We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Halifax Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed at Halifax Holiday Park for the night camping in our tent. The park is situated 100m from Little Beach at Nelson Bay and also has direct access to Shoal Bay Beach. It has caravan, camp sites and it also has villas. It is10 mins walk from the RSL club for meals or 20 - 30 mins walk from either Shoal Bay or Nelson Bay.

We had no issues with security, however we did find it inconvenient having to put a 5 digit code into the door each time we needed to use the toilets and showers.

The park has a small playground, new and very large BBQ area and about 170 sites.

Next time we stay at Nelson Bay, we will most likely camp here again and I would recommend this park to all travelers.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank themaddog74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxHolidayPark, Manager at Halifax Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Halifax Holiday Park. As you have mentioned the location of the park allows for walking to both Shoal Bay and Nelson Bay to make most of the wide range of cafe's/ Restaurants/ and speciality shops.Being able to gain access to two beaches from the park is also very popular with families staying at the park.
Where I understand your concern about having to use the code to gain access to the toilets and showers . The key pad locks on all the doors of the amenities do make for a more secure and safer environment for guests using the public facilities.We have also installed larger number & letter signage near the key pads to make them more user friendly.

Thanks again and hope to see you at Halifax again soon.

Robert
Park Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed for 3 days and loved the location. Private gate down to a separate beach .
Villas seem to be renovated or quite new. Only 2 of us but there was bunks available in a second bedroom. Ground level villa with a verandah and table and chairs for the arvo drink. The whole area of Port Stephens worth exploring. Loads of fresh seafood and restaurants .
Gie S

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank GieS418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing_Manager_OR, Manager at Halifax Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Thanks Gie S, we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon,

Best Regards Rebecca (Marketing Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the frangapini villa, one of the 3 raised 3 bedroom villas overlooking the bay.

Villa was very clean & comfortable. 2 single beds were great instead of bunks for the little kids. 2 double bedrooms & 2 bathrooms worked well for a stay with the grandparents.

Location of the park between beach & bay was great, easy to walk to beach, little shop, diggers club & a nice walk to Nelson bay.

Great to have laundry & storage room under the villa- easy to store beach gear, bikes, pram...

2 parking spots also very handy.

Villa was well equipped with towels, toilet paper, cleaning equipment, dishwasher tablets, BBQ cleaning tools etc...

A nicely decorated & comfortable villa.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxHolidayPark, Manager at Halifax Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Hi Emma
Thank you so much for your feedback and so glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Halifax Holiday Park .Glad to hear you found the Beach Villa to be very well equipped and the bedding suitable for families.Having laundry and storage facilities on ground level has also been well received .The three bedroom Beach villa is proving to be very popular with families and the location of the Villa to beautiful Shoal bay beach only adds to the experiance.
Hope to see you again soon

Cheers
Robert
Park Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Nice spot but unfortunately the security is poor. Locals came through stealing stuff. Park staff were not sympathetic at all and failed to provide surveillance footage. Even the eskys were raided. One experienced park guest takes his own trip wire personal alarm! HALIFAX YOU NEED TO DO MORE.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing_Manager_OR, Manager at Halifax Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear David,

Thank you for your recent review, I can assure you that we take security very seriously and have an ongoing focus on reviewing and improving our security systems and procedures. Halifax Holiday Park does have CCTV installed but unfortunately were unable to provide any vision of the incident in question on this occassion. We also have a security service provider who patrols the park at different times of the night and they provide static guards when required. We have also installed key pad locks on the entry and exit doors to the amenities and gate to Shoal Bay beach. We also provide all guests with a separate access codes for the boom gates which allows us to manage and control vehicle access to the park. We also have a process in place where we document both incidents and accidents that occur on site and capture details and forward them on to our Risk Management section . As a result of the unfortunate incident I have contacted our security service provider to request that the nightly patrols focus on the particular precinct of the park where the incident occurred and I have checked the lock of the beach access gate where the youths gained access to make sure the gate key pad lock is operational. We have very few security issues at Halifax Holiday Park as a rule.
I would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused by the incident involving the theft of your belongings and hope that you will consider Halifax Holiday Park in the future.

Yours Sincerely

Robert Robinson (Halifax Holiday Park Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The sites are pretty tight. Backing a van in some of the sites is an activity watched by many a van owner already set up. We were lucky that we could drive through the site behind us, otherwise the position of power poles etc would have made for an interesting afternoon of reversing.
By chance we had a site not next the amenities, and that turned out to be a blessing. As the sites that were close to the amenities were just a bit too close for my liking.
T

Room Tip: Look at the site before attempting to back your van in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rossfam2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I recently stayed at halifax in the accessible cabin. It was terrific.

It is a very modern cabin with all the facilities that you would need for a great holiday or weekend away; washing machine, dishwasher, three bedrooms - two with queen sized beds and one room with two single beds, Webber BBQ and parking for two cars and reverse cycle air conditioning.

This is a great option for travellers who need "accessible" accommodation. It is set up to suit people who may find it difficult to navigate a traditional cabin. There is a ramp to enter the cabin, plenty of space inside so that a wheelchair can manoeuvre with ease and the shower is also suitably kitted out. This cabin enables travellers with special needs to be independent.

Another plus for travellers with mobility challenges is that the nearby wharf at little beach (about 100m away) can be accessed by a wheelchair. This is a great spot for fishing or sitting back and watching the sun set.

Little Beach is beautiful spot for fishing, swimming and generally relaxing. The cafe next door to the caravan park serves up a great chocolate milkshake and the fish and chips weren't too bad either.

The local RSL club is 600m away from the holiday park which means that the family can walk to dinner without too much trouble while avoiding the stress of worrying about driving, especially if you enjoy an alcoholic beverage with your meal. We have walked into Nelson Bay from here but I wouldn't recommend it if you have young kids as it might be a bit of a stretch for their little legs.

This is a physically beautiful location, with two beaches just a stone throw away (Little Beach and the western end of Shoal Bay Beach). Wildlife is abundant. There is a flock of pelicans who live at the boat ramp and we saw a kookaburra sitting in the tree next to the kids playground and plenty of rosellas flying around.

This cabin comes with my highest recommendation. It is fabulous.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieinSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing_Manager_OR, Manager at Halifax Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Hi AussieinSanFrancisco and thanks for your recent review. The team at Halifax Holiday Park are thrilled that you had such a fantastic time staying in the Accessible Cabin. It certainly is a great cabin and we have many guests comment at how spacious and well furnished it is. Our location at Little Beach and Shoal Bay Beach is definitely hard to beat. Thanks for sharing your great experience and we hope to have you stay again in the near future,

Best Regards Rebecca Smith (Marketing Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Halifax holiday park with my wife and 8 month child. The park is in a fantastic location at Nelson Bay right on little beach, with our villa adjacent to the beach. The villa was well equipped and very tidy. 1 queen bed and 3 single bunks. We had a port a cot that we set up in the second room with the bunks. Price was reasonable but it was not holiday time and price can double at holiday times. We would be back at Halifax next year

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chippa316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelson Bay
0.4 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#9 of 16 in Nelson Bay
280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#5 of 16 in Nelson Bay
92 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Shoal Bay Holiday Park
Shoal Bay Holiday Park
#6 of 33 in Port Stephens
212 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
540 reviews
3.3 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halifax Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halifax Holiday Park

Address: 5 Beach Rd, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Nelson Bay
Price Range: £22 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Halifax Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halifax Holiday Park is located on a peninsula between two beautiful beaches. Little Beach and Shoal Bay boasts crystal clear water, white sandy shores and gentle waves. The park is a favourite for all boating enthusiasts with an easy access boat ramp, calm waters and an excellent marina nearby. Halifax if the largest and most diverse dive site in Port Stephens therefore Fly Point is a must see with the stunning underwater gardens for scuba divers and snorklers.Just minutes away is the triving business and entertainment hub of the blue water paradise, Nelson Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Halifax Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing