We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Landmark Nelson Bay
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Spent two nights at Landmark – rooms clean and comfortable. Kitchen small and I don’t think its set up for a long stay if you wanted to cook for a family. Staff were friendly on check in and out. As it was rainy didn’t use any of the other facility . Enjoyed the location - easy walk to shops and marina.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Chipps09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

I had booked this hotel as I was having my wedding reception downstairs at The Landmark.
Upon checking in everything seemed fine, went to the room which was OK.
I had a shower and the bathroom flooded, water was going everywhere and we had to use the towels to mop up the floor as it was so slippery, this was a building fault as there was no shower screen. Rang reception to get fresh towels who advised if we wanted more towels it would come at a cost to us as you only get new towels for a 7 night stay.

In our room there was no actual quilt, just a blanket, which meant that it were cold all night long.

The air con that is in the unit in no where near adequate for the unit to keep either cool or warm.

As this property is getting on in age there seems to be nothing that has ben updated.

To gain access into your unit is via outside, and it is so loud with people running up and down the corridors all night :/

I didn't enjoy my stay here at all, and I am a local to the region.

Upon checking out we found out that there were double charged, this has since been fixed up.

Its a shame as our wedding party had booked so many rooms and everyone had average stays there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank haylee d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed at the landmark hotel 22/6/14 to 25/6/14/ not a bad place to stay very peacfull we were on the 5th floor so we got part ocean veiw lots of birds fly to the balcony for food one really good thing about the place it is self contained so if don't want to eat out you can cook for yourself which would save a lot. the rooms were clean and the bed was very comfortable
And the price for three nights was very reasonable

Room Tip: 5th floor part ocean views king beds which were comphy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcguff2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The Landmark Resort is now 11 years old and getting very tired. Whilst most of the rooms are now refurbished, those done 3 to 5 years ago are already looking very old and worn. Due to its age, things in the Landmark are constantly breaking down: the pool heater, the sauna, hotplates in the kitchens, air conditioners, dishwashers...you name it…it's breaking down. The place is also incredibly noisy. The walls and concrete floors are very thin allowing all sorts of noise to travel between floors and rooms next door. When someone turns on their air conditioner it rumbles through the building and drives you made. If they move their balcony furniture it almost sounds like an earthquake in the apartments below. Then there are the occasional noisy patrons of the Bowling club out front late at night. And if that's not enough, guests of the Landmark are allowed to be as noisy as they like since there is nobody on duty managing the place after 5pm. Then you have guests arriving very late or leaving very early chatting and carting noisy trollies up and down the external balcony that runs right outside the bedrooms OMG! Please just let me have a good night’s sleep. During the day you must put up with noisy guests around the pool and the noisy spa pumps all around the pool. Away from the pool you suffer from a lack of water views...instead you have a view of the car park and the gum trees. Is that what you expected? Unfortunately there is a constant feeling of in inconsistency about The Landmark as reflected in all these reviews: The quality, presentation and cleanliness of rooms are inconsistent...some good, some bad. Some have ugly scuff marks all over the walls and dirty old furniture. (BTW the cleaners NEVER clean the walls) others cleaner and newer. I have even seen guests take cats and dogs into these units…bad luck if you are the next guest! There are no ovens or grillers in the kitchens…just a microwave and cooktop. And there is NOT one BBQ in the complex….Unbelievable! Stay away from the premium priced penthouse units on the top floor outside Winter as they are just hot boxes with huge glass walls facing directly into the hot north sun however with no windows to open and cool the place down...no way! Rooms with a spa bath appear an attraction at first until you realize that you must also shower inside the bath tub with water and soap suds going all over the bathroom floor….somewhat unsafe and inconvenient indeed! Prices are hugely inconsistent too: Most expensive over the counter and via their website but significantly cheaper via Sunseeker Holidays (seeoz.com.au), OceanRoad holidays (oceanroadholidays.com) and even Scoopon. THAT'S A BIG HINT IF YOU MUST!!!

Room Tip: Check oceanroadholidays.com for the best deals, You could do better then staying at the Landmark. Oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amayzingone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The hotel is well located close to Nelson Bay Golf Club and downtown Nelson Bay and Marina area.
The one bedroom apartment style rooms are well laid out however if you intend on cooking in house the make sure you bring your favourite kitchen utensils as the range is very limited
The in house breakfast is below standard, acceptable if you are pushed for time otherwise best have breakfast in the town centre a five minute walk away

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charsal_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed with 2 friends in a 2br apartment and it was great. Handy to everything. Clean. Pool is large with a 'beach' area which would be great for little kids.
We loved the on site AJs restaurant for breakfast and dinner. Owners are funny and friendly, terrific service and the food was wonderful.
Close to clubs and local shops.
Would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room up high so you get a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeborahG2321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

It was easy to find and stands atop a hill, giving a nice impression as you drive up the driveway. There was plenty of parking in front and behind the resort, we parked in front as you get out of the car and turn around you look over the bay to the beautiful waterviews.

The reception was staff was very friendly. Account is settled upfront and we were given a brief introduction and the keys to our waterview 1 bedroom apartment, room 205.

Lifts were quick (slow lifts are a pet hate) and we entered via security door, then the apartment door to a long corridor. Bedroom was on the right, followed by a bathroom with shower and spa bath, then a small kitchen but good facilities – full fridge, half size dishwasher, 2 hot plates, microwave, cutlery and crockery and tea / coffee making facilities.

The kitchen opened onto a small dining table with 4 chairs, a comfy looking lounge, coffee table, flat screen TV and a great sized balcony overlooking the hotel pool, neighbouring bowing club and then the bay views. Perfect place to read in the sun or have your morning coffee (of which I did both!). The apartments are serviced weekly which is no problem for us, only staying the 2 nights.

Down off the hotel lobby there was nice couch area in a glass panelled room off the pool area. Would be a great place to sit on a windy or cool day and enjoy the sun through the windows or work in comfort. There were also some foozball tables and next room along was a games room with kids arcade games, followed by change rooms for the pool, and a sauna which unfortunately wasn’t working while we were there.

The outside pool was a heated at a nice 27 degrees so usable all year round and had shallow areas for kids and a spa down the end. Surrounded by deck chairs with umbrellas and pretty much in the sun all day long thanks to its north facing aspect on top of the hill, a perfect place to relax on this unseasonable warm late autumn day.

Good variety of food options here which is always important to me! AJ’s restaurant is part of the hotel and offers a $12 breakfast buffet. The bowling club is also conveniently located in front of the resort and good for cheaper drinks and a nice bistro dinner (delicious chili and prawn linguini which was way too big but I ate it anyway and washed it down with two glasses of an excellent Verdelho).

The main town centre and the fashionable d’Albora Marinas are just a 5 minute walk from the hotel, where there are plenty of cafes, restaurants, shops and things to do – an old school independent cinema, fish-feeding at the bay, pelicans, a kids playground, a beautiful foreshore to walk along and fantasise about owning one of flashy yachts or boats moored along the marina.

HIGHLIGHTS
- location of resort, all day views of the bay, but quiet and away from the main drag
- all day sunshine, very important to the sun lovers out there, especially ones missing summer like me
- d’Albora Marinas at sunset
- friendly service

LOWLIGHTS
- LOUD garbage shute nearby and even though the hotel has time restrictions for usage, guests checking out early on Sunday morning ignored the times and made a racket, not fun waking up at 6am to crashing bottles and garbage repeatedly on a Sunday
- waterview apartment balcony was bliss, except for when there were lots of kids in the pool below, got a bit noisy for relaxing, especially when the pool spa was turned on

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ms_akasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelson Bay
0.2 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#4 of 16 in Nelson Bay
600 reviews
1.1 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#5 of 16 in Nelson Bay
98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#12 of 16 in Nelson Bay
212 reviews
2.1 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landmark Nelson Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landmark Nelson Bay

Address: 61-A Dowling St, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nelson Bay
Price Range: £70 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Landmark Nelson Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Landmark Nelson Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Landmark Nelson Bay Hotel Nelson Bay
Landmark Hotel Nelson Bay
Landmark Nelson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing