We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Stop”
Review of The Nelson Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Nelson Resort
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Mornington Peninsula, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quick Stop”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Stopped in just for an over night on the way to Sydney. Quite new, super comfy king size bed and clean and tidy. Decent size TV no squinting needed...and a good shower head. New Coffee bar down stairs looked nice but didn't try the coffee. Service from the lady at front counter was warm and friendly.

$150 a bargain

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bazz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    212
    49
    13
    3
See reviews for
124
250
12
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Was here for one night for special anniversary and was spoiled with wine and chocolate!! There was a nice suprise on the bed upon entering with a big love heart on it! The room was very clean,everything worked perfectly(book a room with a spa!).Amenities were great,my partner loved the soap. Parking is free but becareful parking on lower level has steep ramp(I scratched my bumper).Free wifi for two devices worked flawlessly(24 hr session). The pool and tennis courts were good fun.Most Importantly the staff were so friendly and helpful. Thankyou!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alexthegentleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The friendly service at The Nelson Resort is something special and rather unusual these days offering more than is expected. Their Little Nell restaurant is a delight too. They have an imaginative menu using fresh local produce in a comfortable and attractive setting. The rooms are very pleasant. They seem to have thought of everything to make guests comfortable. The larger than usual swimming pool has a great setting and there are lots of activities to choose from including a tennis court, Gym and bikes for hire and the marina, restaurants and shops a couple of minutes walk away. Some comments has said it is noisy but they must have been unlucky as we had no trouble.

Room Tip: If you are really worried about some cars passing by ask for a room in the wing not facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We booked an apartment - it was clean, modern, well equipped, great view, quiet, plenty of parking, amazing breakfast choice, a pool and wonderful staff - we couldn't have been more pleased with our choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingtoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

I was expecting a resort style place, modern look. NOPE! The place felt like a motor inn or motel. The key to the room is still metal key. The decor is dated and has an old smell to it.
The only good thing is the place is super close to the mariner, you can find food and people within a close proximity. The staff are very nice which made the stay bearable.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank winnc2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem, Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Based on the name we expected a ittle bit more from the resort hotel.

Based on the reviews and the noise complaints we booked a garden view room, but we got a room viewing the road. I didn't really see a garden... so I am not sure if the garden rooms are located on that side or that we were not sleeping in a garden room. And it can indeed be noisy, but the small bed kept us more awake at night.
The bed was small and you could feel every movement of the other person. Very uncomfortable if a small bed is not your preference. Also we could only get two access code for the wifi. We asked for more for other devices, but that was refused.
The small kitchen, big bathroom and the complimentary bottle of wine and newspaper were nice. The pool area looked nice as well, but we didn't use it.
Loation is great, near the marina and via the parking lot access towards the town center.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dekpau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EMCBalmain, Owner at The Nelson Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Guest,
It sounds like a few things did not suit you, so apologies we have disappointed. I would agree with your comment that we are not a resort - while we do have great facilities like gym, heated pool, tennis - we are not a typical large resort style hotel. We do think of ourselves as a small boutique resort, however that does not translate clearly in our name I know. So for that reason we are going through the process of shortening our name to just "The Nelson" to avoid the confusion.

We do have quieter rooms (and indeed already 2 of the rooms on the street side have had new soundproof glass installed so they are now super quiet also), and of course we have rooms with king sized beds that would have suited you better.

Thanks again for your comments, they do help us to make the hotel better!

Regards
Andrew
The Nelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crookwell, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Genuinely kind girls. Rooms were spacious and clean, nicely furnished. Had everything we needed. Pool was great! Tennis court was fun, close to everything. Would stay here again. Loved it! Value for money

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reneamifsud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelson Bay
0.2 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
549 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#14 of 16 in Nelson Bay
200 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
322 reviews
2.1 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nelson Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nelson Resort

Property: The Nelson Resort
Address: 3 Government Rd, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Nelson Lodge Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nelson Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nelson is a small boutique resort in the centre of all the action that make Port Stephens great. Walk to the marina, beach, shops, cafes and cinema! Plus we have a heated pool, super cool cafe with Suspension coffee, plus free tennis and sauna! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Nelson Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing