We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great View. Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Landmark Nelson Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Landmark Nelson Bay
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Glenning Valley, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great View. Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We went for our anniversary as we love the area.Rooms were of a good size and facilities adequate. The staff were so friendly and helpful.
It is located in a very central position and a short walk to shops and eateries.
The pool is heated and very clean. It has a ramp into it so it is disabled friendly.

Room Tip: As for a north facing room to get the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    125
    81
    35
    28
See reviews for
74
159
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

If you are given this room key give it back and run away. It really is the worst room in the hotel. The room was dingy and dated with a musty smell and certainly did not reflect the standard of the facade of the resort. The view from the room was of the concrete stairwell leading from the car park and the bedroom blinds had to be kept closed as they could be overlooked from ground level. The disinterest by reception staff when told of our disappointment with the room on check out summed up our whole experience during our three night stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JillPW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nelson Bay hotels

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
395 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

This place is in a good location with great views over the bay and located next to the Bowling Club and Golf Club if that's your thing.
Despite it's size and presence it is very basic but fairly good value.
Staff were very friendly on check in and out. Rooms are a good size and pretty well equipped with most things you would need if you were self catering.
The downsides would be the bed was as hard as a rock and the bath amenities were not very pleasant, not an issue of you bring your own I guess.
The overall place was lacking an atmosphere and could do with a bar/cocktail bar/cafe or something similar like a larger common area where people could gather and relax where food and drink would be available throughout the day and not just set times as per the restaurant (which i can't comment on as we didn't eat there)
But overall a good place to stay if you're on a budget and or a family and good location to utilise the clubs next door.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottiehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

we stayed for 3 nights over a very busy weekend but it never seemed busy, the apartment was well equipped with a balcony with great sea views. In the same grounds was a bowling club which you could join daily for free with a good restaurant and other facilities.
Ther were plenty of parking spaces and the front desk staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brianandmarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

This is our 3rd hotel in 3 nights and with no booking in peak time we didn't expect to get a room that was so nice. We enjoyed the room, the view and the man on reception was very nice. We had room 410 which was a 1 bedroom apt. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ILoveNYAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Disappointing is an understatement.
My girlfriend and I recently spent a few nights at the Landmark Resort and were truly horrified by the state of the place.
First of all the hotel isn't cheap and going of the website it offers excellent port views, great service and caters for everybody.
The first room we were given was absolutely filthy with food on the floor, inch thick dust on the lights and fittings, dirt on the walls and a sofa that we both refused to sit on in fear of catching something.
Having discussed this with the management we were moved to another room which offered worse views of the port, however it was of slightly better quality and cleanliness.
Still unhappy we asked if we could stay for that night then get a refund on the other nights we had paid for and move on to somewhere else. Unfortunately they refused to accept this and would not issue a refund.

This whole experience spoilt our visit to Nelson Bay and we would really recommend avoiding this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Whilst it is in a convenient location the hotel is looking a little tired.
We stayed in a 1 bedroom apt whilst our extended family took a 2 bedder a level up. Rooms are spacious and comfy with good amenities. We had a lovely view overlooking the town.
The pool was over crowded and the resort at peak capacity. We found the noise levels of other hotel patrons a little disturbing of an evening. It is a family resort with loads of children so I guess it is to be expected.
We were there for several days during peak NY period and one of the lifts was out of order for the entire stay. Waiting up to 5min to get out of the bldg. Parking is abundant and convenient. Front reception staff are helpful and courteous.
We saw kangaroos around the perimeter every morning and birds came to feed on our balcony.
Best of all the rooms have fully functional kitchens. Eat in and enjoy the views. More importantly you avoid getting ripped off at the many 2nd rate restaurants in Nelson Bay that are priced as though they're on the French Riviera and with Parisian attitudes.
All in all if you get a good rate you won't be disappointed. It's just looking in need of a revamp.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson Bay hotels
1.1 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
1.1 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.4 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#14 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landmark Nelson Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landmark Nelson Bay

Property: The Landmark Nelson Bay
Address: 61-A Dowling St, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nelson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Landmark Nelson Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Landmark Nelson Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Landmark Nelson Bay Hotel Nelson Bay
Landmark Hotel Nelson Bay
Landmark Nelson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing