We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would go back for a midweek break”
Review of Mantra Aqua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mantra Aqua
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Would go back for a midweek break”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We are both in our 60's and enjoyed our three night midweek break in a clean and well maintained two bedroom apartment. The open plan kitchen was very well equipped but the only items that we used was the electric kettle, wine glasses and the small coffee mugs. I would have liked to be able to use either of the supplied carving or slicing knives but they were so blunt that they would not even cut through oranges or lemons. Fortunately I had a pen knife in the car which was parked in the reserved undercover car park. Another other complaint we had was that although the lounge suite seamed new, it was the most uncomfortable thing to sit on. Fortunately there was a second TV in the master bedroom. The only other problem with the unit was that although both of the bathrooms had air vents in a ceilings, there were no fans, that turned on with the lights, so the mirrors steamed up very quickly. The good points were the fact that the units are only a five minute walk from the shops and all eating places and the staff were very good at their job. I was very pleased that they up-sold us to a unit that overlooked the pool and Nelson Bay as some of the units have brick walls as an outlook. Make sure, if the stay at these units, that you do not stay in any of the units which are near the main gate which is closed between 7pm and 6am for safety reasons, so anyone wanting to enter or leave has to use their "swipe" card and the gate makes quite a racket..

Room Tip: Stay in units on the second or third floors which over look the pool and Nelson Bay. Don't stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RDJI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraAqua, Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and appreciate your constructive feedback.
We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    236
    107
    19
    19
See reviews for
263
130
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The Mantra Aqua resort at Nelson Bay was perfect for our recent stay in Nelson Bay. Located just behind the main shopping precinct and a 5 minute walk to the d'Albora Marinas, the resort has 2 and 3 bedroom self contained apartments with plenty of space for families or groups.

The air conditioned apartments are clean and spacious with ensuite bathrooms, mirrored built-in wardrobes, fully functional kitchen including dishwasher, microwave, conventional oven and cooker, plus washing machine & dryer - everything you need to make it a home away from home.

Fully furnished with sofa, dining table, flat screen TV, DVD, cable TV, and a balcony with outdoor table and chairs.

The resort pool is popular with families and is safe and clean and beautifully landscaped.

Staff were friendly and helpful so all in all, I couldn't fault this resort for value, space and location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraAqua, Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and hope that we see you return in the future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnsonville, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We arrived Saturday afternoon and had a very warm welcome .We were told we had one of the premier apartments so we looked forward to a nice stay.After being allocated a parking spot with our unit number on it we parked and went up to the room .Our first impression was ok, but on closer inspection we found hairs around the toilet seat, dried food stains on the walls,lounges and floors, not really what one would expect. Twice, we came back to the carpark to find someone had parked in the allocated parking space yet again. When we decided on Sunday to have a glass a wine and enjoy the view, only to find the freezer was the only section of the fridge working. All of the above problems, were dealt with promptly and cheeringly by the wonderful staff. I feel the problems that we encountered should not be our first impression of the overall property. Under the circumstances we would not return to this property without a renovation of unit sites especially inside re-decorationg. We would not stay here again. We were offered a complimentary nights accommodation and a bottle of wine. We accepted the wine not the extra night!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraAqua, Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hello Brian and thanks again for sharing your input on your experience with us. We are truly heartbroken that you didn't receive the rewarding and relaxing stay you should have. We are very passionate about creating a warm and stress-free environment for all of our guests from beginning to end, so we are grateful to you to have allowed us to fix some of the issues you encountered whilst you were still here, and that we can take your experience as a tool to ensure we aren't allowing our future guests to encounter the same issues. Although we are in the process of arranging for some of the apartment owners to upgrade the furnishings in their units, we have a very dedicated team who take pride in their cleaning standards and procedures as we make this a top priority above all. We'd love nothing more than to be able to have you back to give you the experience you should have received in the first place, and hope we see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We were given quite possibly the worst room available with views over a car park. There is an alleyway running alongside the room which people us to walk home late at night so we had plenty of loud drunks during the night.

Having said that, the pool was good for kids. Not enough to draw us back there though.

Room Tip: Maybe try to be closer to the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussie11_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraAqua, Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are disappointed to hear that you didn't receive the experience you should have. We have security on each night to try and eliminate excessive noise in and around the complex. We hope that guests phone us to report excessive noise so that we are made aware and can action however sometimes this is not always the case.
We do hope that you decide to come stay with us again so we can provide you the experience you should have received in the first place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I had bought a discount online voucher for $300 for 3 nights in a 2 bedder. Great value! Our apartment was good. The only 3 probs we had was there was no curtain in the main bedroom so had to cover the window with a blanket to avoid the morning sun coming in. No air cond in the bedrooms so was very warm and had to leave the door open to let in cool air from the lounge room and the "free" wifi never worked for us in the room. Had to go out to the hallway to get internet. Apart from those issues the place was great.. Met our needs. I did a lot of cooking.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anggee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraAqua, Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate your constructive feedback. We would like to identify what unit you stayed in previously as it was our impression that all of the apartments had blinds in each room.
Unfortunately we don't have air conditioning in each bedroom however we have ceiling fans installed in each bedroom to help cool. We use a service provider for our wireless Internet so if the WIFI isn't working as it should from a particular apartment we hope that our guests advise us so that we are able to contact our supplier as their may be a technical fault.
We thank you again for the feedback and hope we have the change to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We recently spent two nights here and it was fine. The apartments are located in a quiet part of Nelson Bay, its the perfect weekend escape. It almost has the feel that your secluded up north Queensland, as you lay by the pool have lovely views of the mountains, yet it is so close to shops and amenities.

The apartment itself was great, we had a two bedroom apartment which was very spacious with a decent size verandah. I personally wasn't too impressed of the view from our verandah, mainly the car park and in the far distance we could get views of the pool.

I usually stay in Mantra Hotels all over Australia and am always beyond satisfied. This was not the case with the Mantra at Nelson Bay. Its the little things that make me want to come back. I have to keep in mind that these are apartments not hotels . A few cons were:

* We had 5 paying guests and were told that only two beach towels are complimentary and the rest we had to pay $2.50 for each. Not a big deal but very petty when Im paying close to $1100 for two nights!.
* Also the toilet in our on-suite was broken. We reported it as soon as we discovered it, it was actioned about 8 hrs later, but the problem occurred again, so we had 6 people using one toilet for the whole stay.
* When we complained about the above two points all that was done was the towel charge waived. Im sure they could of compensated us in another way!

Would I stay here again?, Yes I certainly would, however it would be great to get kinder service when Im paying top dollar. Again its the little things that make your stay memorable!

Room Tip: Choose a room that has a direct view of the pool, its a very lovely pool to look at!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra12blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraAqua, Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your overall time and sincerely appreciate the feedback in regards to the maintenance issue you had with the toilet. It is not our standard to have an 8 hour wait time as we do have maintenance staff who work full time to ensure comfort for our guests. We are unsure of what went wrong there, however if the issue was reported after office hours, then the message would not have been received until the next morning and we did sincerely apologize that you had to wait that long. Unfortunately because we outsource our linen and towels to be cleaned off-site, we charge a small hire fee for the pool towels as this is the cost we pay to have them cleaned for us. We are a passionate team of people who truly care about ensuring our guests have a stress-free and relaxing time with us and we are grateful to be able to do this on a daily basis in a beautiful setting. For guests who are looking to stay with us in the future, there are several 2 and 3 bedroom apartment types that each offer a different general view (described on our website). There's something for everyone and we find that each person's preference seems to be different from the next based on noise, view, size, etc. If you're unsure, please call us directly as we will be more than happy to find the best apartment suited for your needs. I do hope we see you again and we are able to give you the stress-free experience you should have received in the first place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Spent three nights with my daughters. The three bedroom unit was very spacious, allowing us all to have our own space whilst utilizing the free wifi and foxtel. The spa was kept at a lovely temperature and the gym was a fun way for us all to have a laugh while burning off our nightly feeds. Will be going back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson Bay hotels
1.0 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#10 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#13 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Aqua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Aqua

Property: Mantra Aqua
Address: 1A Tomaree St, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nelson Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Nelson Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nelson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Aqua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just two and a half hours drive North of Sydney is the relaxed seaside village of Nelson Bay and one of the finest resorts on the Central Coast, Mantra Aqua. Mantra Aqua's stylish accommodation includes a selection of spacious, open-plan designed two and three bedroom apartments and penthouses, all featuring large living areas flowing out onto large external balconies. Each apartment and penthouse features beautiful stone bench tops in the kitchen with stainless steel appliances, plasma or LCD TV, DVD player, Foxtel and sound system in the lounge area. The resort features leisure facilities including a 25 metre lagoon pool with cascading waterfall and heated spa, children's play wading area and BBQ areas. Clean, contemporary lines and an open plan layout provide the perfect balance between the surrounding natural environment and the luxuries of resort-style living. The resort is a short five minute stroll to the centre of town or the marina where you will find a vast array of shops, restaurants and cafes. The bowling club and a 27 hole championship golf course are only a few minutes walk from the main gate. Mantra Aqua is the perfect location for a weekend away or relaxing holiday escape. Upon arrival at Mantra Aqua, we will require a valid credit card to be placed on file to cover incidental items including (but not limited to) telephone calls, breakages/damages, excessive cleaning charges and theft. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mantra Aqua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Aqua Hotel Nelson Bay
Mantra Aqua Nelson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing