We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy with our stay”
Review of Oaks Lure

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oaks Lure
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Happy with our stay”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Booked the two bedroom apartment through hotels.com. Was a little worried initially about the cleanliness of the place from reading the reviews, but found the apartment to be nice and clean when we arrived.

Front desk staff was very accommodating when we requested a late check out.
Bedrooms were quite big, and the apartment came with a nicely equipped kitchen if you want to do your own cooking.

Walking distance to the main areas of Nelson Bay, and Coles Supermarket is just around the corner.

Would be nice if they got rid of the big fat tube TVs with the fuzzy screens and installed flatscreens, but that's only a minor complaint.

Overall very happy with the accommodation.

One word of warning to future stayers: reception is not 24 hours so be sure to notify them if you're arriving late.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you for your recent review of Oaks Lure Apartments.
We appreciate your kind comments regarding your stay with us. Our housekeeping and front office staff work very hard to provide our valued guests with be best possible experience when staying with us and it is wonderful to hear your comments that reflect this.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    93
    64
    30
    26
See reviews for
83
112
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Booked The Lure for my 2 sons as gifts to get away on a fishing trip, all they wanted is to put there head down @ nights and instead they got luxury comfort amazing views great location,
not to mention the service, now they want to book and go back with there families kids ect, thank you Oaks yet again for a fantastic stay, see you soon, we are becoming addicted in visiting all Oaks resorts around the country..job well done congratulations..

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VickieSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review.
It was our pleasure to have your family stay with us during their visit to lovely Nelson Bay.
It is always great to hear such lovely comments back regarding our customer service and the accommodation that we provide. It is wonderful to know that you choose to stay with Oaks Hotels & Resorts and look forward to welcoming you and your family back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5,152 reviews
377 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,844 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Well designed, spacious apartments - better value for the apartment than the smaller room.
Had everything you could need other then perhaps location - a little further away from water than I had expected but certainly a quality and relaxing property.
The pool area is good with a bbq section - the solar heated aspect may frighten some but enjoyed my morning swim.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Oaks Lure Apartments.
It was pleasing to hear that you found your room to be spacious and of good quality.
I was also pleased to know you had the opportunity to use our pool facilities during your stay.
Thank you for choosing the Oaks Lure Apartments for your stay whilst visiting Port Stephens and we hope to welcome you back to our lovely property again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights over Easter long weekend on a family mini break.

We had booked a discounted rate online and found out when we got here that that discounted rate meant we were not entitled to any room service unless we decided to pay extra.

That meant paying more for clean towels to be changed, making of our beds, and even getting the loo paper refilled.

They're pretty basic things you'd expect from any hotel regardless - it's part and parcel of being on holiday.

Apart from that the accommodation itself is clean and comfortable. But I won't go further than that. The TVs were ancient and the couches very uncomfortable. So we're the pillows for that matter.

The pool was also very underwhelming.

There is also a steep hill which you need to walk down and up to get to the central marina district of nelson bay.

All in all it's not horrible, but of never stay here again and I wouldn't recommend it either.

Pick a better alternative.. Unless this is all that is available at time of booking.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Oaks Lure Apartments.
We do offer both Serviced and Un Serviced rates to offer flexibility, choice and great savings to our guests. We certainly do offer full Housekeeping services to guests who would like this service included in their package.
I was pleased to hear that you found your room clean and comfortable and hope you enjoyed your time in beautiful Nelson Bay.
We hope to have you stay at one of our many other lovely properties which are part of Oaks Hotels & Resorts portfolio in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Have just spent the weekend at Oaks and I had read reviews before we went some good, quite a lot bad so I was a bit concerned but it proved to be unfounded. We booked a hotel room (210) so were only expecting a fridge & microwave, we were plesantly surprised to find it equiped with cooktop, dishwasher, oven & microwave plus crockery etc. The room was nice & big and a decent size bathroom.

Only downside were that there were no curtains, only net ones so it was light at night from the street lights and light from about 6am. Also the TV was an old CRT style one - come on management, flat screen TVs are not that expensive these days, time you updated yours. Would finish the modern room off much better that the antiquated one currently in the room.

Overall a good experience - location was perfect. Would stay there again

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay with us at Oaks Lure Apartments.
We are so pleased you found your room of a high standard and enjoyed your stay with us. Our location certainly is fantastic being close to everything.
Some of our rooms have external louvre blinds and are able to be adjusted manually, with these rooms we only have the sheer curtains, we will however investigate your comments on the outside light entering the room. We do hope to have all of our Tv's updated moving forward.
Again, thankyou for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and found the room spacious, clean and modern. Only thing to complain about was the shower. After having a shower the floor was saturated as the drainage was not a good design and it needed a shower door! The hotel is situated close to the shops and restaurants in Nelson Bay- within walking distance (about 5 mins). The 1 bedroom has all the amenities for a longer stay - all fully equipped for cooking etc. the pool and pool area looked well maintained - even though we didn't swim in it. The reception staff were very pleasant. It was a good value for money hotel and would definitely come back and stay. Would have loved a room with a view of the ocean - maybe next time?

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review, 17 February 2013
Thank you for your feedback and lovely review.
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your stay. It is great to hear that you enjoyed yourself whilst visiting Nelson Bay.
I will be sure to inform our housekeeping and front office staff that you found your room clean and comfortable and our service very pleasant.
It is great to know that you found your accomodation of good value for money and look forward to welcoming you back again next time you visit our lovely area here in Port Stephens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We just came back from a 5 day stay at Oaks Lure. Unfortunately,It's only after we came back I see so many reviews that say the place is not clean. it's so true! The rooms are not clean and they are not daily cleaned. Anything you touch in the room is dirty. The floors and the couches are dirty. The dishes are oily. There was a dead cockroach behind a baby's cot that we requested to include and that had a folded blanket instead of a mattress. The only good thing about the place is the location, but there are other choices there. I will never go back again! p.s. They have the worst pillows as well, so if despite negative reviews you still decide to go, I'd recommend you to take your own pillows.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Lana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback with regard to your stay with us.
I am quite concerned with the comments made regarding the cleanliness of your room.
This is not the general standard of our rooms and we do not find this acceptable. I have addressed your issues with the our House Keeping department.
Again, I thank you for your feedback, we value your comments and understand that there are always areas in which we may improve our service to our valued customers.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to one of our lovely Oaks properties so you may experience the quality and service for which we strive to achieve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nelson Bay hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelson Bay
0.3 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#4 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#10 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
1.9 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Lure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Lure

Property: Oaks Lure
Address: 20 Tomaree St, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Nelson Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Lure 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Lure Apartments, in beautiful Nelson Bay, is just a short walk to the marina, restaurants and boutiques, golf courses and sporting clubs. Nelson Bay is a delightful town blessed with un-spoilt waterways, natural wonders and a captivating history. Oaks Lure Apartments is the ultimate base to explore the region.Guests can relax in style and comfort at Oaks Lure with hotels rooms, one and two bedroom apartments with generous living spaces that boast full kitchen facilities with microwave and dishwasher. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Lure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Lure Hotel Nelson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing