We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for family”
Review of Oaks Lure

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Oaks Lure
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Room was great. Modern and clean. Walk to the shops and the marina (10 minutes). Spacious rooms meant that life was very livable with the three children. Beautiful views across the bay

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJandcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

We are delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay. Oaks Lure hopes to welcome you back again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2012

Some really annoying things about rooms. for example it is modern, but they insist on having decade old crt televisions.

Ok value but dont be fooled by pictures of their best rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

Many thanks for your review of Oaks Lure. When promoting our hotels using imagery, we aim to do so using images that portray the average room or majority of rooms available at the hotel. Where possible we also advise guests that room images are indicative only. However we do sincerely apologise that the room you were allocated was not the standard you were expecting and do hope that you will stay with Oaks Hotels & Resorts again soon to experience the quality apartments for which we are renowned for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Pls do your research before you consider this place.
Service was non attentive. Room was dirty, chocolate stains on the walls and on the tv.
Kitchen was a mess.Our room was not serviced although we specifically requested it, my husband had to empty the rubbish himself, they we unapologetic. We had to pick up the vacuum from reception because our room was in such a state, the list goes on i am disgusted and will be complaining to management.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grace e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2013

Thank you for your feedback with regard to your stay at Oaks Lure Apartments.
I was very concerned with your comments regarding your room and experience with staff during your visit. As communicated with you I have addressed these issues with the appropriate departments to ensure that this does not happen again. Oaks Hotels & Resorts pride themselves with providing the highest of customer service and cleanliness. It is not acceptable for this not to be met. I hope that you will again stay with one of our many properties and allow us the opportunity to provide you with an enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

The apartment itself was great, very clean and very specious, With great views.

Pool area is very small and not enough sitting facilities.
however we were really dissapointed on check in as the service we received on check in was very unprofesional, unfriendly and unhelpfull.

i would definetly recommend staying here it was great, but the service needs improvement..

thanks

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramii r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2013

Thank you so much for your review.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time in Nelson Bay and found our property a pleasant place to stay.
It was pleasing to hear also that your apartment was at a high standard and met your needs.
I have addressed the issue of the lack of service you received upon check-in and do apologise for this. It is not acceptable for any Oaks staff member to be unhelpful or unprofessional.
We thank you for your recommendation to others to stay at our property and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We had booked & paid for our accommodation through a travel agent in September for our family holiday from 27th Dec-1st Jan. I called the day before arrival to query a port-a-cot for our youngest. I didn't even get to ask about a cot as our reservation didn't exist!!! I had a confirmation from our travel agent however, was told that the hotel received the booking but didn't enter it into our system and, being the christmas/new year period they were fully booked and didn't have a room for us. They tried to find alternative accommodation however it wasn't in Nelson Bay, wasn't 2 bedrooms like we booked & didn't have a kitchen! We are 2 adults and 2 children - one of which is disabled and we need to cook her food for her so a kitchen is a non-negotionable. After spending the day back & forth on the phone we were told that they bumped someone else and could accommodate us. The next day 5 mins after getting into our room the power went out and we were told it would be out for another 4hrs. Housekeeping was non existent & service terrible. We were told they don't change the sheets during the stay but they can give you sheets and you can do it yourself. They failed to empty bins (great with nappies!), didn't replace toilet paper and didn't leave enough dishwashing liquid. Wouldn't recommend.

Room Tip: Take your own pillows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Oaks Lure Apartments.
I do sincerly aplogise that there was an error with your booking upon your arrival to our property. I was pleased to hear our staff did whatever they could to help you under these difficult circumstances and ultimately found availability for you and your family at our property. Unfortuntaly the power issue was something that was beyond our control and caused by the main power station within the Port Stephens area. I understand that this is an inconvenience to all but could not be avoided. I do hope that you found all other aspects of your stay to your satisfaction and enjoyed the rest of your stay whilst visiting Nelson Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed here as a group of five people so had to have an extra bed in the main living area. The main bedroom was very big and the second bedroom upstairs was quite a good size too. We had an apartment with garden deck area which was a good place to eat although it did prove noisy with loud neighbours on both sides. The kitchen facilities were adequate but they only provide four of everything! The communal lap pool was really nice although rather busy at times...they also need to make it more obvious that you need to book the BBQ. Summing up I'd definitely recommend this place especially as you can easily walk into the town centre and marina and drive to the beaches further away.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback for your stay at Oaks Lure Apartments.

It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found your apartment and the property facilites to your satisfaction. The courtyard aparments are really good for eating and getting together with friends and family.

We are located in a great spot here in Nelson Bay with everything within walking distance.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to the Oaks Lure Aparments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We rented an Oaks property in Brisbane and are really glad we continued doing so down in the Hunter Valley, NSW.
We have a 1 bedroom apartment which is spacious, clean and well equiped, other than the matress which is a little soft for my liking, but everything cannot be perfect.
Kitchen is good and well equiped for our needs, coin operated laundry in the basement and underground as well as street parking is available for guests.
The one bug bear continues to be internet access in this country....
IT IS NOT INCLUDED IN YOUR STAY AND BUMPS UP COSTS UNNECESSARILY,
guys join the 21st Century and the rest of the world, or start a trend - is does not cost a lot to give your guests access even if you limited it to a couple of hours a day.
Reception closes at 6pm which is a little weird and early, however the area and shops are closed by 5pm.
We managed to just make it to the fish and chips shop in town beofre it closed at 8pm last night, fabulous by the way, coming from the Middle East this is SO early.
We went to Morpeth today and a good 1/3 of it is closed Monday & Tuesday and some of the shops are only open on a weekend!

Room Tip: Bring a dodo modem with you.... internet access as always really overpriced Ask for a room with one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacquiad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2011

We are always happy to hear from repeat customers, and thank you for your feedback. It is great to read that we helped make your time away from the Middle East a memorable.

Your suggestions in relation to the internet connection have been passed onto our General Manager of IT for consideration.

Oaks Lure hopes to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelson Bay
0.2 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
585 reviews
1.2 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#9 of 16 in Nelson Bay
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
158 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#5 of 16 in Nelson Bay
92 reviews
2 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Lure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Lure

Address: 20 Tomaree St, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Nelson Bay
Price Range: £64 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Lure 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Lure Apartments, in beautiful Nelson Bay, is just a short walk to the marina, restaurants and boutiques, golf courses and sporting clubs. Nelson Bay is a delightful town blessed with un-spoilt waterways, natural wonders and a captivating history. Oaks Lure Apartments is the ultimate base to explore the region.Guests can relax in style and comfort at Oaks Lure with hotels rooms, one and two bedroom apartments with generous living spaces that boast full kitchen facilities with microwave and dishwasher. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TravelUp, Oaks Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Oaks Lure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Lure Hotel Nelson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing