Inn
#3 of 8 in Narooma
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfbeach Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfbeach Holiday Park

Address: 15 Ballingalla Street, Narooma, New South Wales 2546, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Eurobodalla > Narooma
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Narooma
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Surfbeach Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing