We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needs a little work”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
East Maitland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“needs a little work”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

the breakfast was dreadful, our room didnt get serviced on our second day & the attitude of the female owner wasnt at all polite, will not go there again, no designated parking & not for the disabled, lots stairs, the pool was a great area with families having a wonderful time

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    113
    44
    27
    27
See reviews for
83
112
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here many times, and am impressed at the hard work that's been put into the motel, gardens, restuarant , bar and menus.. From the recent managers, and huge clean up, that had been unattended for quite a while, over a year or more.. New curtains in the rooms make a world of difference..
And once the busy period is over more looks to be done..

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nineteen72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here a year ago at the same time over Xmas break & were pleasantly impressed with the service & standard of our room.
This year however under new management & owners it was rather disappointing.
Our room was poorly maintained with no access to the balcony. The bathroom was old and tatty with a huge hole in the bathroom door from a previous visitor.
We also found the service to be lacking in that personal touch we experienced last year. Seemed a lack of pride in the hotel from the new management.
Saying this though if you are after a budget, no frills hostel/motel style accomodation its great value for money.
With a little further care to accommodation & service improvements this place could tempt us to return next year. We will see.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alidews1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePeninsula1, Manager at Peninsula Nelson Bay, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thanks for the feedback Alidews1,
The Peninsula" was" looking very tired and neglected, It is currently going through a transformation to freshen it up. The new management took over from the past managers only a few weeks before your stay, the neglect you saw was the fall out from the previous owner / managers that you had such a good stay with. We are now renovating the older rooms, the restaurant is re opened and the gardens have had the old dead branches removed, fresh mulch placed in them. The lawns have been fertilised and are growing again. I am sure if you return you will see a much improved Peninsula Nelson Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

If you are looking out with a budget stay at nelson bay and wish to make your own food to save some bucks, this is a good place to catch! nothing fancy just simple and sweet with parking space and cooking facilities and most imp v ery close to the beach

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank insidebackpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I was pleasantly surprised with this "Budget" motel, rooms were clean and well maintained. Coffee, tea, milk and a kettle were all supplied in the room. Along with basic toiletries. TV a bit small but had plenty of cable channels including a movies, History ect.

Well located for the Diggers (RSL) Club which has good meals and drinks at great prices. Get a members card especially if you are a Pensioner $5 Full member $12 gets you discounts on drinks (75c) Food $2 :)

Beautiful area and lots of nice beaches and walks.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The receptionist / owner? is very rude, bad attitude. The room is very dirty and very 'smelly'. When we went to the room, we flushed the toilet and found that it did not work properly. We tried to call reception, nobody picked up the phone. There is no internet service. Swimming pool is very dirty. Nobody can help at all. If you live in this accomodation, please prepare to help yourself.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nelson Bay hotels

Mt Druitt NSW
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The Family took a 3 night stay in October 2013. Stayed in a Peninsula palms three bedroom. excellent value for money for a family of 5, accommodation was wonderful very clean, comfortable relaxing and very easy walk across the road to the Main Hotel for a lovely swim in a very well maintained Pool. With very friendly Staff to assist us, I highly recommend. We will stay again. Nelson/Shoal Bay is absolutely beautiful, can't wait till we come again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelson Bay
0.9 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#4 of 16 in Nelson Bay
549 reviews
0.7 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#14 of 16 in Nelson Bay
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
513 reviews
3.1 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,047 reviews
0.3 mi away
Martys at Little Beach
Martys at Little Beach
#1 of 16 in Nelson Bay
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Nelson Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Nelson Bay

Property: Peninsula Nelson Bay
Address: 52 Shoal Bay Rd, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Peninsula Motor Inn)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nelson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Peninsula Nelson Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Ctrip TA and Ebookers so you can book your Peninsula Nelson Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelson Bay Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing