We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Canceling stay man was rude on phone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Canceling stay man was rude on phone”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I spoke with a man at this hotel he said this is a recording it wasnt a recording he hung up in my ear very poor wont stay there i just wanted to cancel the booking great service [not]so so very rude now i know not to stay here

Room Tip: Dont stay here
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Penny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    49
    70
    39
    23
See reviews for
55
73
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile



We booked the only room available (and possible the only reasonably priced hotel available in Nelson Bay) as it was a last minute decision to get away for a night on Valentines Day. We were pleasantly surprised, the room was tidy. We were on 4th floor snacking on dips, cheese and crackers with champagne and a great view of the harbour.

If you plan on snacking and having a few drinks, a tip would be to bring plates, wine glasses, cutlery.

We didn't use the pool, but we did use the spa and it was relaxing and clean.

Everything is within walking distance
We didn't have dinner or the all you can eat breakfast in the hotel as we had prior reservations, although it was tempting walking past, it smelt so good.

We had a great time and we would come back for sure.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlelilies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed at the Marina Resort this January for 3 nights. Having stayed here as a couple a few years ago we were aware that the hotel was slightly dated. Back in its 'day' this hotel would have been resort quality but today, I think it probably surprises a few people when they arrive. To start with the positives, the car park is easy to park in and there was no trouble finding a space in what is a peak period. The view from the room (4th floor) overlooking the marina is lovely and is definitely the one thing that is a positive about this hotel. We stayed in a one bedroom suite and enjoyed the fact that there were two separate rooms. Both areas were spacious and contained a queen size bed and a flat screen TV. Our two school aged children shared a bed and it was great to be able to contain them to the isolated room with their own TV. My husband and I enjoyed the main room looking out over the marina. The hotel is a very short walk from the local shops and to the marina. Unfortunately there are a few negatives about the hotel.... As well as it needing a renovation, the hotel is generally very uncared for. It was very clean on the inside, but there was rubbish in the carpark and pool area. There were weeds everywhere between paving bricks and also around the pool. The pool and spa itself were very clean. The curtains had rips in them, the glass sliding door had a crack in it and the screen door didn't roll properly, and the tap in the bathroom had come out of its socket. My husband tried the restaurant for breakfast and found everything quite dry. We were pleased that we didn't pay the high price for all four of us to eat. It seems to me that a lot of these issues may just come down to the fact that the owner doesn't have the money to repair issues or employ further staff on a regular basis to maintain the property. However, as mentioned, apart from the rundown nature of the hotel it was clean and had a great view. If you are able to overlook all of the above you'll have a pleasant and clean stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cagayan de Oro, Philippines
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Free from aIr and water pollution per my visual observation. A beautiful place for business and recreation, for sure, it's one of the best local and foreign tourists destination. There are hotels to choose from nearby the d'Albora Marinas and restaurants within the shoreline. Also, there's a playground for the kids, a picnic area and parking lot surrounded by several shade trees. Personally, I enjoyed strolling around looking at the pelicans, the seagulls, the speedboats, yachts, ships, the beautiful scenery of the land and sea. Just in time while there, we're able to see the acrobatic sailboat and the great couple's earlier show. We did not check-in hotel because my host family's residence distance is less than an hour drive only.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Elm5315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

I had 2 nights here,sharing with an elder relative so asked for a ground floor room. The "resort" has been around for quite a while and badly needs an upgrade but the rooms are a great size, including the bathroom. It was good opening out to the garden even though we didn't have a water view and the staff were excellent. It's very close to town which is a plus. There's a restaurant there although we didn't go there.

Nelson Bay is a wonderful area with beautiful beaches (bay and beach) so I suggest you take the time to look around the area, especially Boat Harbour and Bilugi beach. The best coffee is at Aquablu at the marina.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cessnock
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here a few weeks ago. Staff were great and stayed back as we were running extremely late! Downsides are the building needs some work, lots of noise from down stairs ( we stayed in the third floor), air con is loud, nothing like the pictures! Still for $208 a night in peak period it was decent enough!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biancasienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Very disappointed the building looked very dodgy driving into the grounds if we hadn't prepaid we would've kept driving. Long black hair in the shower was a complete gag experience! Beds were comfortable though, aircon noisy. I was surprised how worn out the place is as I'm normally research everything before final selection but was fooled by the photos.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hapee0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nelson Bay hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson Bay hotels
0.7 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.7 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#10 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#4 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Stephens Marina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Stephens Marina Resort

Property: Port Stephens Marina Resort
Address: 33 Magnus St, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Port Stephens Marina Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marina Resort is a great place to stay while you explore Port Stephens. Marina Resort is well located in the heart of beautiful Port Stephens overlooking Nelson Bay Marina. A short 5m walk to the Dolphin & Whale Watch Cruises in the Marina, Cafes & Beach. Marina Resort is conveniently located near all of Port Stephens major tourist attractions. Our recently refurbished 44 room hotel offer spacious comfort with great views of the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Port Stephens Marina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Stephens Marina Hotel Nelson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing