We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Port Stephens Motel
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Won't stay here again”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

No servicing if room with our 3night stay , so no fresh towels , wifi does not work , bad traffic noise, mould in the shower , hot breakfast was cold when delivered , no cover over food. Tom is a nice man but that does not excuse poor service

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    34
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
19
51
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

We drove from Sydney to this hotel and arrived at midnight last night. Despite assurances that the owner would leave the keys in a box near reception for us, there were no keys. We tried calling him numerous times but he did not answer. There were no other available hotels in the Nelson Bay region due to it being a long weekend. With two tired and screaming kids in the back seat of the car, we reluctantly had to drive 3 hours back to Sydney.
The owner and this hotel ruined our long weekend.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed there for one night, Tom the host was very accommodating with every request. The rooms are a good size and exceptionally clean. Well situated away from the hustle and bustle but only a short stroll away

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank graham8016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed here for one night when visiting Nelson Bay two years ago & were so delighted with this nice little motel that we have returned again. Tom, the Proprietor is truly one of the friendliest & most helpful person we have encountered in our travels. Well done Tom! You are a "Gem". We were really impressed with the cleanliness of the rooms which we are very fussy with. We had a room with one queen bed & one single bed & having a little kitchenette is handy to have breakfast in your room which also contained a small table & two chairs. Our room was facing the street with a small balcony but street noise was not a problem.The motel is not in the centre of town which is fantastic ( away from all the noise ) yet only a short walk to the Marina or town. Beds were comfortable & TV was a large flat screen. Anything you want or forgot to bring then just ask Tom & he will go to great lengths to help you out.Undercover parking for all rooms. Good value for money & we will return next year.

Room Tip: Probably rooms facing the park would be quieter than the ones facing the street although we were not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
148 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We booked three rooms at the motor lodge, very well located for restaurants etc. the accommodation is fine just what we wanted for our overnight stay. Tom catered for our needs and gave the young adults their own room rather than an extra bed to make a family room, nice touch. Tom is the perfect host and we had a long chat about Trip Advisor and how people us it. Sure Tom will be more pro active from now on. Basically he went the extra mile helping out with a crisis we had four hours drive away, he had no need to help but did and our thanks go out to him. If you want a friendly welcome with a good very clean room then don't hesitate to stay here. Merry Christmas Tom

Room Tip: All three rooms we had were the same, clean and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BlackpoolWillows2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyong, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We found this motel to have very clean rooms though a bit dated, comfortable bed and a 10 minute walk into town or the marina. The host was very pleasant and friendly and gave us a good deal when we asked if we could stay an extra night. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank car0usel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The friendly staff made us feel very welcome, and obviously care about this motel as there were nice decorate touches in the rooms. The rooms were a bit run down, but clean, and had nice balconies overlooking the park next door. Its' in a great location close to the beach.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ninoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#13 of 16 in Nelson Bay
194 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
83 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#4 of 16 in Nelson Bay
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#10 of 16 in Nelson Bay
255 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
144 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Stephens Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Stephens Motel

Property: Port Stephens Motel
Address: 44 Magnus St | Corner of Fingal Street, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Port Stephens Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Stephens Motel (previously Motor Lodge) is located in a cool, shady parkland setting and is a short stroll through the adjoining park to the beach across the road. The marina, shops, restaurants and local attractions are within walking distance also. Let us provide for you an enjoyable, affordable and comfortable holiday or stop-over that you will remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Port Stephens Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Port Stephens Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing