We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large Family Accommodation”
Review of Cote D'Azur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cote D'Azur
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Pokolbin, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Large Family Accommodation”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights whilst visiting the area for a business event. There were 3 adults and 3 children. This was a large apartment that had everything you really needed for a short or extended stay. This is not a serviced unit but there was adequate towels and extra pillows etc for the length of our stay.
Fully equipped kitchen (though we only ate breakfast there). 3 bedrooms / Ensuite and Bathroom with bath and shower / Laundry / Pool to cool off in on hot days.
2 car spaces allotted to our apt.
Staying in the heart of Nelson Bay - Easy walk to the Marina.
The only trouble was needing a code and swipe card to get up and down the lifts / in and out of doors and garage - but at least you knew it was secure!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bec168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    48
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
81
20
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
86 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We were a little disappointed when we viewed this property from the outside but this is because the main part of the building is not immediately visible from the main road. In fact we were delighted with everything and would rate this accommodation among the best we found on our trip to Australia. Our apartment and spacious balcony were really great. The Port Stephen area is most attractive and certainly deserves to be better known outside of Australia.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Visitor73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This hotel was horrible!

My family stayed for 2 out of the 5 nights we booked because:

1. cockroaches
2. terrible hotel staff and service
3. more cockroaches

When we confronted front desk staff about the coackroaches falling from light fixtures, we were told "this is the cockroach capital of New South Wales, what do you want us to do about it".

Maybe clean up the place?

DO NOT STAY HERE. What a horrible experience.

Montgomerys.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bemonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradsplace, Manager at Cote D'Azur, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Hi Byron,
Hope you and your family are well.
I am saddened that you have had a "horrible" experience at our wonderful complex.
A lot has changed since you last stayed 20/12/12, we have the complex sprayed (quarterly) not only for cockroaches but any other annoying insect you bear to mind.
I remember your visit to Reception very well and so do my staff and in hind sight maybe a more polite approach to the problem from both sides may have had a better out come.
That light on the balcony you reported was fixed that afternoon, we could not clean up the block behind our property as we do not own it and please remember this is not in view unless you wish to look at the back of the complex.
What really concerns me as the Manager, is the long winded review, In most complexes over a period of 11 months a lot of cleaning and effort takes place to make sure all of our guests have a enjoyable experience.
You may notice our glowing last 44 out 44 reviews which I can only come to the conclusion that even though we do very best, sometimes you can not please every individual.
I am not satisfied that such a review, some 11 months old, that can damage such a wonderful complex reputation should be published, this will be discussed with Tripadvisor in the very near future.
I hope you had a safe trip back to Canada and we do hope you visit our shores again.

Kind Regards
Brad Tudor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Base on the pictures on the website, the apartments didn't look too impressive. As it was a good deal we went ahead and made the booking. When we arrived we found our that the apartment looks newer and cleaner than we anticipated. Even the decor surprised us on the upside. Probably my only criticism is that they should post better pictures representative of what they actually are or maybe not......

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WLCHONG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed at this place early Sept 2013.

We stayed in Unit 23. This unit is excellent - a nice big balcony, great views of the water and it is well maintained.

Location was awesome - so quiet and very close to grog shop and Coles.

The pool at the place was also great as is the carpark.

I am a really fussy traveller and this unit met my standards.

Only negatives (tiny ones) - sink plugs were a little rusty, the pool didnt have any umbrella's around it for shading and the towels in the room were not luxurious. But for the price Im not complaining.

Overall for the price, this exceeded our expectations and we will definitely stay here again.

As for Nelson Bay - it was so quiet - not a lot of decent places to eat out. But the kitchen in the unit was great so we did some of our own cooking.

Id recommend this place to everyone.

Room Tip: Make sure you check the furnishings in the unit you book - theyre not all equal. I would go for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthShoreGuy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. We booked apartment 22, 3 br. We fell in love with the place. Short walking distance everywhere. Coles is next door and lots of small shops. The rooms are good sized rooms, massive balcony. The only thing we could fault is the position of the tv in the main bedroom. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Parrismx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Have to day that the accommodation was exceptional. So much better than the pictures can show. We stayed in apartment 21 and cannot wait to book again. The apartment was huge, spotless and so private. We didn't feel like we heard any outside noise and felt very much like we were in our own private oasis. I would recommend these apartments to anyone. Very, very reasonably priced for a quick weekend away with the kids. So again, I will definitely be booking to go back and hopefully sooner rather than later, and now that we have stayed at the Côte d'Azur I would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kristi351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson Bay hotels
1.1 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#4 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#10 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#13 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cote D'Azur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cote D'Azur

Property: Cote D'Azur
Address: 61 Donald St, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cote D'Azur 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cote D'Azur is located in the heart of Nelson Bay. This modern resort being 9 yrs young with all the modern facilities one would expect. All apartments are fully self contained, most with wonderful views of the Bay. Our location means it is only a short walk to all the restaurants, shops, new state of the art Woolworths and the world class d'Albora Marina. Cote D'Azur really is the place to "stay in the bay" especially now that the Resort has been refreshed with new bbqs, pool deck and umbrellas for our guests comfort. Heated pool, Gym, Sauna... The list goes on and on! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Cote D'Azur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing