We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing birthday dinner”

Sandpipers Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 89 Restaurants in Nelson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$33
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Open for dinner Tuesday to Saturday from 5.30pm
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing birthday dinner”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We went there to celebrate birthday, it was a Tuesday night and the restaurant was full, which was a good sign. Service was flawless and our waiter was very attentive and helpful. We opted for a tasting dessert platter and a tasting main meal platter, which was an excellent choice. We left the restaurant very full and satisfied, surprised with the value we got when it came to paying our bill. I wish it was closer to Newcastle, we would probably be regular guests!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kala_Wrobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    130
    37
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Wonderful meal and the tasting plate was an awesome choice allowing a sample of 3 different meals in one.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandgesler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had the seafood sampler, garlic prawn hot pot and creme brûlée. Couldn't ask for better! Our server, can't remember her name, was such a cheerful and delightful young lady. Constantly checking and making sure we have our water refilled.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CLin62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Food Experience”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We visited on the long weekend in June. From start to finish we could not fault this restaurant. Entrees, Mains and Desserts were absolutely delicious - well presented - we didn't want to leave! Great service as well, the staff were lovely! 10 out of 10! Thanks Sandpipers, we'll be back!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank EsJay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food & great service!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My partner and I went for dinner sunday night after reading great reviews, and holidaying from Sydney. Everything was fantastic! The dumplings & garlic bread for entrée were fantastic!The chicken & pork belly for mains we could not fault, absolutely delicious! For desert we shared the Sundae and loved it! Great food, service and very well priced! If we come back to Nelsons bay for a holiday, we will definitely be back to Sandpipers!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Natdave312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sandpipers Restaurant also viewed

Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 

Been to Sandpipers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing