We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Get-away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Mudgee, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Birthday Get-away”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My partner and I stayed at Beaches from 10-13 February 2014 and loved it! I guess the time of year and time of the week meant that there were fewer and older guests and it would perhaps get noisy with loads of kids banging up and down the stairs between the units during school holidays, plus the pool seems full with only two people in it, but then the beach is just down the road. We didn't see any cockroaches, everything worked perfectly and was clean and well-appointed. One of the other reviewers commented that the standard of service is lacking. In some respects I would agree: someone to even point out the direction of your room would be good rather than just handing over the key and the fact that 2 people are supposed to share one face washer was a bit unfortunate, but these are things which are easily fixed for the future and won't stop me going back. The proximity to Little Beach and Shoal Bay is great - we walked to both. Overall, a tiny 4-star oasis of the main road.

Room Tip: Choose a top floor room. The courtyard rooms have some privacy, but not much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheJudester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    42
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
25
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

A great self set of self contained units with its outdoor pool right in front of your eyes. Very cosy place with self contained features the best I've seen. Kitchen fully equipped and internal laundry provided. Great for family with kids. Close to nelson bay shops and local beaches, can either walk to beach or drive. Reasonably priced. Beaches is really a home away from home.

Room Tip: Rooms facing pool area are best suited to easy supervision with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Nelson Bay and it was a mixed experience. The folks at the reception were friendly and responsive. The unit was spacious and well provisioned. However, there were a umber of dead cockroaches that we cam across in various parts of the unit.

We informed the receptionist of the same, and she said that the she would come by and take a look. They were not able to relocate us as they were full up. She did come by, but we had turned in by then and were checking out the following day so asked her not to bother as the roachies were dead anyway.

Nothing much else of note as far as experiences go. We did agree to look at other options when we return to Nelson Bay. There is definitely better on offer at the same tariff range.

Room Tip: Any unit away from the main road and the children's park nearby will be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chatur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachesNB12, Manager at Beaches Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Guest, Firstly I am glad you enjoyed your stay. The units get professionally sprayed twice a year for cockroaches. cockroaches are a part of life up here as we are built on sand. The little buggers also can fly in. I provide free of charge fly spray in all units, and by getting them sprayed we try our very best to keep them to a minimum. As you found them dead we can confirm what we are doing is working.. Also the extreme heat can bring them out. As you said the units are very well provisioned and we provide free wifi and a free DVD library as we like our guests to enjoy themselves. I do not feel this average review has been warranted. Kind regards Kym
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The place is modern, spacious and has air conditioning. Bathroom is huge, but with very slippery floor. Location is fine if you want to visit Little beach - 5 min walk, about 20 mins walk to CBD of Port Stephens. Pool is great for kids, but you will hardly move there if you are an adult. Unfortunately the disappointment is the service: we got 1 face towel and 1 hand towel for 2 people(is this 4 stars service???), the kettle was very old and trashy, the wall near toilet paper was in brown thingerprints and left me wonder what was it, chairs on the balcony were in black mould and spider webs, wi-fi worked from time to time, tv had some stuck channels. Owners didn't show us directions where to find our apartment and there are hardly any signs if you don't know in advance. It was not crowded when we arrived, so little help for customers and a little more value for your personal service would be great. I don't think we'll go back. We'll look for better places in future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mashenika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachesNB12, Manager at Beaches Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Guest, We try our very best with all of our guests, we provide all the little extras to make your stay more enjoyable. We always explain where unit is located, and there are 2 signs up showing locations as we only are a small complex, unfortunately you must have missed them. I am sorry you feel our service was not up to scratch, at busy times we do try to accommodate everybody but sometimes things can be overlooked. If you required an additional hand towel etc it would have been provided had you advised housekeeping. We want all our of guests to leave us with a memorable experience.If you visit the area next time we would love to see you again. Cheers Kym
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter Valley, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

thanks Kym, your hospitality was delightful. Your accomodation was clean, fresh and comfortable. You go out of your way with something that comes natural, a smile and friendiness. You have customer service and it is why we will be back....the kids loved the pool. and we could relax and have a drink and watch them...Maybe next time will do the bbq, but the club, Diggers is around the corner and up 50 metres,,,it was perfect and food delicious....we were only there for fri n sat, it was not long enough.....we also got the package that added a dophlin cruise....9.30am at the marina. Perfect...what a day ...so you cant go past this accomodation when heading to the bay...go the serviced app. rather than a hotel...kids could get free dvds on arrival, gives you time to unpack....we were the only family at time and we didnt bother anyone, others were friends and couples.....thanks again Kym, we will be back....great price also.

Room Tip: we were in the 2 bedroom front unit down stairs, near pool and very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 22jenny22_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachesNB12, Manager at Beaches Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
HI Jenny, Great to get such good feedback, we really try to provide a home away from home. The kids sound like they had a good holiday. Kind regards Kym
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed at the Coconut apartment, managed by beaches serviced apartments, which is actually the second floor unit of a house. The owners lives downstairs and we've met the lady owner who was cleaning the unit for us before our arrival. She was lovely, really friendly and very helpful.

The apartment was spacious, very clean and well equipped with dishwasher, oven, microwave. It was a 3-5 minute walk to little beach, a small beach which was adequate for the kids. It was about a 15 minute walk to

The only complaints were that the toilet door could not be locked and the walls were very thin. So we had to be mindful to be really quiet in the living room if the kids were asleep in the bedrooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Proudnewparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay of Plenty
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Comfortable accommodation, nice setting with palm trees and pool.

There is a small community hall next door. We had live music one night till around 8pm.

Close walk to Club for dinners. Kitchen with large fridge.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson Bay hotels
1.0 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#4 of 16 in Nelson Bay
538 reviews
0.7 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#13 of 16 in Nelson Bay
195 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#10 of 16 in Nelson Bay
255 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
502 reviews
0.2 mi away
Martys at Little Beach
Martys at Little Beach
#1 of 16 in Nelson Bay
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaches Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaches Serviced Apartments

Property: Beaches Serviced Apartments
Address: 12 Gowrie Ave, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Beaches Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small intimate complex of 1, 2 or 3 bedroom self catering apartments. Enjoy our salt water solar heated pool set amongst tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Beaches Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing