We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great brekkie”
Review of The Galley Kitchen

The Galley Kitchen
Ranked #18 of 89 Restaurants in Nelson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$40
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wyong, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great brekkie”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Loved the breakfast, so much variety and all tasted amazing. Staff are very friendly and will cook food to order.. Lovely morning sun fills the restaurant, very relaxing

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    67
    30
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oberon, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent meal in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

From the minute we were warmly welcomed to Merretts at The Anchorage, Nelson Bay, our expectations were high for a pleasant evening. We were taken to our table in the beautiful octagonal dining room with views out over the bay. Lovely linen and friendly staff helped us feel very comfortable. The menu was extensive and interesting. Some of the meal descriptions were a little "over the top" (eg wheat berries?) but it provided interest, I guess. The two courses we had were beautifully presented with an impressive range of excellent flavours. Simply put, the meal was delicious and certainly up there with the best we have experienced. We thought the prices were reasonable too!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SherwoodsCottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top Class”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Our favorite restaurant for special occasions. The food is of a very high quality as is the service. Best of all is the outlook across the marina and over the Bay. All this comes at a price which is why it will always remain our special occasion venue.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corlette, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Anniversary dinner”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

What is not to like about this restaurant? The service is excellent - as a high end restaurant should be. The staff are helpful and courteous The food is divine, a fine dining experience at its best. Love love love this restaurant and we cannot visit enough to enjoy this experience.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Icequeen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Real Good !!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

What a gem ! Great location, good ambience top food & sensible prices.

Went with 2 other mates. They had meat dishes whilst I had the veto option. Often the veto option is the "normal meal" minus the meat. Here was a lovely veto option - one of the best I have ever had at a non- veto speciality restaurant. Laura and the other wait staff were very professional & attentive without being intrusive.

Recommend it and would return on my next visit

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BtravellerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Galley Kitchen also viewed

Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 

Been to The Galley Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing