We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and a great location but basic accommodation” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oaks Lure

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oaks Lure
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Comfortable and a great location but basic accommodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

We booked this as part of a Groupon deal and we paid about $360 for 3 nights accommodation in a hotel-style room + a free dolphin watching cruise. The deal was great value as the location was great (really close to the main street and marina) and the dolphin cruise was good fun. However, there's not a lot of night life going on in Nelson Bay and as such we would head back to our room after dinner and a few drinks, and it would have been good to have a lovely room to go back to. The bed was comfortable and the room was quite well equipped with a toaster, kettle and small fridge. Probably the only grip we had was that the tv was very small and we didn't have a balcony. It was fine this time around but next time we'd go for an upgrade or choose one of the serviced apartments that have balconies and views of the water.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_fan_aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Thank you for your review of Oaks Lure. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed Groupon deal that you purchased, and hope to welcome you back to one of our Oaks Hotels or Resorts again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    91
    63
    29
    24
See reviews for
78
109
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

We booked this Family suite of 2 separate en-suite bedrooms on two levels with independent access to both bedrooms and a large family room with kitchen & dishwasher. Great for families with independent older children or friends travelling together who want privacy. Agree with comments of old TV and these facilities have aged quickly with evidence of repairs to damaged doors & tables etc. but it was clean, quiet, good a/c and provided everything you needed for a beach holiday. Good lap pool and small secluded garden. Only negatives were that balcony was on street side & the facility is at the top of a hill & a bit too far from beaches if on foot. It is at the outer reaches of Nelson Bay but the town is accessible. Helpful staff but office closes at 6pm.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor apartments & ask for a sea facing balcony as the views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you for your review of Oaks Lure. We are sure that future guests will find it helpful.

Your comments have been passed onto the Hotel Manager. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

After spending 5 hours searching for decent and clean accomodation in Port Stephens we arrived at the reception placing it as the second last accomodation to look for before leaving back to Sydney. The lady at the desk was able to make something up for us! Even though the price was high, $280 per night, being fed up and and observing the apartment beforehand we realised that the steep price was consistent with the obsure prices that you find in all Port Stephens accomodation. The rooms were large, spacious and reasonably clean, excluding the muddy patch found on the carpet.
From there on we encountered many good things:
. Central location
. Friendly staff
. Nice pool area
. Room layout
And some things were not so good:
. Old and small TV's
. Somewhat cold pool, could be tolerated if there was a spa.
. One room faced a busy road
. No wireless internet
. Occasional hair in towel

Overall this is as good as it gets in Nelson Bay and I would probably reccomend it to others.

Room Tip: I would assume that the higher rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZZM242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
We appreciate your review of Oaks Lure. Your comments have been forwarded to the Hotel Manager.

We are happy to have accommodated you while staying in Port Stephens, and look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Oaks Hotels & Resorts properties again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

Room was great. Modern and clean. Walk to the shops and the marina (10 minutes). Spacious rooms meant that life was very livable with the three children. Beautiful views across the bay

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NJandcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
We are delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay. Oaks Lure hopes to welcome you back again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

Some really annoying things about rooms. for example it is modern, but they insist on having decade old crt televisions.

Ok value but dont be fooled by pictures of their best rooms.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markfrostau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Many thanks for your review of Oaks Lure. When promoting our hotels using imagery, we aim to do so using images that portray the average room or majority of rooms available at the hotel. Where possible we also advise guests that room images are indicative only. However we do sincerely apologise that the room you were allocated was not the standard you were expecting and do hope that you will stay with Oaks Hotels & Resorts again soon to experience the quality apartments for which we are renowned for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

Pls do your research before you consider this place.
Service was non attentive. Room was dirty, chocolate stains on the walls and on the tv.
Kitchen was a mess.Our room was not serviced although we specifically requested it, my husband had to empty the rubbish himself, they we unapologetic. We had to pick up the vacuum from reception because our room was in such a state, the list goes on i am disgusted and will be complaining to management.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grace e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review, 13 January 2013
Thank you for your feedback with regard to your stay at Oaks Lure Apartments.
I was very concerned with your comments regarding your room and experience with staff during your visit. As communicated with you I have addressed these issues with the appropriate departments to ensure that this does not happen again. Oaks Hotels & Resorts pride themselves with providing the highest of customer service and cleanliness. It is not acceptable for this not to be met. I hope that you will again stay with one of our many properties and allow us the opportunity to provide you with an enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nelson Bay hotels

Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

The apartment itself was great, very clean and very specious, With great views.

Pool area is very small and not enough sitting facilities.
however we were really dissapointed on check in as the service we received on check in was very unprofesional, unfriendly and unhelpfull.

i would definetly recommend staying here it was great, but the service needs improvement..

thanks

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ramii r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review, 13 January 2013
Thank you so much for your review.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time in Nelson Bay and found our property a pleasant place to stay.
It was pleasing to hear also that your apartment was at a high standard and met your needs.
I have addressed the issue of the lack of service you received upon check-in and do apologise for this. It is not acceptable for any Oaks staff member to be unhelpful or unprofessional.
We thank you for your recommendation to others to stay at our property and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelson Bay
0.3 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#9 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
2.0 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Lure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Lure

Property: Oaks Lure
Address: 20 Tomaree Street, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Nelson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Lure 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Lure Apartments, in beautiful Nelson Bay, is just a short walk to the marina, restaurants and boutiques, golf courses and sporting clubs. Nelson Bay is a delightful town blessed with un-spoilt waterways, natural wonders and a captivating history. Oaks Lure Apartments is the ultimate base to explore the region.Guests can relax in style and comfort at Oaks Lure with hotels rooms, one and two bedroom apartments with generous living spaces that boast full kitchen facilities with microwave and dishwasher. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Oaks Lure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Lure Hotel Nelson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing