We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and modern accommodation, friendly staff, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Blue Haven, Australia
1 review
“Clean and modern accommodation, friendly staff, great location”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed in a deluxe room for three nights. The furnishings in the room were modern and everything was clean and tidy. The room was serviced daily with the coffee and biscuits replenished which was great. The king size bed was very comfortable and huge and there were extra pillows and blankets in the closet. The staff were very friendly and any requests were attended to immediately. Our room overlooked the road and we were bathed in sunlight for most of the day. The balcony was small but was big enough for a couple of chairs and a bottle of champagne and a cheese plate and was very pleasant on a cold winter's day. A small table out there would have been useful to put our drinks on. We didnt get a chance to eat at the restaurant but the RSL was only a short walk away. The Peninsula is located in a central position and I would not hesitate in staying there again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road get sun in winter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePeninsula1, Manager at Peninsula Nelson Bay, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Good Afternoon Mrs S,

Thankyou for your kind review of Peninsula Nelson Bay!

I am glad you enjoyed our newly renovated Deluxe rooms.

I look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    109
    43
    26
    26
See reviews for
77
107
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Bateau Bay, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

This was a great place to stay for three nights while touring Port Stephens. The rooms were clean and the amenities were good. By replacing the old carpet in the room will make this eve more attractive. The manager and staff were very pleasant and keen to see that our stay was enjoyable. It is an easy walk to the RSL club and a pleasant stroll to either the Marina or Shoal Bay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

standard rate $80 ($10 discount applied being a NRMA member) room clean and comfortable with small balcony over looking pool and near BBQ area. RSL nearby, but we dinned at restaurant at motel had meal deals of two courses for $25 meals were large and great value for money. New chef - restaurant is very popular - best to order early. Staff of motel and restaurant were very friendly and helpful. Would be a ideal motel to have a holiday with family if you are want an affordable holiday at a popular holiday area only 2 1/2 hours by road from Sydney.

Room Tip: Room 106 - was great near all amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casuarina, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed for 1 night in the very old section of the motel across the road. We chose the budget rate of $89 for the night. We didn't expect it to be very 'flash". But we did expect it to be cleN and comfortable, with basic necessities. The pool was empty. The room was clean, but everything was very old and in some cases broken. Bare light bulbs, cracked hand basin, dripping taps, no foxtel(despite being advertised in all rooms), threadbare carpet, missing tiles. Remote control for the very small tv didn't work, so had to swap batteries from the A/c. The bed was a double, with clean sheets, but the springs poked thru. It is obvious that the owners have not spent any money to maintain this section of the motel. When we checked out, I asked if the motel was going to be demolished. The answer was yes!! My advice to all fellow travellers is if choosing to stay, do not choose the old motel across the road!! My message to the owners is, demolish ASAP!

Room Tip: Don't book the budget rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SusieThom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePeninsula1, Manager at Peninsula Nelson Bay, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hi Suzie,

Thank you for your honest review.

I sincerely apologise for the many issues you encountered throughout your stay at Peninsula.
My name is Andrew and I am the new Hotel Manager.
May I kindly ask that you please call the hotel on 02 4981 3666 to speak to myself about the issues in order for me to provide a resolution for yourself.
The issues you mentioned are inconceivable and I would like to make this right for you.

Thank you for your valuable time.

Regards

Andrew
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nelson Bay hotels

St Clair, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Motel was decent, the room was clean and the shower/bathroom was no problem. Owners seemed friendly enough to help us heat our daughters meal for the afternoon as there was no microwave in the standard room we stayed in.

Pool and spa was nice and clean.

Plenty of car parking space provided.

All in all had no issues with the motel or the owners and had a decent stay in Nelsons Bay.

Room Tip: Standard room was very standard but clean, they do have other rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BERGZY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Was just passing through shoal bay and needed a place to stay for two nights at minimal cost. And came along this place. We were not expecting anything to flash, just a place to rest our heads. But in all factors it exceeded our expectations. The rooms are retro. But extremely clean and cosy. Plus there is a bar, restaurant and pool. And easy walking distance to shoal bay and also the RSL. For the price I highly recommend this place

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamBlackhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed at the Peninsula Motel on Australia Day weekend, the rooms were very old and needs updating. We were awakened by the smoke alarm at 6.45am and it took the managers 45mins to turn them off because reception was unattended. Management was very rude and unhospitable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elanaz2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThePeninsula1, Manager at Peninsula Nelson Bay, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for your honest review of Peninsula.

I sincerely apologise for the lack of service you were provided throughout your stay at Peninsula Nelson Bay. My name is Andrew and I am the new manager of the hotel.
Would I kindly request that you please call myself on 02 4981 3666 in order to reach a mutual resolution to the issues you stated.

Thankyou for your time today

Regards

Andrew
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#4 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.7 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#13 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Nelson Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Nelson Bay

Property: Peninsula Nelson Bay
Address: 52 Shoal Bay Rd, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Peninsula Motor Inn)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nelson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Peninsula Nelson Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Peninsula Nelson Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelson Bay Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing