We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big Breakfast - no it's HUGE”

The Little Nel Cafe
Ranked #2 of 89 Restaurants in Nelson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$19
Cuisines: Australian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A leafy cafe popular with the locals, just off the main street and worth searching out for the best coffee in town.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Big Breakfast - no it's HUGE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I've eaten here before as we stay at The Nelson as the cheaper choice of comfortable places. The Little Nel is part of The Nelson Resort, in fact it's right there as you walk through reception.

I was hungry and I certainly needed to be to finish the big breakfast of 2 eggs (your way), lashings of bacon, grilled tomato, 2 locally made pork sausages, excellent house-made baked beans, hashbrown and mushrooms and toasted sourdough or a choice of breads. $20 is a bargain and I really struggled to fit in the last mouthful.

Perfect poached eggs and the best baked beans I've ever eaten.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BadManners_61168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    159
    26
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nelson Bay, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Intelligent menu, Well thought out layout & pleasant service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

There has obviously been quite a lot of thought put into this cafe. My salad was very generous & had flavour & I liked the diversity of seating options.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Just Great!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Great food - love the pesto eggs..... great atmos, frequented by the locals (always a good sign) and great value!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank stevemaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Deeeelicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Visited on recommendation of a friend who lives locally- otherwise we would never have known it was there. Glad to say we were not disappointed, in fact we were impressed! Friendly and helpful staff. Food was delicious (those mushrooms!) and I'm tempted to go back again tomorrow before we leave town. Good coffee and lovely sunny position. Worth the walk up the hill!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lozza428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

The cafe is actually part of the Nelson Hotel. The sign leading to it wasn't very clear and it took a while for us to find it. But the search was worth it. We each ordered the big breakfast. The portion was huge and very tasty. In fact it was too much for us that we couldn't finish it, which was a shame.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CLin62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Little Nel Cafe also viewed

Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 

Been to The Little Nel Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing