We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Apartment”
Review of Oaks Lure

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oaks Lure
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We booked a 2 bedroom bay view apartment. It was great. As you entered the main door to our apartment there were 2 separate doors. One to a bedroom with an ensuite and kitchenette and another door with stairs leading up to a lounge room, kitchen, bathroom and bedroom. All very clean and quite modern. The view was fantastic. Very friendly staff. Only problems were the light in the downstairs bedroom didn't work and the basement car park was like a sauna. Would definitely return to this hotel and recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiamondGirlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Lure. It was great to hear that you found your stay enjoyable. The views from the balconies over the bay are fantastic. I am glad you found our front office staff friendly as we are always striving to ensure that our guests get the most out of their stay.

We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

My hotel style room was very comfortable with a small kitchen. The bed was big and roomy and the bathroom spacious. The hotel is situated within walking distance to the main shopping area with a supermarket, restaurants and many specialty shops and also close to the Marina with more shops and restaurants. Something for everyone!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lnh1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Its is great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at Oaks Lure Aparments.
Thankyou for your lovely feedback, its great to know how much you enjoyed your accomodation and the facilities at our lovely property.
We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Nelson Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Oaks Lure in December 2013. Given it was peak season, we payed a premium, however when I realised what we got for the $250 a night we paid I was bitterly disappointed!
1. The room was advertised as a king bed HOTEL room. However upon arrival we were advised that I had booked an unserviced room. This was not clear at the time of booking, and given how much we paid a night I felt very very cheated!! How is a hotel room unserviced? We used the same towels for our entire visit because I refused to pay extra for new towels!
2. Our HOTEL room had a joining door to another room and I could literally hear out neighbors all night! Terrible!
3. They offer free parking but its on a first come first served basis. A couple of nights we went out for dinner and came back only to realise there was no space for our car and we were forced to park on the street.
4. They have free Internet, but they did not have WIFI (or we couldn't get a signal from our room). So I couldn't even utilize this service on the iPad.
5. Cleanliness left alot to be desired - the linen was dirty upon arrival.
6. The best thing this place had going for it was its location - just a short walk to the shops and marina.

The apartments may be good, but I really can't comment because we didn't see them. In terms of a hotel, I was very disappointed. If you're looking for a hotel in Port Stephens, look elsewhere, or don't pay any more than $120 a night for this place.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Vita1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear Guest,
We appreciate your feedback with regard to your recent stay here at Oaks Lure Apartments.
It was dissapointing to hear your comments regarding your visit with us.
As previously discussed we do offer different packages to offer alternate options to guests. To ensure your stay was enjoyable and comfortable we did however supply you with all extra linen at no expense to you throughout your stay.Our parking is FOC and therefore is not allocated. As you stayed with us during the days leading up to NYE this is the busiest week of the year and sometimes a couple of spaces fall short and during this time can be hard to avoid.
We do offer offer FOC internet however this is not advertised as WI-FI.
Please be assured had we had been made aware of any housekeeping issues with your room during your stay we would have attended to this immediatley. We take pride in offering the highest of standards to our valued guests.
We were happy to address your issues during your stay and as discussed Oaks Hotels & Resorts do have alternate accomodation options in Port Stephnes with more of a "resort" atmosphere which may have been better suited to your needs.
We hope to welcome you back again in the future to one of our many properties we have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

Very nice place to stay, the reception staff was very helpful. Rooms are nice and give a refreshed feeling. Hotel is a walking distance from Marina. Swimming pool is small but good for kids with maintained temperature. Highly recommended to people who want to stay in Nelson Bay.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank GFAU2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback with regard to your recent stay with us at Oaks Lure Apartments.
We are so pleased to hear that you were happy with your room and found our service friendly and helpful.
We are in a great location here in Nelson Bay being just a short stroll from the Marina and all it has to offer.
Again, we thankyou for staying with us and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Really lovely accommodation. Very very family friendly. Friendly staff, helpful, beautifully clean... Pool is great with a small paddling area great for little ones. really lovely feel. clean comfy beds and bathrooms. Watch the stairs in the split level rooms, quite steep but manageable. We loved our stay. Other guests lovely, friendly and respectful. We wanted to stay longer. Will definitely be back. Thank you Oaks Lure!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeissBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with Oaks Lure Apartments on your recent visit to Port Stephens.
Oaks Hotels & Resorts aim to provide the highest standard of accommodation and customer service to our valued guests. It is always wonderful to hear such great feedback.
It is great that you had the opportunity to relax and enjoy our lovely pool area whilst you were here.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your return visit to Nelson Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This service apartment was very large and had a well-equipped kitchen, lounge area, dining area and room. We stayed in a room that had 2 sub-set rooms inside...i.e. there was door which led to apartment "A" and then apartment "B" then there was a long staircase (which was very difficult for us to unload our luggage). There was a very large balcony and garden area but no view. Our bedroom was also right next to the where people walk from reception and didn't feel private. Price was very reasonable as we went during May. About a week after our stay staff called me and accused me of using the other apartment "B" and that there was evidence someone stayed there. I only travelled with my partner (2 of us) and felt very upset of this accusation. After the conversation there was no more follow up on this issue. But if someone did sneak into the other apartment, i would highly question the safety of this complex.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank siusin206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Thankyou for taking the time to provide us with your feedback with regard to your stay with us at Oaks Lure apartments back in May this year.
It was pleasing to hear that you found your accomodation to be clean and spacious and of good value.
At times the requirements of our guests change with perhaps some extra family members wanting to stay in which we are more than happy to accomodate should there be availablity.
It is necessary for staff to follow up on guests from time to time to clarify a situation as this is an operational requirement. Please be assured that any phone call made from our office is purely to ask a question and not an accusation of any kind.
We hope you can appreciate the need for us to investigate different situations to ensure all of our guests experience the highest of customer service and also to experience the best stay possible.We hope to be able to welcome you back for a return visit in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

From the outset I would like to state that I have absolutely no problem with the staff at The Oaks Lure @ Nelson Bay. Danielle & Leah were pleasant, polite & very helpful at all times. What I do have a problem with is the lack of full disclosure of what is & is not included in my booking fee. When the website says a King Size bed I don't expect 2 single beds pushed together on a King size base. Every Hotel/Motel I have stayed at for multiple nights includes in the booking price services such room cleaning, bed making, replacement towels & toilet paper etc. I found out later much to my disgust that you have to pay extra for what I feel are basic services. Disclose/state these facts on the 1st page of your Advertisement so I/We know what we are paying for before I pay my money & confirm my booking !!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Corkie292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Nelson Bay.
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback.
It was lovely to hear your comments with regard to Leah & Danielle. All staff take great pride in giving the highest of customer service at all times.
With regard to your bedding these are King Size Spilt beds which have now become quite popular within the hospitality industry. They enable us to provide multiple bedding options to our guests which we find works very well. As we are Serviced apartment style accomodation we offer differnet rate package options to guests. If an unserviced package is selected by a guest we do charge extra for replacement of extra items required during their stay.This allows us to offer our rooms at a reduced rate which are great value. We do however offer daily servicing which included replenishment of all items daily should guests prefer to select the serviced rate option.
I appreciate your thoughts with regard to the above as we do understand that their is always room for improvement. We strive to have all guests experiance an enjoyable and comfortable stay with us here at Oaks Lure Apartments.
We hope to welcome you back again some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelson Bay
0.3 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
563 reviews
1.2 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#10 of 16 in Nelson Bay
274 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
154 reviews
2.0 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Lure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Lure

Address: 20 Tomaree St, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Nelson Bay
Price Range: £72 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Lure 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Lure Apartments, in beautiful Nelson Bay, is just a short walk to the marina, restaurants and boutiques, golf courses and sporting clubs. Nelson Bay is a delightful town blessed with un-spoilt waterways, natural wonders and a captivating history. Oaks Lure Apartments is the ultimate base to explore the region.Guests can relax in style and comfort at Oaks Lure with hotels rooms, one and two bedroom apartments with generous living spaces that boast full kitchen facilities with microwave and dishwasher. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Lure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Lure Hotel Nelson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing