We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amarna Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Martys at Little Beach(Nelson Bay)(Great Value!)
US$155
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Nelson Resort(Nelson Bay)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantra Aqua(Nelson Bay)(Great Value!)
US$212
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Port Stephens Motel(Nelson Bay)(Great Value!)
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Central Motel(Nelson Bay)(Great Value!)
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cote D'Azur(Nelson Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveller rating
103
8
7
1
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
103
8
7
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspure luxuryprivate pool and spanespresso coffee machineport stephensdirect access to the pooldaily servicingkayaks and paddle boardsliving areaipod dockgreat bathroomsoldiers pointwalking trackrelaxing weekendbeautiful apartmentone bedroom apartmentstayed longershops and restaurants
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 125 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2010

Upon arriving at the venue we were quite excited with anticipation and were surprised at how tucked away this location was. We were greeted with extremly friendly owners of the place and we were shown to our two bedroom apartment. Upon walking into the place our jaws just hit the floor. The place was absolutely stunning and the finishes absolutely amazing. The owners took us through the operations of the apartment with regard to the ovens, microwave coffee machine etc etc. Everything within the unit just screamed quality from the Miele Appliances to the Villeroy & Boch toilet, the global knives and the Daiken aircon units with the apartment. No cent was spared with the constuction of these apartments, every little thing you could want or need has been thought of.

Most of our trip was spent bbq'ing on the balcony and overlooking the stunning beach views and you really cant beat this atmosphere for some good times with friends and some relaxation.

My husband and i had the main bedroom of the apartment which had a very luxurious ensuite (double bowls, massive shower and spa bath) attached. The room itself was very large with amazing wardrobes and the beds themselves were so comfortable you never want to get up! We found ourselves napping throughout the day which we never do because the bed was just so comfortable and as seasoned travellers that is a very hard find !

Each morning you have beautiful warm muffins at your door accompanied with some very nice tasting fresh fruit, muesli and yoghurt. Fanastic for the health conscious, a starter for the type who like bacon and eggs on the bbq !

Really we have no complaints at all about this place, first time ever in all our travels! If there was one thing to pick on its that there is only one parking space per apartment however the owners are already addressing this issue with the potential construction of more apartments.

The pool and spa area is also very nice, the spa seats 12 ppl comfortably and the pool is 25m in length. Both are big enough for the amount of ppl that would be staying at the resort at any one time. There is also a communal bbq in this area for those in the 1 bedroom apartments who do not get a bbq on their balcony.

We truly believe this place is heaven, you never get tired of the view and you never want to leave ! We actually ended up staying another night and blamed the traffic as an excuse ( was an easter long weekend). Our stay in the 1 bedroom apartment was just as amazing as the 2 bedroom. We are definatley going to make this place an annual reoccurence every year and are trying to go back very soon.

The negative reviews placed on here i do not believe are justified in anyway and am amazed that anyone could have had a negative experience at this little slice of heaven.

Cheers Amarna, we cant wait to come back !

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsFazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

This was a beautiful looking resort and the views were amazing, however we had problems before we even arrived. As there were a lot of emails prior to our visit confirming all dates I thought everything would run smoothly. This was not the case. Just before we arrived I received a phone call to inform me that the massage therapist had arrived and was waiting for me. I informed the receptionist that my massage was booked for the next day. She checked her records and confirmed this. A couple of minutes later she phoned back to say there had been a mistake with the booking and I would need to get my one hour massage either when I arrived or 9am of the morning I was checking out (check out was at 10am). I wasn't offered an apology, late checkout, or anything similar. When we arrived the reception looked like a caravan park. The receptionist, although quite friendly, spoke as though she worked in a caravan park in the bush. Fortunately the massage therapist was still there and we found out that the resort had made another mistake and had her fully booked out the next day for guests that were not even arriving for three weeks so I was able to organise with her to come the next day as planned.
When we got to the room the receptionist spent some time showing us around and explaining things, however she only explained the things we actually had instructions for and not the things we didn't (such as how to work the floor heating in the bathroom, what all of the switches were actually for, etc). A lot of the switches were actually broken.
After about 90 minutes we realised reception was soon closing and decided to go up and ask for our strawberries and champagne (that were meant to be on arrival, and that the receptionist had mentioned she would soon bring up) and our robes that were meant to be in our room.
The king size bed is actually two beds put together, which in most places is generally fine, except that these beds were not very comfortable to the edge so in the middle of the bed there was a large hard bump, which meant you either had to sleep on a bump or sleep completely away from your partner.
The following day we went to laze by the pool for a bit before going out and about. At around 10am the workmen came to tell us we could only swim up one end of the pool for the next 20 minutes as they had just chlorinated the pool. I didn't find this to be appropriate at this time of day.
When we arrived back in our room after going out for a bit our room had apparently been serviced. All this meant was that someone had made the bed. The dishes were still all left, as was the breakfast tray (none of the dishes from this tray had anywhere to go in the cupboards in our room). The floor had also looked like it needed a clean when we arrived and this didn't happen either.
On the website it looks as though you can just walk out to the beach and that there is a lovely garden area. The garden area is there but it is private. To get to the beach you have to go through the neighbouring property where a sprinkler may spray you as you leave.
Overall the pretty looking room did not make up for the experience. If you are going to charge the amount that Amarna charges and not have the facilities on site you need to have the service down pat. Unfortunately they did not. In my opinion there are enough places that have beautiful rooms, a day spa and a restaurant combined with exceptional service. They also cost less.
Hopefully they can improve this soon as the resort is potentially wonderful.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank andyandmarianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2010

I had booked three nights' accommodation for my honeymoon. I had informed the resort months back it was our honeymoon and asked if they could accommodate us accordingly.

When we arrived however, we were given a room which was on ground floor, with a full-glass wall right next to the main walking thoroughfare for other guests to enter the pool or walk to their own villas. This meant we had two options: leave the blinds up so we could see the view and have absolutely zero privacy for our entire stay, or leave the blinds closed and sit in a dark room the whole time we were there.

For the exorbitant price tag, neither was appealing, so we cancelled our booking and found other accommodation that suited our requirements for much less.

Pros: The staff were extremely apologetic and gave us a full refund.
The rooms are very nice - all mod cons, giant TV mounted on the wall, great bathrooms, etc.

Cons: The website is extremely misleading. From looking at it you would think it's a secluded, private location, only to arrive and find it's a crowded beach and the resort is crammed in on all sides by other rental units and houses. I even saw people who were locals coming in to use the private pool.

Unless you request a 2nd story room and don't mind the exorbitant price, I would suggest you would get better value for your money elsewhere in Port Stephens, even if the apartments aren't quite as plush.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rollagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2009

OVERVIEW:

The Amarna Beach Resort is a brand new apartment complex set on a secluded white sand beach near Nelson Bay.

The property is comprised of 11 luxury suites in three buildings and is set directly on the beautiful Dutchmans Bay Beach.

Sadly our itinerary would only allow us to stay here one night but the location really is perfect and I would recommend a staying at least two nights (the owners normally insist on a minimum booking of two nights).


THE SUITES:

We stayed in a beautiful one bedroom ground floor suite for AUD 395 per night including breakfast.

The open plan living area included a beautiful kitchen equipped with Miele appliances, a dining area and well furnished sitting area with 46 inch plasma TV and DVD player, as well as complimentary broadband access. A separate laundry room led off the kitchen.

The bedrooms featured a king size bed and had a lovely ensuite bathroom with separate bath and walk-in shower.

Both the living area and the bedroom had their own private balconies.


FOOD & DRINK:

A breakfast tray including fruit, muesli and yoghurt was delivered to our door early in the morning and we supplemented this with a selection of fruit juices, cheese and cooked meats we had purchased in the local supermarket.

The nearby town has a good choice of places to eat, but be warned most close by 8pm – 9pm in the evening, so eat early!


POOL:

The property features a superb 25 metre outdoor pool and a lovely heated whirlpool.

Steps lead down from the pool (via a security gate) to the beautiful white sand beach.


SUGGESTIONS FOR IMPROVEMENT:

The booking process was more painful than it ought to have been and we exchanged a total of ten messages (largely asking us to provide information which had been given in previous messages) before everything was confirmed.

The suites would benefit from the addition of a docking station for an ipod / iphone / MP3 player.


THINGS TO DO:

Take to 1km walk along the beachfront bridal path from Dutchmans Bay Beach to Nelsons Bay. The path is not well lit at night, so if you plan on walking in to town for dinner, take a torch.

Hire a 4 x 4 and drive on the sands at Stockton Beach. A three day permit can be purchased for AUD 10 at the local filing station. Don’t forget to let some of the air out of your tyres and follow the safety rules!


OUR COMPLETE ITINERARY:

Sydney: Park Hyatt (H)
Blue Mountains: Lilianfels (H)
Blue Mountains: Trek with Life's an Adventure (O)
Nelsons Bay : Amarana Beach Resort (A)
Port Macquarie: Quality Inn HW Boutique (H)
Coffs Harbour: Promised Land Cottages (A)
Byron: Byron at Byron (H)
Gold Coast: Palazzo Versace (H)
Airlie Beach: The Peninsula (A)
Whitsunday Islands: Coral Trekker (O)
Hamilton Island: Qualia (H)
Darwin: Sky City (H)
Litchfield National Park: Adventure Tours (O)
Kakadu National Park: Adventure Tours (O)
Ayers Rock (Uluru) & The Olgars (Kata Tjuta) National Park: Longitude 131° (H)
Perth: The Richardson (H)

(H) = Hotel (A) = Apartment (O) = Other

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adventura1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2009

OK , first things first - this is not a hotel. It's like staying in an apartment. There's no facilitires, no concierge, no reception, etc etc. That said, things happen. Sheets get changed daily, light breakfast arrives. Pool is kept clean. This is probably the only place to stay in Nelson's Bay if you want a 5* family trip. We had the 4 bedroom wit extended family. Everything works, right down to heated pool and heated towel racks. Only possible complaints could be (a) expensive and (b) no restaurant. That said, the kitchen is awesomely kitted out. The final word? Come and stay , but ignore the hyperbole of other reviewers

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asia6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews