We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a View!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Halifax Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a View!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Had a beautiful cabin with water views. Walking distance to great seafood restaurant,also with water views. Excellent access, wonderful clean rooms, big tv. Even had a possum on our veranda. Great spot!

Room Tip: Ask for water view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RKnispel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    124
    22
    5
    8
See reviews for
129
98
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My family (extended) has been staying at Halifax Holiday Park for the past 30 years and still look forward to every return visit. Perfect location with two beach choices, great for fishing, relaxing, swimming, walking etc.... Walking distance to town centre and many restaurants & bars. Quite flat around the coastline so we enjoy a few klm bike ride along the water. Staff always helpful and friendly, clean amenities, lovely grounds.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

My Father and I only stayed two nights in Nelson Bay. If you enjoy being right on the beach in a self contained 2 bedroom unit this is for you! The holiday park is great for children and is only a short 5min drive to the town centre. The only disappointment was that the second bedroom had bunk beds which was a bit tight for Dad. Make sure you make the short trip to the almost private beach through the holiday park access, it's idyllic!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank KayFiehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing_Manager_OR, Manager at Halifax Holiday Park, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Hi Kay and thanks for your review. It's great to hear that you and your father enjoyed your recent stay at Halifax Holiday Park. Halifax has a long history as the place where families come to stay and spend time catching up with each other. The location is definitely hard to beat. Thanks again Rebecca Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

stayed here for a fishing trip away and could speak higher of the service and location. Didn't want to come home very close to paradise. i will be going back asap. boat ramp next to the park is a1 cleaning tables.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We recently returned from Halifax Holiday park in Port Stephens. Since it was our first time here with kids, we were unsure what to expect but go by the reviews we saw online... To our delight, we had an awesome time here with the kids! What a fantastic holiday park. The staff were all very friendly and attentive from check-in to check-out. It's a safe place with heaps of kids riding their bikes and scooters, it's safe and care-free.
It offers value for money villas (with cooking facilities) and camp sites with communal bathrooms, showers and laundry facilities as well as private access from the Park to Shoal Bay beach. The water is pristine clean with plenty of sea shells for the kids to collect on the beach.

It's close enough to the Marina and shops and a short drive to Salamanda shopping village.

We highly recommend you stay here as we will definitely be returning again in the future with friends and family. Thanks for making our family trip a memorable one Halifax Holiday Park!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Stephens, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed in our camper trailer in the caravan park and found it lovely. It is a great location. It's very clean. It's very secure and you feel safe. The staff are fantastic. We stayed on site 25. It was lovely at the back under the trees. You have direct access to a great beach for kids on one side and a great surf beach on the other. You can visit the boat ramp a few times a day - which we love. You can walk up to the lighthouse. It's a bit of a walk into Nelson bay so we drove. We would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Erinl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maitland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

halifax was a great place to stay although this one guy was kinda bothering me a little, kept stating he was a local and walked around spitting and falling over drunk all night, i woke to a massive spit pile on the side of my cabin, they also cooked non stop for the entire stay, they attracted 95% of the wildlife there with the scraps they left behind, i was also woken at 3am to beer bottles falling over and someone screaming " im an local !! " and " she be right " im not quite sure of there names but they all seemed to call each other " john " great place, crazy people.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelson Bay
0.3 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#4 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shoal Bay Holiday Park
Shoal Bay Holiday Park
#6 of 32 in Port Stephens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Fingal Bay Holiday Park
Fingal Bay Holiday Park
#1 of 2 in Fingal Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
6.3 mi away
Bays Holiday Park
Bays Holiday Park
#6 of 8 in Anna Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
5.3 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Soldiers Point
Ingenia Holidays Soldiers Point
#1 of 2 in Soldiers Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halifax Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halifax Holiday Park

Property: Halifax Holiday Park
Address: 5 Beach Rd, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Nelson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Halifax Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halifax Holiday Park is located on a peninsula between two beautiful beaches. Little Beach and Shoal Bay boasts crystal clear water, white sandy shores and gentle waves. The park is a favourite for all boating enthusiasts with an easy access boat ramp, calm waters and an excellent marina nearby. Halifax if the largest and most diverse dive site in Port Stephens therefore Fly Point is a must see with the stunning underwater gardens for scuba divers and snorklers.Just minutes away is the triving business and entertainment hub of the blue water paradise, Nelson Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Halifax Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing