We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sitting at the top of the 'Bay watchin the clouds rolling away!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Landmark Nelson Bay
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Sitting at the top of the 'Bay watchin the clouds rolling away!”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Stayed on the fifth floor penthouse 2 bedroom apartment, excellent views and a very handy stroll to the Marina and town centre. So many options for dining it's hard to choose. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    127
    86
    35
    28
See reviews for
77
163
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney. Australia
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

The Landmark is in a handy position just out of the center of town.For golfers this is a great spot as it is a short walk to the Golf Club.Also a very short walk to the Bowling Club and a bit further takes you right into the shopping district of Nelson Bay, with restaurants etc.
The staff are very friendly and helpful.There is a heated swimming pool and a small games room. The only downside is that this hotel is looking a bit tired .

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Advicetogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

The iron did not work and then I noticed that the cable was frayed, not too safe. Called the front desk and was put through to an answering service who informed me that there was no manager available and that I should go knocking on doors to see if I could borrow an iron.

The room was not vacuumed properly and my wife ended up with a nasty piece of glass embedded in her foot. Lots of blood. Called front desk again for a first aid kit, nobody available.

At checkout, I was assured that someone should have been available to help out with the iron and the first aid kit. I was also told that a manager would call to sort things out... still waiting...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RubbaChikin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nelson Bay hotels

Kurrajong Heights, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012 via mobile

Just back from yet another long weekend with the family at our favourite place We purchased a heap of discount vouchers early last year and have stayed here at least 6 or 7 times. We were surprised that all the apartments, reception and facilities appear to have been upgraded in the past couple of months. The steam room is now operational and quite impressive. The furniture was brand new in our apartment and, although the second apartment had yet to be upgraded we did notice several lounge suites being replaced throughout the resort during our stay. The views from the rooms is what sets this resort apart with sweeping vistas over the bay to Teagardens which we never tire of. Just great to sit on the balcony with a glass of wine and a good book. Staff are courteous and attentive, parking is included in the price and there is a bowling club and golf club right next door. Perfect!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank coljanford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Just got back from 2 night stay.Booked on Landmark website.Check in took less than 5 mins and staff very friendly.Stayed in a 1 bedroom apt(305) which was clean and tidy with natural wear and tear,few scuffs etc on walls but didnt go there to look at the walls!!! Yes we had to wash things before we left but this can take some time to do as my wife has been a housekeeper for a few resorts,hence the charge but this is standard in appartments we have stayed.No bugs ,roaches etc.Had lunch and dinner at bluewater grill at golf club next door(see review).Will return again.oh and got a great deal on the website.

Room Tip: Request water views 3rd floor or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank glen970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcliffe, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We stayed here in March 2012 and enjoyed the locale and amenities. We had a 1 bedroom apartment with a view across the pool to Nelsons Bay. The apartment had a good size TV, lounge, kitchenette, 2 way bathroom and a good size bedroom. There is plenty of car parking and the best of all is it's only a short walk to Nelson Bay town centre and marina and an even shorter walk to the golf club on 1 side and the bowls club on the other - both properties adjoin The Landmark. The fire alarm going off at 3am forcing evacuation was a bit of a bummer but it was a false alarm and that can happen anywhere. A couple of the staff at the front desk acted a little disinterested and seemed to be just going through the motions but none were rude. We would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wynnuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We had a wonderful 5 days at the landmark resort. Views were amazing, room was relaxing, the staff were very helpful. We will defitnley retun. The only bad experience we had was at AJ'S RESTAURANT 1st time we went for breaky coffee was stale and bitter, and the food was terrible
So we tried again for dinner to give second chance but was even worse the vegetables were cold, mash potato was so lumpy, the lobster was frozen and chewy and the eye fillet steak was not it was cheap scotch fillet very dry and tuff. We were very disappointed that such a bad restaurant was in a excellent resort

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey Davis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelson Bay
0.1 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
543 reviews
0.4 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#14 of 16 in Nelson Bay
198 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
146 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
508 reviews
2.1 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landmark Nelson Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landmark Nelson Bay

Property: The Landmark Nelson Bay
Address: 61-A Dowling St, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nelson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Landmark Nelson Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Landmark Nelson Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Landmark Nelson Bay Hotel Nelson Bay
Landmark Hotel Nelson Bay
Landmark Nelson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing