We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection! Relaxing in a clean, friendly paradise!”
Review of Mantra Aqua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mantra Aqua
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfection! Relaxing in a clean, friendly paradise!”
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights. It was such a great break! The location is perfect we walked everywhere! The pool is amazing! Large, clean and perfect for kids with a step along the side.
The rooms are clean, open planned and spacious!
The staff are extremely friendly and are ready to help you with any need or request.
Best place to stay in that area! Highly recommend

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    238
    108
    19
    19
See reviews for
264
132
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a weekend with family at the beginning of November. The location was excellent, short walk to Main Street and marina. The apartment was spacious and well equipped. Our apartment over looked the pool. Being the weekend there was a bit of noise from people making the most of their weekend. Overall it was a nice stay and I would return.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarlaSBris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This is, without a doubt, the most overpriced, most over rated, dirtiest accommodation that I have stayed in for a long time. For a complex that is so new, I'm gobsmacked as to how poor the rooms are.
There's not too many "pros" to staying here - the proximity to the township of Nelson Bay and the ability to have undercover parking. That's it.
Now for the cons:
1. Spotted 2 cockroaches in the room in the first 15 mins upon arriving. We should have known then that it wasn't going to be good. There were 7 in total over 3 nights. All alive, all kicking! If I still had young children, I wouldn't be letting them down on the carpet.
2. If you want the windows open to let in the fresh air, be prepared to breathe in the cigarette smoke of your neighbours. It was so bad that we had to close everything up. And, no matter the time of day, expect smoke to invade your apartment. I'm happy to admit that I really detest smoking - but when it interferes with your own enjoyment of your environment, I think enough is enough!
3. No flyscreens - so even if you managed to cope with the smoke, the flys and bugs would make your life a misery. And, when we stayed, the weather was hot on a couple of evenings - but you couldn't open the blinds to let the air in otherwise you were over run with critters.
4. The mattresses are the most uncomfortable I have slept on in goodness knows how long. They are in serious need of replacement. And, when my wife complained on the last morning that something cut her when she hopped out of bed, I thought she was having a joke - until I noticed the gash in the side of the mattress, that had been duct taped over, and was exposing mattress wires. Nice one Mantra Aqua!
5. The single beds in the second bedroom are not designed for teenage boys. They were simply too narrow - and were certainly narrower than half of Mum & Dad's bed (which was two beds put together). One night, our 14 year old decided it was more comfortable sleeping on the lounge - not usually his style.
6. The carpets are not clean. Actually, no, change that. They are just dirty! When we went to pick up the first cockroach, you could see the crumbs and other stuff still on the carpet from the prior occupants - and that wasn't even under the dining table. Someone needs to steam clean the carpets not only in the apartment but also the common areas.
7. The furniture is chipped and well worn. I suppose that is what you get with putting Fantastic Furniture into an apartment. Just dont't charge Moran Furniture pricing for the accommodation if you are going to do that.
8. The blinds in the lounge room were dirty and frayed. They were supposed to be an off-white or grey. The yellow age and wear stains were a nice touch! They needed replacement a long time ago.
9. The bathrooms didn't look clean to us. My personal favourite, however, is the waste grate in the centre of the bathroom floor which doesn't sit flush with the floor - a nice tripping hazard.
10.The balcony wasn't clean - we don't smoke (could you guess by now?), but cigarette butts stuffed into the waste grate on the balcony hadn't been cleaned up from whomever the last smoker that stayed in the apartment was. And, a general mopping of the tiles wouldn't go astray either.
We paid $700 for 3 nights and the special we took up was the 4th night was free. It was that bad that we checked out a day early. The front desk staff noted that when I handed back the keys - but didn't bother to ask me why. Perhaps they are busy simply by being a Mantra, and don't have to try too hard. Or perhaps they have so much repeat business that are happy with, in my opinion, sub-standard, dirty accommodation. Or perhaps it was our bad luck that Apartment 73 was just so bad, so dirty and so poorly maintained. In any event, we won't be back here - ever. And, I'll go one better. I've just arranged some accommodation in Brisbane for a conference in February 2014. One of the options near the venue was a Mantra - I chose not to book there!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DJR68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraAqua, General Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thank you for your detailed feedback and I can completely sympathize with the frustration you must have felt when typing this out. We have left a message on your phone to be able to follow up appropriately as in doing some research I can see that none of these items seem to have been brought up to the staff during your stay with us. It is always our goal to ensure that each and every guest who chooses to stay with us has a most enjoyable experience and feels as though they want to share this by passing it on to their friends, family, acquaintances, etc. We, as a team of passionate guest service providers, take extreme pride in what we do on a daily basis and do our absolute best to ensure everyone who walks through our door can feel comfortable letting us know if there is something further we can do to ensure they DO get the experience they deserve. It is completely gut-wrenching to hear that we were unable to do this for you during your stay, as we believe could have fixed many of these issues had they been presented at the time.
It is no secret that we have regular 6-monthly pest control treatments organized for the apartments which allows us to maintain the pest control issues many businesses face. The building this apartment in particular is in had received a treatment several days beforehand. Although the apartments are non-smoking, smoking IS permitted on the balconies where ashtrays are provided. Unfortunately we can't always control this as the apartments are self-contained, we ARE still able to move around bookings if there is discomfort in any way. The apartments are also individually owned and some furnishings are slightly different from the others, so we will always do our best to accommodate specific needs and requests, and for future guests who are considering a visit and are feeling uncertain, we do encourage you to call us directly to clarify any uncertainties. Overall, this feedback is directed toward a specific apartment and we are very grateful that we have been able to take a step back and take the necessary steps to ensure we don't have the same issues in the future. Your feedback is very valuable to us and I do hope we can touch base again to discuss things in more detail as we would like the opportunity to give you the experience you should have received in the first place. I also understand the reluctance to do so, however we sincerely care about our business and continually seek opportunity for growth and development through every piece of information.
Our hope, again, is that we can provide you all with a fantastic and positively memorable experience with us - please feel free to contact us if there is anything you are unsure of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We had a 3 night stay for a mid week special which was cheap.
A early check in was requested, but didn't happen but thats ok,Special notes was 'honeymooners' but no extras given.
Staff were friendly.
The rooms were large and very clean. The lounge probably needs replacing as the padding had gone.
Decent view of the bay and pool. Lots of kids in the pool/spa at all times,playing games so didn't spend much time there.
Close to main street and short drive to Salamander Bay. Close to supermarket and restaurants.
Would recommend for short stays

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alissa g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Point Cook, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Only stayed one night in a two bedroom apartment studio.
The weather was horrible.
Located close to everything.
The apartment was excellent but not cheap.
The service was ordinary. Was late getting the room. 5 hours driving to get there and the guest bathroom was the poolside amenities that were a mess. Booked out and many noisey rude guests running around.
Was not impressed with having to take rubbish from apartment to bins outside on check out or they charge you extra. Already payed top price.
More for family's than couples looking to relax.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Great getaway place. Stayed 4 nights with our 22 month old and 4 month old. Staff were brilliant. We were kindly upgraded to a pool view room but when we got in there we realised that all our 22 month old wanted to do was swim becauae she could see it all the time. The staff kindly showed us 2 other apartments that didnt look directly over the pooland let ua choose which one we wanted. A very easy walk to the shops and the marina. breakfast at 'the nelson' was beautiful, even id the service was a little slow- didn't stop us going back! Room was clean and fresh with well appointed kitchen and laundry. Would absolutely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scullmiester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed 6 nights in 2 bedroom apartment at this lovely resort. Great location only a few minutes walk from town and harbor area. On arrival we were not happy with the room offered as we felt it was a bit grubby and not well positioned. Staff very happy to move us into a new room (44) at far side of apartment complex away from pool views but with bay views ( very happy with that). Very quiet rooms accept for road noise in the early morning. Living areas very spacious and well equipped with all modern cons. We had purchased our room with a special deal and shared with another couple, this is were the problems start. Main bedroom has tv, ceiling fan, ensuite and fly screen on window to allow fresh air of a night. 2nd room very small, no ensuite, no ceiling fan, no tv and no fly screen, so a very stuffy room. If you are going to share with another couple this set up might not suit. Pool area lovely not a lot of sunny areas and perhaps a bit of maintenance needed on sun lounges as many had broken slats. Very secure complex and staff very helpful and keen to help.

Room Tip: If you don't like the sounds of kids screaming and having lots of fun maybe suggest room 44 or t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raylene11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelson Bay
1.0 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#13 of 16 in Nelson Bay
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
315 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
502 reviews
2.2 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Aqua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Aqua

Property: Mantra Aqua
Address: 1A Tomaree St, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nelson Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Nelson Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nelson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Aqua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just two and a half hours drive North of Sydney is the relaxed seaside village of Nelson Bay and one of the finest resorts on the Central Coast, Mantra Aqua. Mantra Aqua's stylish accommodation includes a selection of spacious, open-plan designed two and three bedroom apartments and penthouses, all featuring large living areas flowing out onto large external balconies. Each apartment and penthouse features beautiful stone bench tops in the kitchen with stainless steel appliances, plasma or LCD TV, DVD player, Foxtel and sound system in the lounge area. The resort features leisure facilities including a 25 metre lagoon pool with cascading waterfall and heated spa, children's play wading area and BBQ areas. Clean, contemporary lines and an open plan layout provide the perfect balance between the surrounding natural environment and the luxuries of resort-style living. The resort is a short five minute stroll to the centre of town or the marina where you will find a vast array of shops, restaurants and cafes. The bowling club and a 27 hole championship golf course are only a few minutes walk from the main gate. Mantra Aqua is the perfect location for a weekend away or relaxing holiday escape. Upon arrival at Mantra Aqua, we will require a valid credit card to be placed on file to cover incidental items including (but not limited to) telephone calls, breakages/damages, excessive cleaning charges and theft. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mantra Aqua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Aqua Hotel Nelson Bay
Mantra Aqua Nelson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing