We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incompetent service, badly trained staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Depz Restaurant

Depz Restaurant
Ranked #55 of 89 Restaurants in Nelson Bay
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wentworth Falls, NSW
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Incompetent service, badly trained staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

I visited this with friends seeking a coffe on a Monday morning.
The order was simple: 4 coffees.
The service was slow. When my own coffee arrived first, the cup was dirty (old coffee and lipstick on the outside - which is a dead giveaway guys ;- ) )
After 15 mins my wife had to see if they were growing the coffee beans in order to deliver the remaing 3 coffees. It turns out they were waiting for the dishwasher to finish - they had no clean cups ! What happened to hand washing ???
When the other 3 coffees arrived they were tepid.
Lousy waste of money !!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Il-uvatar2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    37
    18
    16
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Rutherford, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

great food good service a little pricey but worth it for a special treat

  • Visited November 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank annettemarie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic Dining - Excellent host”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

We regularly dine at Depz when we are on holiday in Nelson Bay, the food has always been of excellent quality.

It is a BYO restaurant but there are liquor outlets nearby which means we did not have to pay inflated prices for a bottle of wine which to us is a definite plus.

Cuisine is seafood/steak/chicken, we have always found the seafood to be lovely and fresh and presented very nicely.

It is a family run business and not another franchise restaurant that seem to be popping everywhere these days. The manager/owner always maes time to see how we like our meals and tell us a bit about the area.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulKarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

I visited this restaurant with my family after being told by some locals this was their favourite spot. I found the food unforgetable, i had the beef and reef after being suggested it by the waitress (who was coinsidently the owners daughter) my children chose off the children's menu which were a little big but the kids didnt mind the extra chips and my wife had the dylan chicken- perfecto! We got to speak to the chef/owner Pete who was an only to happy to tell us a bit about the area, and the top sites to see. Only problem i found was the decor a bit dated - but with good food and company who cares?

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank foodf-fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Depz Restaurant also viewed

Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 

Been to Depz Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing