We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncomfortable”
Review of Oaks Lure

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oaks Lure
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I won't book at an Oaks again. The room booked was for one king we got two singles pushed together leaving us with sore backs. The shower didn't drain properly and left the bathroom very wet and cold.

Room Tip: Avoid the so called king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Juanita2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for providing your feedback with regard to your recent stay with us at Oaks Lure Apartments.
It is disappointing to hear that your found your room to be unsatisfactory.
All hotels rooms are equipped with a King split bed to enable flexibility for guests with different bedding requirements. We do offer 1bd apartments with queen ensembles which you may have found more suitable.
Please be assured that we would have been more than happy to rectify any issues with your bedding as well as any other room issues during your stay.
We hope to have to opportunity to have you stay with us again so you can experience the high standard that we offer at all of our Oaks properties.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

We were very disappointed with our stay. No warning about the 14 steps to the unit and with our large bags we struggled. The balconies are very small, cold and with really uncomfortable furniture. Even though we asked for water views we were lucky to catch a glimpse. The bed is rock hard and we fought over the 3 lumpy huge pillows. We knew the bathroom was clean as could hardly breathe over bleach smell. No milk left for tea left a spur taste.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrsphiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thankyou for choosing to stay with Oaks Lure Apartments during your recent visit to Nelson Bay.
We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback.
Our building is designed with most rooms containing stairs however we can provide alternate arrangements should this prove too difficult for guests. We would have been more than happy to assist you with any luggage. As your booking had not been booked as a Bay view room we did notice your request and allocated you a room which offered filtered views of the bay. We do suggest that in the case of wanting a full bay view from your balcony that guests choose this room category upon booking to avoid disappointment.
Again we thankyou for your valued feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our lovely property in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Booked online as a decent price compared to others. Pleasant surprise to walk into a very clean, very spacious hotel room. King size bed, clean crisp linen, not to overdone with furnishings etc. very clean modern bathroom. Hot water for the s shower could have been hotter though . Tea and coffee facilities with a microwave . The room didn't come with any fresh milk and not even UHT . Went and asked reception if we could get milk and they gave us a cup from the staff fridge which was pretty nice of them!!!!
All in all a good experience, would stay there again, good customer service
Thank you !!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harris4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your lovely feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
It is great to hear how much you enjoyed your hotel room and its inclusions.
Its so pleasing to know that you found our property and front office staff so welcoming and helpful throughout your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you visit the Nelson Bay area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My wife and i stayed for 6 nights over last new year. It was peak period and busy time but the place coped quite well. Rook was good sixe and location is just 2 blocks form the beach, 1 block formColes , restaurants and bottlo.
Pool area looked good although i didn't use it.
We were a little suprpised there was no room servicing, did not pick up on this when booking.
Room was noisy because of children in the room above on the timber floor.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thankyou for your feedback regarding your recent stay in Nelson Bay and with Oaks Lure Apartments. It is wonderful to hear that you made the most of our great central location and the features it has to offer.
As Oaks Lure is a serviced apartment style accommodation provider, we offer our guests some alternate rate packages to select from at the time of booking. This allows us to offer our rooms at a reduced rate which are of great value. We do offer daily servicing which would include replenishment of all items should guests prefer to select the serviced rate option.
We do recognize the noise from other guests staying in rooms closely situated to yours would be testing at times, including on occassion when we have children checkin that are excited about their stay. We do request that all guests try and keep their noise level at a minimum as to not disrupt other guests.
Thank you again for choosing to stay with Oaks Lure Apartments, we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Hats off to Oaks Lure...awesome check in, free upgraded room with a private courtyard and a late check out too. The studio was very clean and well presentable...tho the freezer needs to be defrosted more regularly. Can't fault our stay...fantastic getaway for the night :)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. it is wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is terrific to see that you were pleased with the room you stayed in and will be sure to pass on your positive feedback to our housekeeping team. I am delighted to hear that the late check our allowed you to stay and relax a little longer during your getaway. We appreciate your feedback regarding the appliances in the room and will see to this task being completed.
Its very pleasing to read your comments regarding your accomodation, we do strive to ensure the cleanliness and comfort of our rooms is at the highest of standards.
We look forward to greeting you back again as our guest at Oaks Lure Apartments in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We booked online which was easy.
When we arrived we were welcomed and up-graded, which we didn't expect!
Off-street parking was appreciated and easy.
The apartment was spacious, clean and smic. Excellent facilities for our stay.
We loved the extra room in the kitchen,dining and living areas.
Convenient to shops, marina and walks. We walked our legs off. When it rained we were snug inside and I watched the footie on Fox!
Everything about this weekend was great and our venue contributed greatly.
We didn't want to leave. Our stay was great value.

Room Tip: Booking during the off season may result in an up-grade, which makes it great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback with regard to your recent stay with us at Oaks Lure Apartments.
We are thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful time during your stay in Nelson Bay. We do aim to add a little extra touch to special occasion stays and it is lovely to hear that you found your room comfortable and inviting.
Our location in Nelson Bay is prime positioning for our guests and it is great to hear you took advantage of this feature during your stay. Being just a short walk to the marina, restaurants, golf course and specialty stores helps us to accommodate alot of our guests favourite past times.

Again, we thank you for staying with us and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I stayed at the Oaks Lure in a 2 bedroom apartment with 4 adults. When I booked I called to see if they apartment can comfortably cater for 4 adults and was assured it would. The website showed lounges and outdoor seating for 4 people. Upon check in we found lounges for 3 people and outdoor seating for 2. Other kitchen supplies such as dinner plates and forks did not cater for 4 people. Unfortunately we realised this after reception closed so had an uncomfortable meal in.

This was further compounded by the BBQ. I did enquire at reception to book the BBQ and was infirmed no booking was required for the weekend and they confirmed all supplies were at the BBQ. You can imagine our surprise when we went down at 7pm to a pitch black area with no lighting whatsoever. This rendered the BBQ unusable so we had to make do with the small fry pan instead which could not cook steaks for 4 in one go.

The two bedroom apartment is a one bedroom with a hotel room tacked on but not equipped for 4 people.

I did not get a chance to raise all these matters with reception as, like other reviewers, we were at reception at least twice a day over our stay due to faulty key cards. The batteries were changed on the door on the first morning but we continued to be locked out. Staff checked each time and assured us that they were active even though they did not work. Finally a receptionist came up to our room to see that the keys did not work for herself. We were locked out several times and this was extremely inconvenient. Staff were unable to assist as they said the keys worked. The manager confirmed today some were deactivated although we were very careful to keep them nowhere near a mobile after the first time we were unable to get it. This happened so many times it was frustrating and made the stay extremely unpleasant.

I did phone to raise these issues with the manager Chris who I found to be rude, defensive and often interrupted me while I was trying to provide feedback. This was very disappointing as she was more concerned with being defensive rather than hearing my feedback. In fact when I told her I found her to be unhelpful, she said “well how about we talk about the complaints about smoking on your balcony.” I was shocked at her accusing tone. We had one smoker who smoked on the balcony as per Oaks policy. They used the ashtray and we disposed on the ashtray and took the bin out ourselves. When I asked her what we should have done differently she did not have a response. As a non-smoker, I understand others may not like smoke from another balcony going into their room but until Oaks Resorts moves to be completely non-smoking, I find her accusation offensive given we followed their polices.

Beware - with the choices in nelsons Bay, stay elsewhere!!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay in the 2 bedrooms as they are only equipped for 2-3 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ChelseaCasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelson Bay
0.3 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
565 reviews
1.2 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#10 of 16 in Nelson Bay
275 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
155 reviews
2.0 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Lure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Lure

Address: 20 Tomaree St, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Nelson Bay
Price Range: £73 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Lure 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Lure Apartments, in beautiful Nelson Bay, is just a short walk to the marina, restaurants and boutiques, golf courses and sporting clubs. Nelson Bay is a delightful town blessed with un-spoilt waterways, natural wonders and a captivating history. Oaks Lure Apartments is the ultimate base to explore the region.Guests can relax in style and comfort at Oaks Lure with hotels rooms, one and two bedroom apartments with generous living spaces that boast full kitchen facilities with microwave and dishwasher. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Lure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Lure Hotel Nelson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing