We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay for a weekend getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Admiral Nelson Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Admiral Nelson Motor Inn
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay for a weekend getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

The kids and I stayed here overnight in a first floor room and were impressed with the place. Located between Nelson Bay and Shoal Bay, it was a perfect base for exploring Port Stephens. Check in was prompt and the staff were friendly & helpful. Rooms were clean & tidy and noise from outside was minimal. There is no view of the Bay from the rooms but Little Beach is walking distance as is the local RSL where we had dinner. Great if you want a nice meal and a few drinks as you can leave the car behind! There is a small pool which the kids enjoyed. Overall, the motel was good value for money compared to other places in Port Stephens and I'd happily return.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank teenyt70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    67
    15
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
75
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Very clean rooms very friendly staff close to everything including Shoal Bay restaurants.

We stayed two nights and didn't have the breakfast so can't comment on that.

Parking was a bit of a problem but this palce is recommended.

Room Tip: Make sure you are on the first floor with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

We booked in here for two nights in Nov 13 whilst on a road trip and were very impressed with the room and amenities. Large clean room with microwave, fridge and utensils etc which was a bonus. It was very quiet and we slept well. Good location for surrounding beaches. I would stay again and recommend to family & friends.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sazzle_funk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Excellent. I spend 3 nights at and I have only one point to consider as a negative point (not serious): wi-fi doesn’t work very well. If you are travelling without a car maybe the distance to the bay can be a problem (20 minutes walking), very close to Fly Point Beach 5-10 minutes walking. There isn’t any luxury, but the place is very cozy and clean and the staff is very friendly. If you are traveling by car I recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank almeidab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Very friendly and accommodating owner/managers. Helped with finding places to eat. Very quiet and relaxing - just what we wanted it to be. Could not ask for a much more beautiful area. Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We only stayed for 2 nights, but it was the perfect spot for us, away from the stresses of city life. Our room, and the surrounding areas were spotless, and adequately supplied with the all necessities. The service was excellent with friendly, helpful staff. We even made time to have a quick dip in the lovely clean pool. The Admiral Motel is so convenient to surrounding beaches and the CBD of Nelson Bay. I highly recommend for anyone looking for good old fashion friendly and respectful customer service. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen65652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenlane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

I had read reviews on this place and I agree it is a good stay for the one night for average price. Nicely located near Shoal bay 5 mins away. It has all the basic amenities needed and has a great hot watering system for showering. Very spacious for two people or even three. It has no bath and tv is okay to watch. I wish they'd have recent pay movies avail but they do have foxtel. Clean and comfortable bed and room. Small pool outside and carpark space. A recommended stay!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Blake L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#14 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#9 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Nelson Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Nelson Motor Inn

Property: Admiral Nelson Motor Inn
Address: Cnr. Gowrie Avenue & Achilles Street, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Admiral Nelson Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Admiral Nelson Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing