We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner! ”
Review of Watercress - CLOSED

Watercress
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$32
Cuisines: French, Italian, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Watercress offers Modern Australian food in a relaxed blend of casual dining in the heart of Nelson Bay. Fully Licenced with seating for up to 84 guests in the main dining room, guests also have the option to eat al fresco in the Courtyard or enjoy the privacy of the intimate Private Dining Room for groups of up to 12 people. Small functions and group bookings are welcome.
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Had a great dinner at Watercress last night with the family. We asked for our kids to share the two course special... It was not a problem and they loved it and we really enjoyed our meals too, service was nice also! Well recommend !!

Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S, Manager at Watercress, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Children are welcome! I think it is a great way to help develop and socialise our younger generation. While we don't have a specific children's menu we are always to happy to put something together for our next generation of diners. And, we are glad you enjoyed your dinner as well - of course!

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, Cheers Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 71 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

visited in the evening whilst on holiday in Nelson Bay. short menu which is well thought out and well made. balanced food which doesn't blow you away but hits the spot for a good quality night out. a little pricey, and the restaurant could do with a little refresh in places but the great service more than made up for it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jmillw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S, Manager at Watercress, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Hello and Thank You - we love it when the effort it takes to put a balanced menu of good food together is recognised and appreciated. We know it takes that extra effort and time to leave a review so - thank you!
If you notice something that needs attention in the restaurant feel free to tell a member of staff. That extra set of eyes can often pick up something we have missed and we would be grateful being told about it. If you can give us a call so we can follow up on it. Many thanks Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I ate here with my husband and highly recommend it.

We were very impressed with the quality of food. Portion sizes were perfect and every dish we ordered was tasty and well presented.

The service was excellent as was the general décor of the restaurant.

We will definitely be back next time we're in town.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mikaila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S, Manager at Watercress, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you! We appreciate everyone who is braving the current cold snap to come and eat out with us, hopefully the food is warm and hearty enough to make it well worth while. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Cheers Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

After arriving in Nelson Bay after an 8 hour drive, I was ready for an early meal. The waitress seated me (about 10 mins) before the designated 6pm opening . I really appreciated that.
The beef brisket ($32) was superbly done, but could have done with ever so slightly more (in volume) vegetables.
Wine was $10 a glass.
They even gave me a complimentary slice of their fantastic bread to soak up the brisket juices.

If you seek out quality produce, that is then well prepared , you wont be disappointed here !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank davlynski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S, Manager at Watercress, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Lovely to hear that you liked our food and the experience of dining with us. We try to meet all our guests needs to the best of our ability. We look forward to seeing you again in Nelson Bay.

Cheers Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We decided to dine at this restaurant which promotes fine dining and modern cuisine and were certainly not disappointed.

Both the quality and quantity (including presentation) of all dishes was first class, with the service being both friendly and efficient.

In addition, the ambience within the restaurant was beautiful with a combination of the pleasant aroma of scented candles near the entrance, relaxing background music and appropriate lighting.

All in all, my wife and I had a very enjoyable experience and would strongly recommend the Watercress Restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bowoodforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S, Manager at Watercress, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you - we enjoy receiving all constructive feedback but especially the pats on the back :-). We hope to see you again and look forward to thanking you in person.

Cheers Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Watercress also viewed

Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing