We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The choice of last minutes reservation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We had stay 2 nights after Boxing Day. Since we decide the stay at Nelson Bay around end of October, we tried to search hotel around D'Albora Marina. Only this hotel available at the planned date. Go back to the hotel, room is large, 5 minutes walks to D'Albora Marina and Sydney express coach bus stop at the front of hotel. Our room at ground floor, shower water quiet slow, air conditioner were very noisy, bed too soft, and the bathroom seem well consider the access by elder person and disability access. And a 4cm size cockroach appear in the room at 2nd night.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Aldous A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
There are newer reviews for Port Stephens Marina Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

127 - 133 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

Stayed l night on Australian tour..booked through GoWay.com. A person would surmise that a company as large as GoWay would review the accomodations that they recommend...our unit had stained carpets, bath tub and tile had grout missing. Supposedly a first class accommodation...this facility is adjacent to a marina, boat owners have access to facilities i.e use of hot tub (Teenagers beer swilling, profane language) they were asked to leave by hotel staff and did so.....also at this time of the year there were hundreds of bush flies in the area...which took some getting used to...I've read some reviews of this property it must have changed owners...does not appear to be getting better...stay some where else..

Room Tip: Corner units are quite large and overlook the Marina
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapitanVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed at the Marina Resort for one night only.

+ Positive
Only 10 minutes walk to marina and close to town and shops
Ample parking
Room reasonable size
General facilities adequate

- Negative
Building and grounds very tired and lacking care
Room not clean, we found 3 dead cockroaches on carpet and in bathroom
Sand still on towelrail in bathroom
Very dusty, room appears to not have been cleaned in a long time
Aircon noisy and very badly positioned behind curtains
Beds desperately requiring new mattresses, worn out and uncomfortable, poor nights sleep
No glasses in bathroom.

Summary
It is a great shame that this place is in a run down condition. It would not take too much to turn this into a 3 star motel. However as a result of the number of negatives we experienced we can only give this a 2 star at best. Not worth the money in it's present condition.

Room Tip: We forgot to read the reviews as we were in a hurry. Allways read the reviews first.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed at the Marina Resort, Nelson Bay. Large enough room. The linen was not the cleanest and the blankets were very old. Beds were as hard as. The main complaint was the amount of dust. I could put up the the Reject shop furniture, but for the love of God, it wouldnt hurt to dust it. Very basic, they didn't even have the plastic folders in the rooms - the ones that let you know reception times, about the dining room etc. Didn't even have the small packets of complimentary biscuits. At $148 per night on a Sunday (off season) - tell them they are dreamin'. Do not recommend and needless to say, will not stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We chose this hotel for its proximity to the harbour as we were mainly there for whale cruise. but we found the hotel very comfortable. Room was big and comfortable for 3 adults and a child. Breakfast was just decent. Since we stayed just for one night we didnt get to enjoy the other facilities of the hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the higher floor to get a fantastic view of the bay
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PSPuvacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Our stay was very comfortable - second floor room with the views were beautiful. The room was very spacious, clean and well equipped. The kids had a lot of fun at the pools outside and plenty of room to run around.

The staff were friendly and courteous and willing to help. The buffet breakfast was good value. We enjoyed our stay and would certainly love to come back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Our experience with this hotel started prior to actually turning up. My partner had booked the stay online where it listed pay on arrival. However a rude phone call to her 3 days out of the stay to demand payment otherwise the booking would be canceled, so unhappily we did.
On arrival the hotel was seemingly empty, and quite imposing from the outside due to its stark brick facade straight from 1990. This made me wonder if the call was in desperation to actually secure a reservation.
We were given a room on the 3rd floor, the view was nice as it overlooked the marina, and come night we could see all the tiny lights on the water. The room itself was much like the outside, stark brick, with dark wood and features, the bathroom was much the same with a spa tub which would be lucky to fit half a smurf in it. The room was relatively clean, the bathroom was not, and needed to be mopped on the tiles as I could see the scudge around the wall, and water stain on the flat surfaces.
Location-wise it is less than 5 minutes to the marina or main streets.
I would only recommend this place if you were only stopping over on your way to somewhere else and were going to look at it with dim lighting.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kindros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelson Bay
0.3 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
558 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#5 of 16 in Nelson Bay
86 reviews
0.7 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#10 of 16 in Nelson Bay
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
150 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
519 reviews
2.4 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Stephens Marina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Stephens Marina Resort

Address: 33 Magnus St, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Price Range: £56 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Port Stephens Marina Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marina Resort is a great place to stay while you explore Port Stephens. Marina Resort is well located in the heart of beautiful Port Stephens overlooking Nelson Bay Marina. A short 5m walk to the Dolphin & Whale Watch Cruises in the Marina, Cafes & Beach. Marina Resort is conveniently located near all of Port Stephens major tourist attractions. Our recently refurbished 44 room hotel offer spacious comfort with great views of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Port Stephens Marina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Stephens Marina Hotel Nelson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing