We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed in the Zulu Bambo house boat” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leilani Haciendas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Leilani Haciendas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Stayed in the Zulu Bambo house boat”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Location location location. That's the good bit out of the way. The room wasn't booked the night before. Reasonable then to assume an early checking would be no issue? Wrong! After driving from Twwed Heads thru the night (didn't want to waste any time there) was abruptly told checking is 2pm I am busy cleaning rooms. The female manager was so rude and obviously over worked. Checking took all of 3 minutes. I timed it. The room is very old and tired. Took half an hour to air it out. It was nothing flash but as we said the room was free we just paid for the location. It needs a good paint job. The timber deck needs repair. We had access to the room for 20 hours out of what I reckon should have been 24. Take away the angry female manager and it's bearable. Needs a small barbecue so you can fully utilize the whole thing. Oh yeah don't dare be late checking out. You have to drive to another suburb. I called it Little Beach by 10.05 or it's an extra $45 per hour. Whole management experience was disgraceful.

Room Tip: Don't expect too much and you will be laughing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robtwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    4
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
1
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

After reading some of the other reviews I nearly didn't book this, but it was the cheapest available so I decided to give it a go. And I'm glad I did as it was excellent. Yes, the room was a little tired and when one of the neighbouring rooms used the spa it was quite loud, but those were the only slight negatives. The room was spacious with a lovely shaded verandah and everything we needed was supplied. Others have commented on the poor service, however we had a warm,friendly welcome. Reception wasn't continuously staffed but if it was we'd have to pay more. I don't see a problem with having to leave the keys in a basket when you leave. I would stay here again, it was excellent value compared others in the area. If you want five-star service you will have to pay more.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiKate55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

Hi
Had a night stay at this hotel . Wow it was great. Location is so so handy. We walked to everything.
Room and facilities were very clean and above average. Wished we had have had more time to use the pool and Bbq area.
The rooms were very large and had separate type kitchen/tv area. So much nicer than just a hotel room situation. Check in / out was quick and easy. Staff were friendly.
We will be back.

Room Tip: There are a few rooms near a sand pit area and away from the pool which would be great if you have s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

Desperately in need of a make over!
Really grotty...
missing knobs
dirty kitchenette
dirty utensils
toaster doesn't stay down
fan on wall doesn't blow
no air conditioning
Will never stay there again.
view was the best part although really noisy due to Marina nearby. Christmas party at Marina. Very noisy

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nelson Bay hotels

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Reception area disgusting. People running the motel very rude. Walked straight into our room without knocking. Have reported this. If you want a good location this is ok. If you care about service do not go. The people are extremely rude!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a quiet stay that is still close to both Nelson Bay and Shoal Bay then this is the place.
Clean rooms and very good value. Fully self contained with kitchen laundry and all the comforts of home.
AAA+++

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joy7283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langwarrin, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

My husband rang about three weeks in advance of our long weekend in Nelson Bay. As it was around 7pm the woman on the other end of the line at Leilani told him she was busy having dinner so he needed to call back! Being the patient darling he is he did call back the next day much earlier of course and made our booking. We arrived early the saturday morning so decided to see if it was possible to get into our room earlier. Not on your life! She was most put out at the mere suggestion of it and was very rude as she reiterated "rooms not available till 2pm" Fair enough. When we did return, after 2, my husband went in to get the keys then came back out to get bags and myself, I was overcome by the stench of dirty feet in the reception area then to top it off she didn't even take her eyes of the computor screen to greet me and grunted a "hlo" think she was saying hello. The room was old and sad and smelt, the electric jug was full of ants and the toilet seat looked dirty. We were told to lock the front reception door on our way out at night but when we got back it was unlocked with no one on duty. We left the next day around 9.30am and as no one was again at reception we just left the keys. No, don't think we'll ever go back for another visit.

Room Tip: Just pick a different place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucinda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Martys at Little Beach
Martys at Little Beach
#1 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.1 mi away
Halifax Holiday Park
Halifax Holiday Park
#1 of 7 in Nelson Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leilani Haciendas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leilani Haciendas

Property: Leilani Haciendas
Address: 6 Kurrawa CL, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Nelson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Leilani Haciendas 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Leilani Haciendas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing