We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location, great food”

Wharf Restaurant Cocktail Lounge & Bar
Ranked #21 of 90 Restaurants in Nelson Bay
Price range: US$13 - US$126
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The freshest of seafood cooked well, spectacular views across the bay, friendly and inviting staff, the Wharf Restaurant can make your dining experience one to remember and one you will want to repeat time and time again. Located on the marina, where the fishing boats deliver their bounty, we select the best of the daily catch and prepare mouth watering seafood dishes that delight even the most discerning diner. View from The Wharf RestaurantView from The Wharf Restaurant View from The Wharf Restaurant Chill out by the bar as you take in the view. We have several beers on tap, a wide selection of drinks and cocktails and can also turn out a fine cafe latte. With a large dining room and private dining area, we can accommodate functions ranging from a small corporate get together to a spectacular wedding reception. Our experienced team will be pleased to assist with your planning. Please come and join us at the Wharf Restauatant for a memorable experience.
Lochinvar, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“perfect location, great food”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I would like to highly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting the area. It is located at the end of the pier, near the break water, well worth the walk. The view is stunning, along with the service & quality of the food. Very friendly service, my husband had the steak & I had seafood. It was really lovely & will be back for more.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    103
    42
    42
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Birthday celebrations”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We attended a Birthday function at the Wharf Restaurant on Saturday night. It was fantastic, the food was mouth watering. The staff and service was impeccable. The setting was picture perfect with views across the bay. Would recommend this to couples, family and friends perfect setting for any function.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marie735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Bay, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great restaurant! Just watch out for the "roofer"”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Had an excellent experience at the wharf restaurant, the service of the friendly staff was impeccable, from the professional greeting to the excellent bar staff and the courteous owner/chef, who checked on every dish for our complete satisfaction. The atmosphere was electric! With all walks of life enjoying the night. There is even a section near the bar called "Bull.... Corner"! With a colourful crew occupying the area. I even found my photo on the "wall of fame and shame". The only possible downside of the evening was the number of complaints from patrons regarding the behaviour of one of the "corners locals" called the "roofer".Otherwise an excellent night for my guests and I.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joedy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced & Over Waiting”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We are a family of 5 (with 3 teenagers) and went here for lunch on a cold, wet Sunday. Only 2 other tables in the restaurant and waited over 45 mins for our food. We would still be waiting only we complained about how long it was taking. When it finally came, 2 of the meals were lukewarm and some of the portions extremely small. At an average of $39 a meal, expected much better. Sides were also small portions and expensive for what you got. Would not recommend and will never go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shellban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Family visit.. Yum!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed the seafood and we were given great service. Sizzling garlic prawns were delicious! Highly recommend this restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Mich D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wharf Restaurant Cocktail Lounge & Bar also viewed

Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 

Been to Wharf Restaurant Cocktail Lounge & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing