We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heading Home”
Review of The Nelson Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Nelson Resort
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2013

My husband and I used this as a get together after being away on seperate trips. I had made the booking on the resort site and had asked for the romance package of rose petals on bed and champagne on ice.

The room booked was a king spa room, it was a very clean and lovely room, however the room fronted the very noisy Government Road, which is on of the main roads into Nelson Bay, especially the marina area. As a ex Port Stephens local I should have requested a room away from the road. Being week nights the traffic was not as bad as it would have been at weekends, but still noisy. Also work was being done on the resort, sign at front of building and painting. The ladies at reception are very helpful and cheerful. The pool is great and was used each day. T

There are plenty of places to eat, but be aware that on a week night most close early so make sure you get there at a reasonable hour.

Only downside to it all was the fact that I did not get the romance package as requested, on check out I advised reception of this and when they checked my booking they found it. It pays to check all requests prior to arrival, was not charged for the package.

If you want a romantic quiet room then the King Spa room no 22 is not for you, too much road noise and outside lights penetrate the curtains.

Room Tip: Don't book a room at front of resort.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caksduci_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (519)
There are newer reviews for The Nelson Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

383 - 389 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

The Nelson Resort is a wonderful, relaxed environment. The staff are friendly, the rooms are impeccably clean and the facilities are great. It's located in the heart of Nelson Bay so once there you can leave the car and get around on foot or hire a bicycle. This is a great place for everyone, singles, couples and families. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8Kaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

The Nelson Resort is very well located for pottering around town. The room was spacious, clean & fresh. There is a lovely cafe onsite as well as a tennis court and swimming pool. Overall, The Nelson Resort is fantastic value for money and highly recommended.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
Thank mmff13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Friendly and helpful staff. Internal Breakfast & lunch cafe- high standard. Modern decor. Very clean. Very comfortable beds. Great free facilities. Close to shops & restaurants and breaches. Great bike hire service!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Very good family friendly place, we enjoyed our stay at the nelson resort very friendly staff. Had fun in the swimming pool, played tennis. Very handy location to the beach shops and restaurants.
Special thanks to Emma, she was very helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nmore15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I stayed for two nights md week in a bay view king room. The accommodation and service was just perfect. So clean and the room was modern, tasteful and well appointed. So close to restaurants, shops and the waterfront. I highly recommend his property!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jcia69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My mother and I stayed one night and found the room clean, bed comfortable, and staff happy to go out of their way to help out (lending my mum some magazines when the local news agencies were closed, turning our bed from a king to 2 singles). Simple details that made our stay a happy one. Next time I would bring a cossie for the pool... It looked great.
Also, the whale watchers package booked through the hotel was a great deal.
...And they let us park on site after check out so we could go on the cruise without concern.
Overall, a really comfortable, wonderful, happy stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMOW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMCBalmain, Owner at The Nelson Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thanks for your comments and glad you had a nice time! Yes bring your swimmers next time, as our pool is now heated year round to 28 degrees with solar and electric heating. It;s lovely in!

Cheers, Andrew and The Nelson team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelson Bay
0.2 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
558 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#14 of 16 in Nelson Bay
201 reviews
1.0 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#10 of 16 in Nelson Bay
270 reviews
2.1 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nelson Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nelson Resort

Address: 3 Government Rd, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Nelson Lodge Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Price Range: £80 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nelson Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nelson is a small boutique resort in the centre of all the action that make Port Stephens great. Walk to the marina, beach, shops, cafes and cinema! Plus we have a heated pool, super cool cafe with Suspension coffee, plus free tennis and sauna! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Nelson Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing